We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Ushuaia hostels

Reviews of La Posta Hostel and Apart hotel

Hostel | Perón Sur 864, Ushuaia, Argentina 9410

92.3% Overall Rating

308 out of 316 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

Anne Koskinen thinks…

"Lovely place run by lovely people, Lucas and his parents are extremely helpful and look after you well. Great advice on treks, tours and boat trips, they can book it all for you. Great kitchen…"

Read all La Posta Hostel and Apart hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ushuaia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ushuaia

Candelas de Ushuaia
8.48 USD

Apartment 89.3% 21 reviews
Aijpel Bed and Breakfast
37.00 USD

Hostel 95.7% 70 reviews
Hostal de la Laguna
26.03 USD

Hostel 57.1% 3 reviews
LA CASA en USHUAIA
29.10 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 19 reviews
Haush Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 80.0% 61 reviews
Galeazzi - Basily B and B
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 50 reviews
Antarctica Hostel
15.31 USD

Hostel 90.4% 42 reviews
Patagonia País
16.49 USD

Hostel 78.6% 77 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

308 out of 316 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Posta Hostel and Apart hotel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 226 of 265 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Koskinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place run by lovely people, Lucas and his parents are extremely helpful and look after you well. Great advice on treks, tours and boat trips, they can book it all for you. Great kitchen facilities, shared bathrooms were clean and the bed in our room was super comfortable. It was great to be able to use the washing machine too for ARS10 per load (for detergent). As everyone has said the hostel is a little out of town, but the walk is not that bad, plus there is a little shop nearby for the essentials. We left really early at 4.30am and they even got up to ensure the taxi they ordered for us turned up on time. :)

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay with excellent helpful staff - thanks very much to Lucas who lent me a hat and gloves to keep me warm for the days we were there. They also posted back my trekking pants which I accidentally left behind. The breakfast is pretty good and all round it is a comfortable, nice and social place to stay.

Disliked: It is about a 25 minute walk into town, but if you're lazy (like me) you can easily share a cab to and from town.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lee Kasemets

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, warm shower.

Disliked: Kitchen equipment is quite weak. Pans miss they handle :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDRES PUCHE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 ANDRES would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything is perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Makarowska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Best of the bedt

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eliakim Antunes de Moraes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2013 Eliakim would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is very clean, safe and warm. They have really hot water in the bathroom, the breakfast is good and people there are very helpful. it's a little far from the center, but there's only one way to go to the city, it makes your walk very easy and you can enjoy the beautiful landscape around the road.

Disliked: nothing! really enjoyed my stayed in La Posta

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere its amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful. Everything's neat.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Poulton

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 December 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great facilities. Access to laundry and drying room. Large common areas with well stocked kitchen.

Disliked: A little out of town but close to the airport and taxis are very cheap so it doesn't matter. Private rooms next to the common area so a little noisy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here at La Posta are absolutely fantastic. They helped us out so much and they give honest decent advice on tours rather than just shoving you on a tour that makes them money as other hostels do! The whole hostel is very clean and well kept. There are two kitchens to choose from, two computers to use with decent Internet connection (probably the quickest we found in South America) and clean warm rooms. We booked a five bed dorm for the furst two nights and a doubld fir one night but ended up being in the dorm all three nights alone and they didn't charge us any extra. They put on a lovely fresh breakfast every day. A wonderful hostel that I thoroughly recommend.

Disliked: We didn't dislike anything. It's prudent to say its a good 20 min walk out of town but we liked it because the walk us amazing with breath taking scenery and we'd been stuck on a tour so enjoyed the walking. There are however supermarkets and restaurants closer to the hostel and you can take a cab easily enough.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atnosphere

Disliked: the bathroom isn{t in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Very helpful and knowledgeable. They have 2 kitchens making it easy to cook. Free laundry!

