HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Campo Base - Valle de la Luna

Hostel | Tucumán s/n entre San Luis, y Libertador, San Agustín del Valle Fértil San Juan, Argentina 1000

76.7% Overall Rating

16 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

Uli L thinks…

"Buena onda, good places to meet people. Nice garden and common area inside. The staff is friendly and helpful with organizing tours. Dorms with air con and big lockers. Breakfast and equipment of the…"

Read all Hostel Campo Base - Valle de la Luna reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Juan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Juan

Rancho Lamaral Hostel
17.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
San Juan Hostel
7.87 USD

Hostel 68.9% 55 reviews
Zonda Hostel
10.62 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Trotamundos San Juan
11.80 USD

Hostel 75.2% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

16 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Campo Base - Valle de la Luna'

Atmosphere
81.1%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
72.6%
Cleanliness
71.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
74.7%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to meet other travelers. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Bathrooms need maintenance.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Uli L

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Uli would recommend this property

Liked: Buena onda, good places to meet people. Nice garden and common area inside. The staff is friendly and helpful with organizing tours. Dorms with air con and big lockers. Breakfast and equipment of the kitchen ok.

Disliked: Some of the staff were a bit too pushy for my taste, but I'm sure a lot of people like it. Cleanliness improvable, they didn't clean the dorm during the 3 days I stayed there, but the bathrooms and common area were ok. Wifi wasn't working at all and no computers to use during my stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

javier blaustein

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 javier would recommend this property

Liked: The attention of el indio and el gringo

Disliked: javier left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Anna Schultheis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2013

Liked: Free pick-up at bus station. Staff was cheerful (a bit too cheerful?) and offered some excursions incl. a sunrise hike to a nearby mountain. Free mate tea and location infos upon arrival (made it easier to sell excursions).

Disliked: We were told that this is the only hostel in San Agustin. That is not true, there is other, and proably nicer, accomodation available. Wifi was really, really slow. Hostel was very loud due to music and TV in reception area and people coming and going all night long. Staff didn't even try to be quiet when we arrived at the hostel at night. Courtyard could be nice but was under construction. Worst thing: Indio (staff) borrowed a head lamp from my boyfriend for the sunrise hike and didn't give it back. We asked for it twice at the reception but were told that Indio would only come back after we had to leave for the bus. Also no reaction to our e-mails we sent afterwards.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarryd Finkelstein

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Jarryd would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere and very helpful staff. They picked us up from the bus stop at 11pm when we arrived which was extremely welcome.

Disliked: There were no lockers in our room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was met at the bus station and given a free transfer to the hostel, which saved me walking. They then provided a helpful information session about excursions in the area (Valle de la Luna etc), and arranged the tour for us that afternoon. Both managers were very friendly and helpful, although only one speaks good English. The hostel had a very social vibe, and the Valle de la Luna was stunning!! Overall a pleasant stay, and good value for money.

Disliked: There are no lockers, but it didn't feel like the kind of place that needed them. Wifi was a little unreliable, but you're not really here for the internet, are ya? FYI Tours aren't cheap (Arg$150p/p min 4ppl), but there's not really another way to do with without hiring a car in San Juan. That is nothing to do with the hostel, just advise for fellow travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meet at bus station. Group meals. Arranged tours to the parks

Disliked: no lockers. Beds need replacing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An ok hostel, clean and tidy, reasonable breakfast

Disliked: Friendly staff, but keen to find a way for you to part with cash - constantly pushing for tour / asado / bike tour etc. Back garden ok but no water in the 'swimming pool'!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Vicky Bertorelli

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011

Liked: close to the national parks of Talampaya and Valle de La Luna

Disliked: The guy who works there and checked me in / organised my excursion. Does nothing. Totally disorganised. Breakfast from 7am he said. 7am - no breakfast, 7.30, still nothing (about to leave on excursion). Checking his Facebook while I and another pair of customers wanted to talk to him. Came back from excursion to find he'd moved me stuff to another room. Well, half of it, I had to chase him to find where the rest was (he'd stored it somewhere...) Other guy that took us on the excursion, Ricardo, is fine and seems to think this guy is an idiot too.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Escribano Muñoz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly helpfull and friendly staff. The atmosphere in the hostel was the best I have ever found in any of them.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there were nice people and we had a lot of fun at the yummy asado organised by the hostel!

Disliked: there were no lockers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shaf Caan

10 April 2010 Shaf would recommend this property

Liked: Great Eco-friendly experience in Argentina. Well designed building and good use of natural materials.

Disliked: Shaf left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: got group together for tours to national parks. Well organised and made the effort to put on a pizza party for 4 guests and then a bbq the following night with 11 guests.good base for getting to the parks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.