HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Salta hostels

Reviews of Los Cardones Youth Hostel

Hostel | Avda Entre Rios 454, Salta, Argentina 4400

76.1% Overall Rating

139 out of 160 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2011)

"booked an early taxi for me to get to the bus terminal, not too far from the centre"

Read all Los Cardones Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salta

Hostel Prisamata
7.50 USD

Hostel 81.8% 123 reviews
Quo Vadis?
49.97 USD

Hostel 70.2% 7 reviews
Coloria Hostel
8.75 USD

Hostel 82.5% 9 reviews
Hostal Quara
8.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sol Huasi Hostel
11.24 USD

Hostel 82.3% 38 reviews
Bloomers Salta B&B
33.36 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 60 reviews
Hostal El Alcazar
11.24 USD

Guesthouse 79.5% 114 reviews
Hostal El Aljibe
16.24 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

139 out of 160 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Los Cardones Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 100 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011

Liked: booked an early taxi for me to get to the bus terminal, not too far from the centre

Disliked: Basic breakfast and no provision for early morning departures, decent walk from bus terminal, moldy showers, Employee (drunk) was chatting me up at six in the am when I needed him to book a taxi for me

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities.

Disliked: The room was rather stuffy at times and poorly lit. The hostel could use another bathroom.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen, chill atmosphere

Disliked: À bit whorn put

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadia Chiaramoni

Alone

Business / conference

18 October 2010 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpful and friendly. They give yoy free towels. Sheet are changed every three days

Disliked: Bathroom is small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SILVIA NAVARRO

05 April 2010 SILVIA would recommend this property

Liked: i had a fun time in the hostel with my friends...we feel good

Disliked: SILVIA left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

24 March 2010

Liked: We had a bad experience with this hostel so I wouldn´t recommend staying here. We booked for three nights but stayed for only one. We booked a double room with ensuite facilities but the room we were given smelt of damp and the nearby toilets. The paint was peeling off the walls and within 5 minutes of being in the room, the toilet flush (attached by wire and string) had broken and the curtain rail had fallen out of the wall. The window couldn´t be closed which meant the room wasn´t secure. The staff weren´t particularly helpful or apologetic. We were moved to a different room which was okay but kept being quoted different prices by the girl on reception and ended up paying nearly the same for a twin room and shared bathroom. Breakfast was a shambles - none of the tables were cleared from previous guests so you had to cobble together a breakfast from what was left and when we asked for fresh items, we were told there was none left. This was at 8.45am. This could be a nice hostel if the staff were given some customer service training and the rooms were redecorated.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location only 5 mins from the main bars and restaurants. Double room at the front of the hostel was the largest with a very large bathroom. Clean aswell. Great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small hostel, and was quite quiet when we visited. Staff were very friendly and the location was great. Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 February 2010

Liked: We stayed in two rooms at Los Cardones - both doubles with private ensuite. The first at the back of the hostel was probably the better room however we spent the majority of our time in what looked at first like a nicer room - it had direct access to the inner patio with hammocks and was slightly bigger - however the bathroom in this room backed onto the men's communal toilets which made it smell awful if you didn't have the window open. The whole hostel could benefit from replastering and painting and some new bed linen as although I saw fresh laundry being delivered and people sweeping up, the crumbling walls and worn out linen just made everything look a bit dirty. On the plus side the staff were fantastically helpful - the outstanding feature of the hostel - with one of the staff members helping to reconfirm reservations for us in spanish, booking taxis, finding us contact numbers for a local tour company, etc. This place is functional if you're busy seeing Salta as we were but I won't go back although I loved Salta!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Henning

10 January 2010 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: More than worth the money. Although unfortunately I was the only English speaking one there, and my Spanish is very average, but that is just luck of the draw I think. The hostel itself was awesome, great breakfast too!

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Rau

28 November 2009 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean and kind of funky, in a good way. The rooms were decorated nicely...modern paintings, duvets, etc. The staff were very helpful. There were also great outdoor common spaces, under umbrellas and the such, but a nice job for the space. From the reviews we've read, I thought the place was seriously underrated. We were pleasantly surprised!

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katherine Garabelli

17 November 2009 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are really comfortable and the rooms are clean. Bathrooms are small and shared but they keep them as clean as possible.

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jessica anderson

17 November 2009 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: it was ok. i wanted more but in truth, all i can say is it was ok. average. had better. it wasn't bad, but it wasn't good. bed was extremely average, wish the windows had a fly screen and breakfast was usual south american fare. nothing makes this place stand out from the rest, except that they provided soap and gave you lollies. other than that, it was just your average hostel that makes no impact on your stay whatsoever, and doesn't encourage you to stay in salta any longer than you wished.

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristien Maertens

27 October 2009 Kristien would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and cozy hostel, great staff, clean bathrooms, great common rooms, hammocks...

Disliked: Kristien left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

steven tripp

26 October 2009 steven would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel so far was the best one we have stayed in the room was very good it had an excelent court yard,it bigger than it looks very very good value for money would stay again if ever back in salta.

Disliked: steven left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jean-François Perrault

19 September 2009 Jean-François would recommend this property

Liked: Nice garden, occasional parilladas (BBQ), friendly, helpfull advise.

Disliked: Jean-François left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

02 June 2009

Liked: Arrived here after an all night bus, and were advised that they had overbooked... instead of a double room with private bathroom, we were shown to a dorm room with three single beds and a shared bathroom. The hostel seemed nice enough though, and the girl at reception was very helpful, arranging for us to stay at another (much cheaper) hostel in town, and paying for our taxi there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet and wifi, nice courtyard area, safe location a few blocks north of the city centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tomislav grujic

08 May 2009 tomislav would recommend this property

Liked: definitely one of the nicest hostels I have ever seen....Beautiful place and really friendly people working and willing to help with very good advices.I would recommend this place to everyone who needs some rest between visiting amazing nature around Salta.

Disliked: tomislav left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The morning staff isn't the friendliest, but hostel is OK. From what I can tell, not much choice in Salta. Only 2 bathrooms for all shared dorms is one downside.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Individual lockers in each room. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the empanadas class, worth doing!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Pedler

12 March 2009 George would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service from staff and had an awesome vibe to it. You could feel it as soon as you walked in the front door.

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, decent kitchen, table tennis, nice staff, good chillout area. Five blocks from central plaza.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Martin

03 February 2009 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff.

Disliked: Gareth left no negative feedback.


See all Salta hostels