HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Ushuaia hostels

Reviews of Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel

Hostel | Calle Deloqui 242, Ushuaia, Argentina 9410

89.7% Overall Rating

250 out of 283 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Arturo Rodrigues thinks…

"Helpful staff, though some people told me they weren't always nice. Once I speak Spanish and the other people who told me don't, probably might be a question of language. Cozy environment, lots of…"

Read all Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ushuaia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ushuaia

Patagonia País
14.68 USD

Hostel 79.9% 76 reviews
La Casa de Alba
29.36 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 79 reviews
Hosteria Bella Vista
67.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.3% 5 reviews
Los Cormoranes Youth Hostel
18.35 USD

Hostel 72.0% 62 reviews
Las Retemas B&B
42.50 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 50 reviews
Galeazzi - Basily B and B
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 50 reviews
Antarctica Hostel
15.90 USD

Hostel 90.4% 42 reviews
Haush Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 80.3% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

250 out of 283 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cruz del Sur Independent Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 198 of 271 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Camps

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly travelers and great helpful staff. I been here twice and they remembered me. Feels like i came home:) great fresh bread and coffee and more for breakfast and big warm lounge. Have fun!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Hillerzeder

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: best hotel so far on our trip with best atmosphere and most friendly staff, excellent breakfast!

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

rongsheng chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 rongsheng would recommend this property

Liked: it is good

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff/Ana was extremely helpful in activity planning and tour recommendations. It was easy to meet people. Bathrooms, rooms and common areas were very clean. Excellent location close to super market and the main street. WIll highly recommend this place to anyone!

Disliked: Common area/dining area was small so it seems very packed even though the hostel was not at full occupancy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hege Nornes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2013 Hege would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The atmosphere was great, the staff were very friendly and it was easy to get to know other travellers. The house with the tv was very cozy and warm, a great place to hang around. It was really hard to leave this hostel. I will for sure return here next time I go to Ushuaia.

Disliked: Hege left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

André Meurer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 André would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is very well located, near the main avenue of the city which is the San Martin. At all times the staff is taking care of the cleaning. The showers are very hot and the beds comfortable. The breakfast has a jam "Strawberry" which is a delight. All tours and transfers are made directly by the staff, which helps a lot. Ana, the owner, is very friendly and helpful to everyone. I definitely recommend the hostel too.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

mr jigglesworth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2013

Liked: The location was perfect

Disliked: There are rules EVERYWHERE, on every corner, on every wall everywhere you look there is a rule or regulation. I felt like I was walking on ice, what if I did something that annoyed the owner? There was also no english speak staff, one boy who helped around which I think was the owners son was rude and very fussy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taryn Evenwel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Taryn would recommend this property

Liked: Anna and her uncle went out their way to make me feel comfortable. They were honest about some activities being a tourist gimmick but still had the info handy if that's what you wanted to do! Recommended great value for money restaurants and just a great stay after all.

Disliked: My only negative issue compared to other hostels I've stayed in the rooms are small if everyone was in the room at once which happened you bumped into everyone but wasn't a big problem. Other factor was the WiFi connectivity outside common areas non existent. But to be fair my comments are what I expected and would still go back when I visit Ushuaia again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Dinges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to feel like home - do yourself a favor and stay here! Staff helped to organise trips, amazing atmosphere and lovely dog!

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andre Netto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2013 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts were great guys and everyone there was surely having a good time.

Disliked: Andre left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The den is a great place to hang out and relax. Very warm hostel with nice hot showers.

Disliked: There are lots of rules on the walls. The kitchen can be crowded at times. The 6 bed dorm is cramped with not many places to put things. When the owners clean during the day it makes you feel as if you are getting under their feet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Felipe Siqueira

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2013 Luiz Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Todo fue una inolvidable experiencia. Extraño a todos: Ana, Abuela, Tio, todos. Ana sabe todo, organiza todas las excursiones, llama a las empresas y proporciona tomar los transfers turisticos en la puerta del hostel. Tienen contacto con toda la ciudad y aclararon todas las dudas asi que llegamos. Fueran 10 dias de muchas sonrisas y diversión. El baño es muy bueno y grande, y todas las dependencias son limpias y organizadas. La living room es muy acogedora y todos los calentadores funcionan bien. Extraño a todos! Vamos a bailar forró otra vez pronto! ----------------------- Everything was an unforgettable experience. I miss everybody: Ana, Grandma, Uncle, everyone. Ana knows everything, organizes all tours, calls and provides tourist transfers we can take by the hostel's entrance. They got contacts all over the city and cleared out any doubts as soon as we arrived. Those were 10 great days of joy and fun. The bathroom is very good and big, and all units are clean and organized. The living room is very cozy and all heaters work well. I miss you all! Let's dance forró again soon!

Disliked: Luiz Felipe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sergio kountaras

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2013 sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Me gustó todo, la onda, la comodidad, los servicios y sobre todo la limpieza. Impecable!!

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

freddy chevreau

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 freddy would recommend this property

Liked: A very, very central location. Close to all venues of the Ushuaîa ( museums, supermarket, downtown, .... ). Great ambiance and the staff is so friendly and helpfuly. I recommand this hostel.

Disliked: freddy left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Valerie Garside

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, sociable friendly hostel. Great location in the centre of town. Good communal areas and good wifi.

Disliked: Not a major thing, but the kitchen could have been slightly bigger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is well equipped and clean, this is not very common for a hostel! The staff is also very committed and helpful, i really like this cosy place. The heating and hot water work very well also!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAIRO ROBERTO MEDEIROS

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2013 JAIRO ROBERTO would recommend this property

Liked: Ótimo Hostel, excelente localização. Muito Boa atmosfera. Recomendo a quem for a Ushuaia.

Disliked: JAIRO ROBERTO left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, good atmosphere, very clean, close to main supermarket

Disliked: as someone put 'Rules del Sur', on every wall you see words like 'don't, prohibited, not allowed, suspended, removed from hostel etc', which makes you feel like your back in school to say the least. also the staff (male) seems to be constantly walking around the place checking and watching if you've taken off your shoes, not eating in dorms etc. felt very uncomfortable around him

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aviv baram

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 aviv would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel ever.

Disliked: nothing is bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesomely nice staff, loved the rest room too!

Disliked: Kitchen slightly small, gets quickly crowded

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert Madison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: My stay here was better than most hostels, I must be honest. No waiting for the bathrooms, lockers, clean rooms, cool heated 'den' which serves as the living room area/ chill out area in back plus the front area and sporadic couches gives plenty of places to hang out. Staff is pretty good, but should be better versed in the specifics of things to do in Ushuaia. Sometimes it's the little details that are important. Decent breakfast for Patagonia.

Disliked: Crowded kitchen that needs some new lids for the pots and pans... really just handles. The concave log tables are weird and are not functional. Plates and glasses just slide to the center. Should provide national park maps.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plentiful breakfast of bread, jam, butter, cereal, coffee

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janet Fisher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: Lounge area is clean, bright and warm. The location is great, one street back from the Main Street. The showers are hot and the whole hostel is well heated.

Disliked: The kitchen is small and at times very crowded. Breakfast is included but it doesn't start until 8.30am which is a little law if you wish to catch the first tour bus at 9am.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really international, Helpful staff. Reallzy nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Ushuaia hostels