HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel El Jesuita

Hostel | Av.San Martin 1291, San Ignacio, Argentina 3322

85.7% Overall Rating

33 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/01/2014)

"Great place, it's a nice old house with lots of character, good to relax. The private room was really good judging it's price, I've stayed in others more expensive hostels with way worst matresses and rooms in general.…"

Read all Hostel El Jesuita reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Flexible Check In hours

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Ignacio?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

33 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel El Jesuita'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, it's a nice old house with lots of character, good to relax. The private room was really good judging it's price, I've stayed in others more expensive hostels with way worst matresses and rooms in general. The shower was good, the atmosphere great, and all the staff was really friendly. It was the best hostel we've stayed in our recent trip to Argentina.

Disliked: A family did camping right in front of our window to stay next to their car, and it was unpleasant because the curtains were thin and we were sure they could see us in the room at night with our lights on.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Gilbert

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very friendly staff, helpful and welcming.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has alot of charm and has a generaly warm feel to it. The owners are very extremely helpful and friendly. San Ignacio Mini is not a place you would want to stay for more than a few days but when while you are here this is the best place to be. When we stayed it was fully booked so a great vibe inside the hostel and in the garden.

Disliked: You can´t do anything about the mosquitos but they were swarming here in the rooms and the shower- The outside toilet and shower leaves alot to be desired. The room got very hot during the night with only a single fan to cool all of us.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Florian Stöckel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: The french guests

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Alice Stirmey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: There were only 3 people staying at this hostel when I was there, making the service very personalised and very helpful. The breakfast was very good compared to other argentian hostels. The rooms were reasonably clean. I would recommend this hostel if you are on a budget and don´t mind things being not quite perfect.

Disliked: San ignacio is a very hot and humid place making the lack of air conditioning a bit of a problem. There was one fan though. The shower didnt work well and the hostel in general wasn´t that clean. the lockers were small. However, all hostels in the area are more expensive so you get what you paid for and it wasn´t an awful experience staying there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosfera com personalidade

Disliked: Falta de manutenção

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 January 2013

Liked: The hostess felt very badly she messed up our reservation and found a friend to offer us another bedroom but we preferred to be in one location so chose to put all four of us in one room with makeshift beds. She also left breakfast out for us as we left very early the following morning and was very helpful trying to get us oriented to the local activities. Walking distance to the Jesuit ruins.

Disliked: It was dingy, run down, and not very clean. It is definitely a low budget option.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emanuele Bassi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2012 Emanuele would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best place I ever seen during my trips. Herminia is a fantastic host, she manages the hostel with passion. If you are traveling in Misiones province, you have to stop here. thank you Herminia!

Disliked: Emanuele left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the staff, the location, the big dorm (with low beds)

Disliked: no lookers, poor kitchen, hot water just sometimes (but when it's warm outside it's fine)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, the staff were so friendly and helpful, the garden was very relaxing, the breakfast was lovely, the place was clean and tidy and full of charm and colour, It was perfect and the chance to stay in a hostel off the beaten track and learn a bit of culture. Yes the toilet is outside but its always warm here and it adds to the experience. I would recommend this place for anyone staying in san ignacio. Este Hostel fue MUY Lindo. Todos los persones fueron muy simpatico y util. Fue limpia, tranquillo, y el desayuno fue muy bien!. Recommendaria esta hostel..

Disliked: Nothing- Nada!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

catarina ladeira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 catarina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very charming, quite old and full of character. The girl who receiveid us was very sweet and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent!

Disliked: catarina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazing. Friendly, helpful and interesting people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meet a lot of locals

Disliked: Could be cleaner and with more character

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ioana Cutcutache

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Ioana would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place with very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again.

Disliked: Ioana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and welcoming staff. Good location, near the ruines, restaurants and the supermarket.

Disliked: No locks on the rooms and old bathroom and kitchen.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

arnaud prevoteau

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

15 January 2012 arnaud would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (close to the jesuit mission) and good facilities

Disliked: Not very clean and no hot showers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff who went well beyond the call of duty. Full of helpful information about the area and provided great service and good conversation. Breakfast was very good and kitchen, though very small and simple, was well stocked. Had a great time!

Disliked: No running water in kitchen, had outdoor sink instead which only had water until 9pm. Security was not very good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the owners of this hostel. I wished my spanish was better so I could have talked to them more than just basics. They were the friendliest owners I´ve ever met in my life. The hostel is tiny, just one dorm with 5 beds and the bathroom is in the backyard. But there is everything you need. Would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

camille challard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 camille would recommend this property

Liked: really nice atmosphere

Disliked: city a little bit too quiet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the separate cabins were quiet and well situated.

Disliked: nothing. the owners were very accomodating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mahla Axon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Mahla would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is beautiful, peaceful, small, and full of character (it used to be owned by an artist and a writer.) It's a two minute walk from the ruins at San Ignacio Mini and if you arrange it in advance the owners will pick you up from the bus station (a 15 minute walk.) There's a gorgeous garden at the back where you can camp, and it gets the sunset at night. If you go to San Ignacio... stay at this hostel, it's lovely!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As the hostel is quite small, you get to know everybody who stays there very quickly. On my first night, we all got together and had a "parilla". I had so much fun that I stayed an extra night.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners. Good location

Disliked: Bathroom in the garden

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing couple run this hostel. We were given a lift to the bus because it was raining and he stayed with us until we were on the bus just to make sure (we were catching it from the side of the road).

Disliked: Only one bathroom for the whole property.