We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Salta hostels

Reviews of Elargentino Hostel

Hostel | Alvarado street 1077, Salta, Argentina 4400

77.0% Overall Rating

35 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2014)

Nikki Allen thinks…

"Had lockers that you could put valuables in. The staff were helpful and friendly (especially the night guy). The breakfast was the most substantial that we have experienced so far on our trip in…"

Read all Elargentino Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salta

Backpacker's Suites and Bar
8.85 USD

Hostel 80.3% 22 reviews
Hostal El Alcazar
18.88 USD

Guesthouse 79.5% 114 reviews
Ferien Haus Hostel Salta
10.62 USD

Hostel 83.0% 15 reviews
Sol Huasi Hostel
10.62 USD

Hostel 75.4% 47 reviews
Gramma's House Hostel
17.70 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 6 reviews
Hostal Fabian Martinez
20.65 USD

Apartment 80.0% 4 reviews
Coloria Hostel
8.26 USD

Hostel 88.6% 20 reviews
Hostal El Aljibe
15.34 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

35 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elargentino Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nikki Allen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Had lockers that you could put valuables in. The staff were helpful and friendly (especially the night guy). The breakfast was the most substantial that we have experienced so far on our trip in Argentina!

Disliked: The room that we were in had a window that opened to the reception (and couldn't close it) so it was a bit annoying hearing the door bell go off at all hours of the night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Staff

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Wittwer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap stay, close to town center.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No room with private bathroom! Staff very Nice and helpfull. Hostel near all the shopping markets. Breakfast is coffee,the, bread-butter-dulce

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

JUAN MARTIN MAURY

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2013

Liked: Ubicacion

Disliked: Todo Viejo y descuidado, malos olores.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a foosball table out the back, staff super nice & located in central area.

Disliked: Need shower curtains

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and accommodating. Even though we arrived early one morning and left late the next night they were happy to store luggage, let us use all facilities and even offered us breakfast after the allotted time as we slept in.

Disliked: Nothing - it was quiet when we stayed there but not their fault. A nice place with lovely people.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

gemma burnham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 gemma would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for meeting people. Good location too.

Disliked: Our room had a hole in the wall as a window, but was fixed with a make shift window once we reported it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gordon Carver

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms v nice, more like a hotel than hostal. Kitchen was good, staff helpful and cheerful. Good location, 5 mins from centre.

Disliked: Wifi does not work (I was using an ipad), showers located through the kitchen.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and incredibly clean hostel, in a good location in the centre. Staff was always ready to help, and provided us with good breakfast. Kitchen is small but we never had a problem with other guests.

Disliked: The room had no windows and it was accessed from the communal room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gregory knowles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2012 gregory would recommend this property

Liked: please do not tell lonely planets about this place ,i have traveled many places but this is the real deal at the price i paid

Disliked: gregory left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Hills

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and the showers were amazing! Really clean and a decent breakfast. Highly recommended as it's good value for money.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ilse van de Wiel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2012 Ilse would recommend this property

Liked: for the price you must pay a very good hostel

Disliked: Ilse left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Barry Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012

Liked: Cheap, fresh coffee in the morning is good & plenty of bathrooms

Disliked: Kitchen is quite poor, staff don't speak much english or seem to know much about things to do in the local area.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel´s location is great, it is basic but you do get what you pay for, real fresh coffee with standard breakfast.

Disliked: For under $10 USD a night you can´t complain about much !!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to the town centre, and not in a noisy location. Nice staff who gave us breakfast as soon as we arrived in the morning and booked our taxi for the next day.

Disliked: No other English speaking backpackers staying there. Does not have a fun vibe about it. My bed sheets had hair in them and I have a few small bug bites (but these could have been from the bus)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aidan Maguire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: The price. Decent location

Disliked: I left with many bites.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Helbo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2012 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very fiendly and helpful, and you can have a good laugh with them. They were really the nicest staff I have met in South America! And they give you all the information and tips and tricks to make the best of your stay. The hostel is nicely decorated, the kitchen is big, there are 5 bathrooms which is great so that you don't have to queue for shower as you usually have to in other hostels! The staff also let us leave our bags there while we went on a trip to Tilcara, a nearby village, which was very nice of them!

Disliked: No the best breakfast ever but at least there was one!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice hostel close to the centre of town. Staff were very friendly and nice. I would reccomend it for travellers staying in Salta.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laia Roca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Laia would recommend this property

Liked: Very familiar and cool staff.

Disliked: Location is farer than what i read but is in a good place anyway.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was a really nice place with friendly stuff and good people. its a smaller hostel, which i prefer with two backyards. the rooms, bathrooms and kitchen ist good. i enjoyed my stay and bookd 2 more days.

Disliked: there always a few in hostels which could have been better, but its not worth mentioning it. the only thing they say they have, but they dont do is a bar.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, quite cheap

Disliked: pretty small rooms, not too clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriela Quagliatini

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was really good and it was close to everywhere we wanted to go. Easy to reach by bus from the airport!

Disliked: I rather my room had a window but it was ok anyway

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent

Disliked: Tiny rooms with 4 bunk beds. No comfy quiet area for sittiing in, only a dinining area with a blaring tv,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hanna Bogen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2011 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel are, hands down, the nicest staff we have encountered so far. They paid for medical services for a girl in our room who had bronchitis, booked our horseback riding tour with no problems, and always have a smile on their faces when they are greeting you or serving you breakfast! Plus, the Sat. night asado dinner is the best on earth!

Disliked: Some of the rooms are a little small, and it´s a few blocks away from the main Plaza de 9 de Julio. It´s not a problem as long as you don´t mind a 10 minute walk to get over to the center!!

The property's response is...


See all Salta hostels