HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Ushuaia hostels

Reviews of LA CASA en USHUAIA

Guesthouse | Gobernador Paz 1380, corner of Patagonia, Ushuaia, Argentina 9410

88.9% Overall Rating

18 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

Vivian Head thinks…

"Managed by the owner who lives on the premises. Warm and welcoming, lots of varnished wood, great facilities and some lovely travel books including some on the Antarctic. What an excellent choice I…"

Read all LA CASA en USHUAIA reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Only cash is accepted on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ushuaia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ushuaia

Aijpel Bed and Breakfast
37.00 USD

Hostel 95.7% 70 reviews
Haush Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 80.2% 60 reviews
Galeazzi - Basily B and B
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 50 reviews
Antarctica Hostel
15.46 USD

Hostel 90.4% 42 reviews
La Posta Hostel and Apart hotel
19.02 USD

Hostel 92.3% 316 reviews
Hostal de la Laguna
26.28 USD

Hostel 57.1% 3 reviews
Candelas de Ushuaia
8.56 USD

Apartment 89.3% 21 reviews
Patagonia País
16.65 USD

Hostel 78.6% 77 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

18 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'LA CASA en USHUAIA'

Atmosphere
88.4%
Location
82.1%
Facilities
82.1%
Cleanliness
97.9%
Staff
93.7%
Value
85.3%
Safety
92.6%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivian Head

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2014 Vivian would recommend this property

Liked: Managed by the owner who lives on the premises. Warm and welcoming, lots of varnished wood, great facilities and some lovely travel books including some on the Antarctic. What an excellent choice I made and will certainly stay here when I return next time.

Disliked: I did not dislike anything about the property or the service. Wi-Fi was a bit intermittent but there are plenty of cafe and Tourist Information Office opportunities for that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anil Sud

Alone

Events / festivals

27 January 2014 Anil would recommend this property

Liked: 1) Conveniently located close to downtown and the local grocery store. 2) Sylvia, the owner, was very pleasant and accommodating. 3) Had to check out earlier than the official breakfast time, but Sylvia got up early to ensure breakfast was still served before departure. 4) (Non-secure) Wifi was spotty or non-existant at times; other times worked well.

Disliked: Stayed here for 2 nights this January. First night the floor in the room was extremely squeaky which didn't bother me but I'm sure would disturb someone in an adjacent room if walking around late at night. For the second stay there, the floor had no squeak. Brought the incorrect wall power adapter on my trip. Would have been nice if there was one inhouse that could be borrowed/rented out for the day I was staying there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2014

Liked: Well located, clean, good excursion advices.

Disliked: Owner always on your back, poor breakfast (not even proper coffee), expensive for what it is.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was clean and bright and comfortable to stay in. Sylvia was very pleasant and helpful, she gave us maps and information about places to visit, booked a taxi for us and also gave us an adaptor to plug in our electronic equipment as the plugs in the property were different from others we had seen in Argentina. Breakfast was tasty and we had some nice conversations with people over the breakfast table. There was also free wifi in our room.

Disliked: The shower was quite small and when using it you would often get a cold damp shower curtain sticking to you, yuck! The shower was very nice apart from that though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Hause

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: The room was fresh and clean. Sylvia built her home with the visitors' well-being and enjoyment in mind. She is a super-terrific hostess; she called for a taxi for me and she arranged for me to have a private tour. If I go back ot Ushuaia, I want to stay at La Casa.

Disliked: Toast and a beverage is not enough of a breakfast for me, especially when I was heading to the airport that morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice common area and rooms facing Ushuaia Bay. Breakfast and wifi included. Close to the main street. Good price for Ushuaia.

Disliked: Noisy wood floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Silvia, the owner of the B&B is awesome. Even though there is no tour desk (it's a B&B, not a hostel, not a hotel), Silvia helps with everything. Great place to find some sleep after a day out at the end of the world.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: everything! Silvia is a very helpful and great host, nice bnb, good location.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy Ovenden

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2012 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Nice views across bay. It is bascially a homestay. Silvia is friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless (although very bland and not much hanging space). Perfect for the mature experienced traveller looking for excellent value for money without the frills.

Disliked: Not enough shelf or hanging space in bedroom and bathroom.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the centre of town & the port. The owner, Silvia, is very friendly & helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast is very basic - tea & toast. The stairs down to the bedrooms are very narrow & difficult for large suitcases or packs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Un hermoso y acogedor lugar para quedarse en Ushuaia. Su dueña, Silvia, es todo. Una persona hermosa, culta, siempre atenta y con muy buenos consejos sobre paseos y excursiones. Delicado gusto en la elección de los detalles, aroma a madera y excelente música. Nos sentimos como en casa y nos fue muy difícil irnos. (Carolina y Nicolás)

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and reasonably central location. Clean and comfortable. Helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henrique Andrade Camargo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: Silvia, who owns La Casa, is such an hostess. She gave us all the tips to enjoy Ushuaia the most. And we did. Also she prepared a beautiful breakfast every morning we were in La Casa.

Disliked: nothing to complain about

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JANET LEWIS

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2011 JANET would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to walk to the centre of the town. Very clean and warm. The owner speaks good English and can give advice about tours and places to visit. The other guests were mostly mature travellers and from all over the world which made for interesting conversations over breakfast. As a single traveller it was nice to have someone there to greet me and offer me a cup of mate when I came back from a day out .

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Ushuaia hostels