HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of San Juan Hostel

Hostel | 317 Av Córdoba Este, San Juan, Argentina 5400

68.9% Overall Rating

38 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

Uli L thinks…

"After reading the reviews and seeing the rating here on HB I was positively surprised by this nice little hostel. I booked a bed in an 8-bed-dorm, but stayed in an 4-bed-dorm without paying more. The…"

Read all San Juan Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 1.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Juan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Juan

Zonda Hostel
10.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Campo Base - Valle de la Luna
11.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 19 reviews
Hostel Trotamundos San Juan
10.71 USD

Hostel 75.2% 9 reviews
Rancho Lamaral Hostel
17.84 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.9%

Overall Rating

38 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'San Juan Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
71.2%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 39 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014

Liked: The private ensuite we stayed in was functional and clean.

Disliked: We booked a room with aircon which was a mobile unit requiring the venting pipe to hang out of an open window rendering the aircon useless as it was constantly fighting against the hot air coming in.The room was on the roof terrace with the asado barbecue right next to our window, this caused our room to smell of smoke all night and get even hotter, also the entire hostel was camped outside our room until 5am. The kitchen was dirty and too small for the size of hostel. We were told we would be moved on our second night into a better room with proper aircon so we packed up all our stuff and went out for the day, when we returned that room was given to someone else and we were back in the same room, a waste of our time packing up with no apology from the arrogant staff member on reception

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Uli L

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Uli would recommend this property

Liked: After reading the reviews and seeing the rating here on HB I was positively surprised by this nice little hostel. I booked a bed in an 8-bed-dorm, but stayed in an 4-bed-dorm without paying more. The biggest lockers I've ever seen, perfect for all your luggage. Outlets and lamps at each bed. Convenient location between the bus terminal and the centre. Friendly staff and good atmosphere. Compared to other hostels quite international, not only spanish speakers. I arrived with an overnight bus and got breakfast for free which was quite good (different types of fresh bakery and not too sweet cereals).

Disliked: Once I had to wait a few minutes outside before somebody came and let me in. There was a sign “will be back in 30 min“. So I guess I was lucky that I didn't arrive earlier. Letting people wait for 30 min is not ok!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathieu Laberdesque

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the asado on the terrace! very frienly atmosphere, relaxing place, the staff is nice and very helpful

Disliked: Mathieu left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: atmosphere

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Will Herrmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The place was dirty, the reception guy spoke no english was unhelpful and came across as smug and arrogant, on arrival they tried to send us to another "sister" hostel which was verging on being a slum

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Emil Andersen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Emil would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful, even though they only speek spanish. We were three guys wanting to go to the moon valley, and the staff helped us renting a car and getting everything fixed!

Disliked: it is old, a bit (too) dirty and the atmosphere nothing special.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Dean Finch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and in a good location being walkable from bus station and town centre. WiFi worked in room on top floor (much to our surprise!)

Disliked: Staff didn't speak English which was a bit of a barrier (but more our fault for not learning more Spanish!). You could PUSH the front door open at any time of day and just walk through. (We went unchallenged by reception staff and guests at night and we hadn't met them yet). Our room had a broken window, and was right next to the BBQ on the roof, which was being used at 12am by a loud group of other guests. I noticed that alot of the rooms open onto common areas, so I expect alot of people dont sleep very well. Towels were not provided even though it says that they are on this website. When I asked for them, I was told I needed to pay. The kitchen is very small and very dirty. If you're passing through SJ for one night then this will do, but otherwise pay a bit more and go elsewhere.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Marcel Molitor

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 August 2011 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and the location is very good. Free WiFi with a good signal. The roof top terrace is a great place to hang out, chill & have a drink.

Disliked: The bathrooms were in a really run down state and they never looked clean (although technically they might have been...). Our room was facing Ave Cordoba and was really noisy due to the traffic.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

David Escribano Muñoz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Not very clean, bad showers and toilets and very small kitchen

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011

Liked: Location was good and friendly staff. Our room was big with loads of lockable storage space

Disliked: Small communal areas and small kitchen. Shower didnt have hot water. There seemed to be lots of family members of the staff in the hostel at night so there was no where to sit, felt as though we were in the way in someone else's house.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011

Liked: The room was quite large.

Disliked: There was no safe place to keep belongings. The noise from the terrace was not great. The staff spoke no English & wanted to charge us more than had been advertised for the room. The breakfast was old & stale & inedible.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: not so clean

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, big rooms, organisation of trips & tours (winetour specificaly recomendable)

Disliked: kitchen is not too clean, shower either hot or cold (nothing inbetween)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011

Liked: Nice rooftop patio. Location; quite central.

Disliked: Eaten alive by bedbugs in bunkroom 4!! Doubles next to rooftop patio loud at night as people hang out there until 5:30am.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: Staff, room was too hot

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything good

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price on hostelbookers was incorrect but the manager stood by the quoted price, no questions asked. Therefore very good VFM.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel to relax and meet people. Breakfast from 5am to 12am i s great idea.

Disliked: Kitchen is not big enough for more than 3-4 people cooking...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 March 2010

Liked: Wouldn´t reccomend it to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent, cheerful and very helpful. Safe City. Hostel was good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Walter Fuerst

19 February 2010 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of he young staff.The privat ensuite rooms are really good, but two of them are on a terrasse with a jaccussi ... you can be disturbed in your sleep until 03:am .in the night!

Disliked: Walter left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Birgit Halbertschlager

25 January 2010 Birgit would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, good bbq. breakfast is very poor.

Disliked: Birgit left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent in organizing tours!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location between busstation and centre (each about 5-7 blocks away - walking distance). Offering tours to the nationalpark and give tips for exploring the region (e.g. the dam)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Jones

08 December 2009 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very basic and clean. The kitchen was very clean too which is important. The hostel was pretty empty during our visit so the jacuzzi was not filled and the ping pong table wasn't assembled. If we were there another time I could see how it might be fun. The location was good close to the center of town. Our room was super hot and the AC could barely keep up, but it was better than no A/C! It was a good deal overall. Wifi did not work in our room if thats important to you.We booked a double private ensuite. We were basically there to visit Ischigualasto (Valle de la Luna) which was amazing. San Juan is a little boring, but if you have a car I imagine it would be a great place for some wine tasting.

Disliked: Tyler left no negative feedback.