Disliked: A little far out of town but very close to the airport and the bus still picks up and drops off for Tierra del Fuego.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredibly friendly and helped me with every issue. The hostel is huge but cozy and you'll find everything you need there. You can even wash your clothes for free in the washing machine! As there are two kitchens there's never a problem of too less space for cooking.

Disliked: As mentioned a lot of times before, the hostel is a 30 minutes walk from the city center. But as I knew it before it hasn't been a problem for me. You can walk or go by bus or take a taxi for app. 33 ARS.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niall Scully

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2013 Niall would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff. Rooms, bathrooms and kitchens (there are two fully stocked ones) are clean. The walk to town shows some of Ushuaia that you would not see if you were staying right in the centre.

Disliked: Breakfast is not the best.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Billie Hicks

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2013 Billie would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved this hostel - great hostel and staff. Some say it is too far out of town but I love it as I love to walk.

Disliked: Can't think of anything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Telford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel with friendly helpful staff. Will be staying again in a couple of weeks on my return to Ushuaia.

Disliked: About a 25 minute walk into town

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Mendes Cordeiro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2012 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: excelente lugar! a gente se sente em casa. as pessoas que trabalham la sao muito legais, educadas, o ambiente é muito agradavel, limpo e quente...

Disliked: nada. gostei de tudo!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One night in a dorm, four nights in a double. All really clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Two kitchens. Free laundry great. Good advice about things to do (thanks Lucas). And good breakfast. We knew that the hostel was 30 mins out of town... Not a problem. Stay here!

Disliked: Though the bathrooms were clean (and we never had to queue), toilet paper had to be taken from a central dispenser by the sinks and there were no bins in the gents cubicles. Also, showers were a little exposed (but hot and powerful).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was good and plentiful but nothing fancy. We originally had a private double room with shared bathroom but we got a free upgrade to the apartment lodging for part of our stay and that was very nice indeed - definitely worth the extra money.

Disliked: As many other reviewers already mentioned it's very far from downtown. We did not mind too much as we knew beforehand.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mairead McCarthy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 Mairead would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so friendly and extremely helpful on what to do in the local area. Kitchen facilities were great and it had a nice relaxed atmosphere. The washing machine facility was a big bonus and we did a huge wash of all our clothes. It's a little out of town on the route to the national park but that didn't bother us prob a 20min walk into town. It was a very warm hostel with central heating blasting which is great but it was too warm for us. Highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Mairead left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Couldwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything about this place! The staff were great - very helpful. There are two kitchens so there was plenty of room for everyone and there was a great atmosphere in the living area. Our room was very comfortable and warm.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Closest place in town to the airport. Rooms are cleaned daily, and they even make your bed in the dorm!! The staff were very fiendly and helpful with organising activities in the area. Fast and reliable wifi.

Disliked: About 4km from the town centre, if that matters to you.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tal Blumstein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Tal would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Very friendly and helpful. The laundery service is FREE! if you don´t have the soap you just pay 5 pesos... Great people and enviourment.

Disliked: The place is 20-25 away from the center of Ushuaia - a fact that made me stay here at night. The crowd here is a bit older than the avarage backpacker, but still very nice and friendly people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff. Great atmosphere. Comfortable and relaxed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free laundry if you have your washing powder Very cool staff. Can arrange tours for you and provide good information Breakfast Space in common area

Disliked: Location is not so far from the city center. It's just a 25 minutes walk, so it's not el fin del mundo!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Markley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel staff is absolutely lovely. The place is incredibly clean. Hot showers, good free wifi, large kitchen space with most anything you need (an oven...which isn't typical, and even a hand mixer if you're the mood to get creative!). The place is incredibly warm, homey, and inviting. I really enjoyed my stay here!

Disliked: The location is very far from the downtown of Ushuaia. I was told 25 minutes...it took me nearly 40 (I wasn't walking slow, just a normal pace). This is literally the only drawback of this hostel, I really wish it was closer to downtown so I could mark it 100% across the board!


See all Ushuaia hostels