We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Ushuaia hostels

Reviews of Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel

Hostel | Calle Deloqui 242, Ushuaia, Argentina 9410

92.0% Overall Rating

270 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/01/2015)

"Alejandro and Carla are the owners and also do the front desk.. Really nice and helpful.. The have their rules but most of them are common sense and the others help to create good atmosphere.. Hot showers 24hs. Nice…"

Read all Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ushuaia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ushuaia

Patagonia País
21.24 USD

Hostel 77.4% 78 reviews
La Casa de Alba
35.40 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 82 reviews
Hosteria Bella Vista
67.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.3% 5 reviews
Los Cormoranes Youth Hostel
21.24 USD

Hostel 71.8% 63 reviews
Las Retemas B&B
42.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 50 reviews
Galeazzi - Basily B and B
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 50 reviews
Antarctica Hostel
15.34 USD

Hostel 90.4% 42 reviews
Haush Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 74.2% 70 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

270 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 214 of 289 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mustafa Jamal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Mustafa would recommend this property

Liked: Family run, simple but clean accommodation, fast internet and free breakfast in a central location!

Disliked: Mustafa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zita Nahay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2014 Zita would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself has a lot of personality so even on rainy days it was nice to just stay in, which I normally never do. The staff was very friendly and would spend time with the people at the hostel. Ana and her uncle were always available to give advice about where to go. This place is great. Oh, and the you will love the big fluffy dog!

Disliked: Zita left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014

Liked: Hostel was in a good location close to town with very clean bathroom facilities, a separate common room area and 2 pcs for guests to use along with wifi throughout the hostel.

Disliked: The hostal was very busy which meant having to queue for breakfast, queue for a seat to eat it and then queue again to wash your dishes due to the lack of communal dining space. The same happened in the evenings when trying to cook due to the kitchen being tiny and lack of utensils. The bunk beds in the rooms were small, old and freestanding so when you moved an inch the whole thing moved so you would wake the person above/ below. Also, due to the kitchen being so busy and the door being propped open all day, we didn't see the sign saying the kitchen is LOCKED overnight, so we cooked food to take with us as most buses depart early from Ushuaia so we had to leave all this food in the fridge! The staff were cold and unfriendly, breakfast no more than stale bread if you got there early enough and more rules than you could shake a stick at!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stephen James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Centre of town close to supermarket. Good common room to relax. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Lots & Lots of rules. Small kitchen/eating area - very busy when I was there. Couldn´t use hostel facilities after you checked out. .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The gal at reception was very friendly and helpful, the services are very good, the breakfast is great, the hostel has a neat vibe, and it has a great dog

Disliked: Can't think of anything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, helpful staff, nice common room

Disliked: Lockers too small to fit bag in and rooms very crowded with baggage everywhere. Breakfast and kicthen only open at 830, no exceptions - very annoying if you have an early start!! WiFi only available in the common room, not elsewhere in hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kadri Teeväli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Kadri would recommend this property

Liked: Anna the receptionist was really helpful. The living room was nice and spacious!

Disliked: Kitchen is a little bit on a small side

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

matt susser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 matt would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff working there. Nice breakfast at one of the lower prices.

Disliked: Kitchen hours could be an issue when leaving for early morning expeditions

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rita Field

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is busy and a little tired but it's very well located and always clean. The WiFi works well and there are two free terminals. Breakfast is plentiful but 8.30 start is a little late if doing excursions. Staff are very helpful.

Disliked: Kitchen is very small and gets too crowded and the dorms are also small with six beds in the room there is very little space for luggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and location. Staff were helpful.

Disliked: Nothing specifically.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Seeing so many rules posted on the walls might be a little intimidating at first. Breakfast is very basic (and mostly carbs).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zaid Mahomedy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Zaid would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, warm. Perfect!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and excellent location. Everything important (harbour, main road, travel agencies, supermarket, postal office, ...) is very closeby.

Disliked: Breakfast relatively late (compared to departure times of tours).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kai Ammerich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Kai would recommend this property

Liked: all good

Disliked: nothing to complain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ana, the owner was very friendly and efficient. We spoke the morning prior to arrival to check if the reservation was ok, she confirmed that everything was ok, and when we arrived she would explain all Ushuaia attractions. We were at the penguin sailing so we were not able to go to the PUERTO NATALES bus to purchase the tickets, and she went by herself to do that for us. Very emotional, and helpful. we reserved a hostel at Puerto Natales, and she also printed for us the voucher.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giulio Barani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Giulio would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmospere, helpless stuff, friendly and very clean...good equipment

Disliked: only the room were a little bit small, but there was very much other space in the garden, the living room and the eating room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Camps

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly travelers and great helpful staff. I been here twice and they remembered me. Feels like i came home:) great fresh bread and coffee and more for breakfast and big warm lounge. Have fun!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Hillerzeder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: best hotel so far on our trip with best atmosphere and most friendly staff, excellent breakfast!

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

rongsheng chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 rongsheng would recommend this property

Liked: it is good

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff/Ana was extremely helpful in activity planning and tour recommendations. It was easy to meet people. Bathrooms, rooms and common areas were very clean. Excellent location close to super market and the main street. WIll highly recommend this place to anyone!

Disliked: Common area/dining area was small so it seems very packed even though the hostel was not at full occupancy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hege Nornes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2013 Hege would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The atmosphere was great, the staff were very friendly and it was easy to get to know other travellers. The house with the tv was very cozy and warm, a great place to hang around. It was really hard to leave this hostel. I will for sure return here next time I go to Ushuaia.

Disliked: Hege left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

André Meurer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 André would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very well located, near the main avenue of the city which is the San Martin. At all times the staff is taking care of the cleaning. The showers are very hot and the beds comfortable. The breakfast has a jam "Strawberry" which is a delight. All tours and transfers are made directly by the staff, which helps a lot. Ana, the owner, is very friendly and helpful to everyone. I definitely recommend the hostel too.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

mr jigglesworth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013

Liked: The location was perfect

Disliked: There are rules EVERYWHERE, on every corner, on every wall everywhere you look there is a rule or regulation. I felt like I was walking on ice, what if I did something that annoyed the owner? There was also no english speak staff, one boy who helped around which I think was the owners son was rude and very fussy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taryn Evenwel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Taryn would recommend this property

Liked: Anna and her uncle went out their way to make me feel comfortable. They were honest about some activities being a tourist gimmick but still had the info handy if that's what you wanted to do! Recommended great value for money restaurants and just a great stay after all.

Disliked: My only negative issue compared to other hostels I've stayed in the rooms are small if everyone was in the room at once which happened you bumped into everyone but wasn't a big problem. Other factor was the WiFi connectivity outside common areas non existent. But to be fair my comments are what I expected and would still go back when I visit Ushuaia again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Dinges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to feel like home - do yourself a favor and stay here! Staff helped to organise trips, amazing atmosphere and lovely dog!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.


See all Ushuaia hostels