HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tucuman hostels

Reviews of Backpackers Tucuman

Hostel | Laprida 456 San Miguel de Tucu, Tucuman, Argentina T4000IFJ

73.9% Overall Rating

37 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2013)

Melanie Cainzos thinks…

"The people working in the hostel is very nice and helpfull. The atmosphere is very good."

Read all Backpackers Tucuman reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tucuman?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tucuman

Pasiones Argentinas
11.80 USD

Hostel 72.1% 4 reviews
A La Gurda Hostel
11.80 USD

Hostel 97.1% 20 reviews
Hotel Francia
37.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Oh! Hostel
10.62 USD

Hostel 67.9% 31 reviews
Hotel Sol San Javier
52.50 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

37 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers Tucuman'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
74.4%
Value
69.6%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernanda Campos

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 September 2013 Fernanda would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Excellent staff and place.

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Melanie Cainzos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The people working in the hostel is very nice and helpfull. The atmosphere is very good.

Disliked: We have a problem when we get at the hostel, they confuse and give our private room to other person. It wasn't nice to get to the hostel and know we did not have our room but the peopple was nice and try to fixed quickly.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012

Liked: Very old propery - run down and in need of a facelift, especially the bathrooms, door to the dorm didn't shut properly. Lockers in dorms were falling apart, no point using them as anyone could break into them Location was good, but wouldn't stay again

Disliked: Bathrooms were very old and not all that clean. Loud music until after midnight but no one was around Breakfast - usual stale bread and weak coffee - dirty coffee cups

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alexander Klein

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2012

Liked: The location is o.k.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms for to many people. They often have no electrisity and no water.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dannica Switzer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Dannica would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the central plaza, and separate washrooms and showers for men and women. Staff were helpful and gave extra blankets and turned off music in common areas when I asked. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Common area can be noisy and noise travels through the doors easily. Also the light switch was located across the room so you had to cross in the dark; no lamps for less light (ie overheads or nothing).

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alexander Bailey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012

Liked: Had a good atmosphere.

Disliked: The staff. Hard to tell who is staff and who is a guest. The staff spend there time drinking playing ping pong n smoking inside the hostel. The kitchen is way to small for the size of the hostel. You are not allowed to bring any form of drink in to the hostel from out side. Money grabbers. There is also a lack of toilet facilities 3 in the entire hostel. Which with the hostel half full seemed to be a bit of an issue. Finally the hole hostel could do with a bloody good clean.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Ioana Cutcutache

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012

Liked: Central

Disliked: Not so clean, just a couple of bathrooms for a lot of people.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great terrace outback

Disliked: Lots of noise during the night

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent enough hostel and not far from Tucuman. Large patio and area with tv

Disliked: A bit like Tucuman itself... just ok. Booked a tour throughthe hostel that wasn't cheap and when I went on it the tour guide didn't speak English - I'd asked beforehand. Also as another reviewer said it seemed like a family was living there, which was ok, but as there weren't many other backpackers there the atmosphere was not great. Perfectly ok hostel to stop over a night or two, but I've stayed in much better

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, friendly and helpful. Good atmosphere

Disliked: Bathrooms old and limited for capacity. New owner working on this as funds permit

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly and helpful. We forgot our comuter charger and they managed to get it to us. The rooms are nice and spacey. the abthrooms although old, are clean! Good location...only a few minutes walk to the center. Good vibe. Although you cannot bring your own alcohol in the hostel as they have a bar, their prices are very reasonable. They have good ventolaters so the rooms are not too stuffy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011

Liked: Staff friendly and helpful. Good location.

Disliked: Double room was extremely hot, lacked ventilation and good fan. Hostel was apparently open for parties to non-guests. Saturday night very noisy until dawn. Breakfast dishes dirty and sticky.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to good restaurants and walking distance from the bus terminal

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Ladommatos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, it is in a great location in Tucuman and the dorms are very spacious. The owner is a good guy and the staff are helpful also. We had a good stay here, thank you! The table tennis table is AWESOME! The bar is also good, as is the music selection.....

Disliked: Nothing, everything was fine

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011

Liked: Not a great deal really

Disliked: I don't think this place deserves such a high rating! The staff were absent from reception the vast majority of the time and they didn't offer any information about what there is to do in tucuman. The atmosphere was really uncomfortable because the hostel owner had about 13 of his mates and family over for dinner, so we didn't feel that we could relax anywhere. All the rooms face a central hallway where the reception is located and the sound travels so easily in the place because it's an old building that we could hear everyword of the staff at reception, and people in the next room! Which is annoying last thing at night when ur knackered and first thing in the morning. The staff were so absent minded that they allowed a group of guys to play ping pong at 7.30am right outside the rooms, which was ridiculously loud and woke people up. Finally...breakfast is really poor, they hardly put anything out so it runs out really quickly! There is no fruit, no butter, and the bread they put out is rockhard.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great owner and staff, excellent tours on offer! the paragliding was amazing!

Disliked: n/a

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great breakfast.

Disliked: Noisy at night. Music in common areas.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character. Comfy beds. Good central location.

Disliked: Can be quite noisey. The owners smoked in the lounge even though there were no smoking signs everywhere.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ian Bryan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I reserved a room a few days earlier, but when I arrived they decided to close for a few days. They sent no email warning me and just throw me out to the streets in a strange late in the day. I have visited many hostels in my time, but have never been treated so shamble. You should also give the whole city amiss, because there is nothing to do.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011

Liked: Good location, close to restaurants, bars etc and a few blocks from the main square. Room (double) was spacious. Old building had a lot of character.

Disliked: We had big problems with this place - our room didn't have a window so it was dark and stuffy, it smelled of paint and smoke as people were smoking outside the room (most of the rooms are off an inside/outside courtyard). People (including the staff) were also smoking in the living room - I smoke but it even bothered me, it stank. The staff played loud music all day, starting at 10am, and going on til 11pm - it was difficult for those who wanted to watch a film as the music was so loud. The biggest problem though was that of the 3 toilets in the whole hostel, 2 of them didn't flush. The least I expect is a flushing toilet! It was disgusting, I ended up using the men's toilet which was the only one which flushed. The bathrooms are in need of major refurbishment. The staff were never at the reception desk, they were always hanging out with people in the living room. Oh, and the breakfast was pretty rubbish. Not recommended!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property had a good atmosphere and was big open hostel. The wifi was also the best wifi i have had in the two months i have spent in SA so far, exceptionally fast. The location was also close to the centre of town. Pretty good value for the cost.

Disliked: The room smelled a little mouldy (there was mould on the ceiling), the shower went cold in the females bathroom and the mens might as well not have bothered with the shower head, as the water poured out like a tap anyway. The staff speak little english but it's really our problem for having poor spanish skills.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cameron Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Great location. Great communal BBQ. Decent kitchen. Pretty good beds. Plenty of common space. About 5 or 6 blocks from the plaza.

Disliked: Not enough lockers in the dorm rooms, so just had to cross my fingers. Other than that, no complaints whatsoever.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the breakfast

Disliked: a little expensive

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Because of the ratings on internet I thought this hostel would suck.. but it is cute and nice. The first 2 days we had the best wifi we ever had in South-America, te last 2 days internet did not work that well anymore. They have breakfast (on hostelbookers it says they do not have breakfast0 and it is cheap :)

Disliked: Wifi did not work that well the last two days

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly people at the reception

Disliked: nothing


See all Tucuman hostels