HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Ushuaia hostels

Reviews of Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel

Hostel | Calle Deloqui 242, Ushuaia, Argentina 9410

89.5% Overall Rating

251 out of 284 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Wagner Machado thinks…

"O hostel é muito bom. Ana e sua mãe são muito legais e totalmente disponíveis a ajudar os mochileiros. O hostel atende muito bem à quem busca uma acomodação simples em uma excelente localização."

Read all Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ushuaia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ushuaia

Patagonia País
14.69 USD

Hostel 79.9% 76 reviews
La Casa de Alba
29.39 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 79 reviews
Hosteria Bella Vista
67.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.3% 5 reviews
Los Cormoranes Youth Hostel
18.37 USD

Hostel 72.0% 62 reviews
Las Retemas B&B
42.50 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 50 reviews
Galeazzi - Basily B and B
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 50 reviews
Antarctica Hostel
15.92 USD

Hostel 90.4% 42 reviews
Haush Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 80.3% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

251 out of 284 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 198 of 271 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were clean and although the kitchen ws small it was well equipped. The woman who owns it is wonderful.

Disliked: The night before we left we went out to say goodbye to a friend that was leaving. In Argentina that means you get to the bar at 3am and home when the sun is up. Unfortunately we slept until noon and checkout is at 10am. Our mistake but two of the employees wanted us to pay for half the day. We had been excelent guests and not caused any problems during our stay and felt they were being unreasonable. They told us they had shown the room (6 bed dorm) and the people didn´t want to stay there because we were still in the beds. This was a lie. Also the place is packed and they knew they would have no problem filling 2 beds. Finally we agreed to pay for half the day but if we did we would be staying for half the day which would be until 10pm. The quickly agreed to let this one go. I believe that if the owner had been there this would have ended differently, as in we would have apologized and that would be the end of it. One of the employees is new and I think she was unsure how to handle the situation.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alon Diamant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2011 Alon would recommend this property

Liked: Nice owners, good kitchen, great place to meet people

Disliked: No electrical sockets in room, only 2 toilets for men

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elvira Judas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Elvira would recommend this property

Liked: frendli and helpfull people

Disliked: the rooms are quite small and a bit overcruded

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Not too big, very friendly staff, great place to stay.

Disliked: No downsides, really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Filippo Maniscalco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2011 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: good location and very clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: kitchen a bit small.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: They knew I was coming in on bus, all buses in town were late but they cancelled my room and sold to someone else. No beds in town they told me to sleep on the floor. I found another hostel for the next night. When I went to leave they told me I owed full price for both nights. I told them I did not since I was here and they didn't have a room for me. They threatened to call the police and said I was stealing from them. I walked out. I had one (2 hours sleep) nights stay on thefloor!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The dorms and kitchen are tiny. Only 1 washroom for the whole hostel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Rooms were very cramped up. There were only 2 showers and 2 toilets for about 18-24 people. There was only bread, jam and coffee for breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

paolo viola

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2011 paolo would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, helpful staff (for Info, bookings, etc..)

Disliked: small bathroom, if the hostel is full

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kristin Braun

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2010 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and funny staff, they help you with everything!!!!!!

Disliked: the kitchen can get pretty crowded in the evening

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great place to meet people, helpful & friendly staff, all in one of the best locations in town. not much more you can ask for from a hostel.

Disliked: nada.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010

Liked: Location only

Disliked: Way to many guests for the facilities they have on offer. Tiny common area was always full. Computers had restricted hours of use and you couldn't use USB's in them. No 24 hour reception. Very little english amongst staff. They two guys who work there stroll around with a messy sheet of paper with names scribbled out all over the place trying to figure out whos steying in what room and who owes what. Both toilets (as there is only two amongst all the male guests) were blocked up and full to the brim with sh*t for two of my 3 days there. There were only 3 showers (dribbles of water) amongst all the male guests in hostel also. Lonely Planet says it has a lovely library room...its 2 bean bags and a book shelf in a narrow corridor where people have to step over you every few minutes! I couldn't recommend this place to anyone.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located great, the staff is great.

Disliked: the bethroom was a bit dirty and the watter were realy wick

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2010

Liked: Friendly owner, although he is incredibly understaffed and can get crazy busy.

Disliked: Very noisy and way to expensive for it's worth. Just nothing that makes this property stick out over any others.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen yates

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: It has an interesting common area - a big dining area with tables and a comfy corridor with beanbags! Two cookers and lots of equipment in the kitchen!

Disliked: The rooms are cramped, so you have to keep your backpack tidy!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerd Seidel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 Gerd would recommend this property

Liked: really nice atmosphere and staff. I enjoyed my stay. The hostal is a good place to hang out on a bad day, relax and for example read through the little hostal library and chat to other travellers. The value is exellente.

Disliked: no things to dislike for me.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, very central

Disliked: kitchen is far to small for so many guests

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandre Wahl Hennigen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 December 2010 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing. I have no complaints about the hostel. The staff and the other guests were all great and I felt really comfortable during the 5 days I was there. It's really close to the market and the kitchen is OK too. There's also a place to make barbecue in the back yard.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great people, right in the center.

Disliked: Dining room & kitchen are a bit small for the number of people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Milian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2010 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, helpful and friendly.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and friendly with a comfortable dining area - great for meeting people!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location; super-friendly staff; clean, modern, safe and warm - has pretty much everything you need.

Disliked: No electricity sockets in any of the bedrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and safety

Disliked: cleanliness is little less

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maxime van der Straten

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2010 Maxime would recommend this property

Liked: Great place ! New owners. Alejandro was adorable to us. Anything you need, he'll help you with !Much better place than Freestyle (too big, too noisy, arrogant crew) !Place to be in Ushuaia !

Disliked: Nothing really..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evelyn De Maria

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2010 Evelyn would recommend this property

Liked: A real sense of home was offered at this cute mountain retreat.situated in a great location in town, central to museums and stores. A well-run facility with good amenities (great heat & hot water). Manager provided much helpful information and service in a snap. Lots of laughs all around in a warm, sociable setting.

Disliked: Having to leave it!


See all Ushuaia hostels