We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tilcara hostels

Reviews of Casa Los Molles

Guesthouse | Belgrano, no 155, Tilcara, Argentina 4624

81.6% Overall Rating

34 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"Big dorms, great chilled atmosphere and lovely staff, although i had trouble communicating with them. They put on a movie and cake for us for semana santa and they have a great cafe. It was perfect."

Read all Casa Los Molles reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Our prices will be adjusted depending on how many people book the Cabin.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tilcara?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tilcara

La Albahaca Hostel
7.20 USD

Hostel 87.0% 31 reviews
Tilcara Mistica Hostel
7.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Waira
10.62 USD

Hostel 84.3% 10 reviews
Patio Alto
24.78 USD

Hostel 98.9% 8 reviews
Antigua Tilcara
9.44 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 8 reviews
Club Hostel Tilcara
8.26 USD

Hostel 89.8% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

34 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Los Molles'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 32 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big dorms, great chilled atmosphere and lovely staff, although i had trouble communicating with them. They put on a movie and cake for us for semana santa and they have a great cafe. It was perfect.

Disliked: There isnt any lockers but wasnt a problem in this town. There is only 2 toilets and 1 shower and doesnt while the breakfast is better than alot still not great for my aussie stomach. Dont let any of this put you off though as it was a delight

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jessica Ainlay

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013

Liked: This could be a fairly nice place with other people running it. The two cabins are nicely laid out and there is a view over the town which is nice.

Disliked: This was our worst hostelbookers.com experience to date. The people who run it tried several different ways to rip us off on our payment. First, they didn't even know that you pay 10% at booking. Then they named us a totally different price for the balance - first 200 pesos total, then it was 150 pesos per person, so 300 pesos total. Then they tried to say that our booking was in dollars online, but that in pesos it was somehow more because they charge 6 pesos to the dollar. All other hotels in Argentina charge 5 pesos per dollar. They argued with us to no end, then when they tried to 'prove' that they were right, they went online to prove the rate, and there it said, very plainly on the currency exchange site, that it was 5.12 pesos per dollar. They also made fun of me for my nationality - saying it was 'typical' that I was trying to get something cheaper because of where I am from. The door to the cabin didn't lock. The guy who works there got it to lock when we went for dinner, but later that night we had to sleep with the door unlocked, with full access to anyone from outside to get in. The hot water pipe to our cabin was broken. They were 'nice enough' to offer us to shower in the other cabin, but it was freezing cold at night, so we still went to bed without a shower that we really needed. When we got into the big payment argument, they tried to make it seem like offering us the other cabin to shower in was a huge favor, rather than ever apologizing for it and making clear that of course they should charge us the normal 5.12 rate since we had a door that didn't lock AND no hot water on top of it. Also, the 'staff' were all tired and scraggly, the girl serving us breakfast was barely awake with her hair a total mess, yawning the whole time. Then everyone else who works there, maybe 3 or 4 others, all came and crowded around a tiny breakfast table with only room for 4 people, so that the guests were crowded and forced basically to just listen to them having breakfast together. Not a great guest experience. Lastly, although Wi-Fi was advertised, it did not reach to the cabins. I had to make an important call and when I asked where I could go to have privacy in the main house, there was a ten minute discussion among them and finally they said I could just go sit in the dorm room and call. There are no other shared spaces inside than the kitchen (outside there is space). There is no atmosphere and it's not clean in the main house.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Marx

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice old house with a lot of young alternative people. You can feel the "Tilcara-swing" there.

Disliked: They didnt respond none of my mails...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great view and laid back atmosphere-

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Barry Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: heaters in rooms is good. We checked in very late around midnight which was cool.

Disliked: Showers are not available between 8am and 10am which is very annoying and causes a big queue. Also not hot showers more like luke warm

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere and helpful, friendly staff. Great location and very clean. Play great music! not too loud nor too quiet. Good for all ages!

Disliked: no security-is removed from the center of town but would still be extremely easy for anyone to walk straight into the hostel at any time, day or night. Guests are not given keys for the dorms. Also, there is no living room, but there is great outdoor space to hang out! we reserved a private cabaña for the second night, but because of a reservation mix up, our cabaña was given away (without consulting us) to a couple that arrived after we did. also, the reception was closed in the evening hours, which was sometimes inconvenient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Hubbard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the garden is beatuiful and it was peaceful and relaxing. The staff were helpful with recommendations for eating out and activities to do in the area.

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lucy Egerton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hippy-ish farmhouse style hostel, with a great garden that has stunning views over the town and the mountain. It has loads of character, and a nice vibe. Excellent value.

Disliked: Lack of indoor communal area (except for the kitchen table) was a shame. No lockers (but he offered to lock passports etc. away)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, nicely decorated, great views from a nice garden, quiet part of town, short walk from main plaza (though the other end of town from bus station, worth the walk), nice homemade jams for breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jorgen Lindeborg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2012 Jorgen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and relax hostel with a great view to Tilcara

Disliked: We had to pay 30% more for the room than what we booked it for because the owner "forgot" (or couldn't bother) to update the rates for high season when we booked the room two months before arriving. He could have warned us about this situation by email before our arrival but he didn't. We had no choice but to accept it as there were very few rooms available in town due to the high season. Another thing we didn't like is that there were only two bathrooms for the whole hostel which could be a problem when the hostel is full.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mads Christoffersen

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2010 Mads would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff is so friendly and fun and helpful! It has a great location with a nice garden overlooking the church and the mountains. Our room/cabin was nicely decorated with stone floor, nice blankets and lamps! Really pretty. And everything was clean. We liked it so much we ended up staying for two extra nights!!! Go there if you visit Tilcara!!!

Disliked: Mads left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The garden.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had such a nice stay at Casa Los Molles. It's in a gorgeous location with an amazing view, rooms were clean and the breakfast was the best I've had in a hostel. I recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Jones

08 December 2009 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here three nights in a double private ensuite cabin. It was very cool with stone floors and nice handmade blankets. Everything was clean and the grounds were cool too. They had hot water which had to be requested since it is propane heated, but it was a great hot shower. The cabin had the best atmosphere of any of the rooms we've had on our stay and a very good value.Breakfast was standard Argentinian fare, pretty blah for me, but it seems to be the norm. There were no common computers and internet was painfully slow and inaccessible from our cabin. It was really close to the center of town. If you have a rental car take the detour through San Antonio de Los Cobres on the way here/away (RN40). Its awesome and very scenic. Plus you can visit Salinas Grandes which is pretty neat.The little cabin held a good temperature all day and night due to adobe construction.

Disliked: Tyler left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Timinskaite Ieva

03 December 2009 Timinskaite would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great! It´s a bit of a walk uphill from the bus station, but that´s why you get an amzing view. You can see the mountains and the town from the nice terrace and the double room. It felt like staying in the countryside house. It was very calm and we didn´t meet many traveler but we were staying during low season. I would defiintely recommend this hostel to explore Tilcara and the surroundings.

Disliked: Timinskaite left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming grounds and cottages. For the cottage we had to let the staff know when we wanted to shower so they could start up the water heater; I needed to go outside and turn it down a bit because the water was scalding hot. A great place for a quiet getaway.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet location but not too far from centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really chilled out hostel, not a party place but this was the beauty of the hostel. Brilliant advise from the hostel owner on what to do and see around Tilcara. Make sure you check out the local market, bought some wonderful beef from here, which costs just over a pound!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A sweet as, if quite place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room, the view

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: is very nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jongei won

02 February 2008 jongei would recommend this property

Liked: big garden which shows good view over the town

Disliked: jongei left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 January 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Tilcara hostels