HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Ushuaia hostels

Reviews of Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel

Hostel | Calle Deloqui 242, Ushuaia, Argentina 9410

88.2% Overall Rating

243 out of 276 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Arturo Rodrigues thinks…

"Helpful staff, though some people told me they weren't always nice. Once I speak Spanish and the other people who told me don't, probably might be a question of language. Cozy environment, lots of…"

Read all Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ushuaia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ushuaia

Patagonia País
12.41 USD

Hostel 80.6% 74 reviews
La Casa de Alba
29.78 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 79 reviews
Hosteria Bella Vista
55.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.3% 5 reviews
Los Cormoranes Youth Hostel
18.61 USD

Hostel 72.0% 62 reviews
Las Retemas B&B
42.50 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 50 reviews
Galeazzi - Basily B and B
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 50 reviews
Antarctica Hostel
14.89 USD

Hostel 90.4% 42 reviews
Haush Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 79.8% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

243 out of 276 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 263 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was absolutely perfect. Next to major restaurants and tourist attractions, super market, museums, port and easy to walk to night spots.

Disliked: There was very little common space for the guests to hang out and relax / meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very nice place, The staff so helpful. The location is perfect. It is very clean and hot. Strong recomenden this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel BERGOUGNOUX

19 April 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place. I hope the new owners will be as friendly as the one I met.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cozy and welcoming place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 March 2010

Liked: This hostel has the DIRTIEST kitchen in the world!! Also the showers are rusting and for some reason are always occupied :( No sockets to charge your phone in the dorms, you have to leave it in the kitchen.The owner is really-really helpful though

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Staso

27 March 2010 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of my favourite hostels in Argentina so far. It was clean, warm, coulourful and cozy and the staff made me feel really at home.I'm actually staying more nights than i expected. It is difficult to leave Ushuaia. It's such an amazing place. I recommend the hostel to all travellers and also, very important, it's just a few metres from main street. (In Ushuaia, infact even three blocks up would make you feel like you are going on a hike---the city is a bit like the san francisco of south america)

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 March 2010

Liked: normal..nothign special...was extremly small, which had effects on cleanliness etc.The owner was extremly friendly. A traveller himself, which was very nice to talk to

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 March 2010

Liked: Staff friendly and helpfull but showers and toilets are dirty

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Geerlinks

17 March 2010 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place. Very nice and helpful owners. Good contact with other travelers. Perfect location.

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small place, nice and relaxed atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly place. Wifi. Location is excellent. 2 blocks from the "bus station". Close to everything. (restaurants, supermarket, bus agencies and the tour agencies) A decent place to meet people. The hostel was full but Ushuaia isn't really part of the backpack trail so don't expect that many bps. Staff is very friendly. I'd stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Luka the owner is very nice and helpful as is the rest of the staff. I liked that the staff loans you a lock (with a small deposit you get back upon return) for the rooms. The rooms were clean, the beds seemed smaller than other hostels but maybe it was my imagination. The kitchen is a decent size and every night lots of people cooked. The tenants were the largest age range I saw anywhere in Chile & Argentina and everyone was really nice. My only minor complaint was that when I was staying there a family with 2 young sons was also staying there and that didn't seem appropriate to me at that type of hostel. The boys kept me up one night yelling. Luka mentioned the propert may not be open in a few months due to the landlord hiking the rent and the owners moving.. I hope one of the managers or someone else is able to keep it open. Great location in Ushuaia, a tranquil beautiful little town at the end of the world.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victor Carretero

23 February 2010 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the treat of the owner and the stuff with the guests, he was really helfully and allways kind.

Disliked: Victor left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

21 February 2010

Liked: Nice athmosphere, people were very helpful. Unfortunately it feels overcrowded. The showers are too small and there was mould in every single bathroom/shower curtain. Was the most expensive hostel so far and the biggest disappointment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were possibly the nicest staff I have met at any hostel, really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the location was very good. The only problem was the cleanliness in the bathroom and the kitchen... Was hard to go and take a shower... :-S If you don't care about this, I recommend you this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Esteban Grinberg

05 February 2010 Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: Great pleace!. Great atmosphere!.

Disliked: Esteban left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

John Hutton

02 February 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: A cosy, friendly place in an older character building. Our 4-bed dorm was roomy and well heated. A great little hostel.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very very nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location, good atmosphere, nice people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, and relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pia Roeder

31 December 2009 Pia would recommend this property

Liked: i liked especially the friendly athmopsphere. a place at the end of the world that feelslike home.

Disliked: Pia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good. Only 2 blocks from the seafront. Staff were friendly however I didn´t like how the guy came to change the bin in our room at 9:30 every morning when we were still sleeping and didn´t knock on the door. The showers are a bit hit and miss. Apart from that it was a good place to stay, the library is really nice to hang out in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEVE HALEY

16 December 2009 STEVE would recommend this property

Liked: A truly wonderful cosy hostel with great character and atmosphere and the kindest, most helpful friendly hostel owner you will find anywhere on the planet!!Luca is the best!!!Ciao Luna

Disliked: STEVE left no negative feedback.


See all Ushuaia hostels