We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Salta hostels

Reviews of Traveller's North Hostel

Hostel | Av Hipólito Yrigoyen 158, Salta, Argentina 8400

72.8% Overall Rating

21 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/11/2010)

"The location was excellent, close to the teleferico and the city centre. It was really easy to walk around as the surrounding areas are very safe. Also there are some great restaurants and parillas on the same street."

Read all Traveller's North Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Salta?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Salta

Molles del Portezuelo - b&b
20.41 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 22 reviews
Hostel 7 Duendes Base
9.56 USD

Hostel 85.5% 218 reviews
Hostel in Salta
12.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 131 reviews
Backpackers Hostel Salta
8.85 USD

Hostel 69.8% 69 reviews
Hostal El Aljibe
15.34 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 13 reviews
Hostal Fabian Martinez
20.06 USD

Apartment 80.0% 4 reviews
Bloomers Salta B&B
35.04 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 60 reviews
Ferien Haus Hostel Salta
10.62 USD

Hostel 83.0% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.8%

Overall Rating

21 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Traveller's North Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
68.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: Very run down. Rude staff. HUGE cockaroachs. Found a much more beautiful and less expensive place around the corner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money, very good friendly staff

Disliked: NA

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011

Liked: staff members were extremely helpful and nice

Disliked: the place didn't feel clean, although you would see staff members cleaning periodically. this may have been due to the run down state of the property.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2010

Liked: The location was excellent, close to the teleferico and the city centre. It was really easy to walk around as the surrounding areas are very safe. Also there are some great restaurants and parillas on the same street.

Disliked: The most disappointing thing about this hostel were the staff. Apart from Ivanna and Diego (who helped us with tour info) everyone else was rude and disinterested in making our stay ´feel like home´ as they describe. They do not enforce the rules, not even the staff follow the rules about smoking and noise. At one point there were 4 people smoking right under the ´no-smoking´ sign! The room was fine for a budget hostel complete with a strong fan (great for hot weather) and television, but the bathroom wasn´t practical as the toilet was centimetres from the shower meaning everything was drenched after a shower. I could have put up with all of this had the staff been more friendly. On our last night I had to ask them 4 times to book something for me, in the end I did it myself. All this added up to quite an unpleasant stay.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010

Liked: The staff were very helpful but rules were not enforced about smoking or noise.

Disliked: See above. COULD NOT LOCK BALCONY DOORS AND IT WAS A PUBLIC BALCONY. The smoke was so thick it was hard to breathe. Cleanliness was not good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and fun and it´s in a good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice guests, good kitchen. Friendly staff and I enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nikolaus Kaufmann

24 May 2010 Nikolaus would recommend this property

Liked: i especially like the flexibility because i did a small roadtrip for 3 days after my first night and they had no problem with that even though i booked for 2 nights. when i came back i stayed for a couple more nights and on the last day we had a great bbq.

Disliked: Nikolaus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel in Argentina

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great, I took many friends

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

17 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the bus stop and if you bring your Get South book you get a free beer on arrival.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the price it was great. The pool area at the back was big, which made up for the small rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great laid back atmosphere..The staff are really helpfull and friendly and always willing to get you a fresh beer..The pool feels more like your own pool, this is the first time that i really felt like i was on vacation.. Strongly recommend

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marta perrotta

14 March 2010 marta would recommend this property

Liked: Me encanto todo lo que me brindaron en este Hostel, esta barbaro, tal es asi que pensaba hacer una sola noche en la provincia de Salta y al final pienso quedarme por varios dias mas.Lo que me sorprendio mucho, fue lo familiar que se torna hospedarse aqui, entre todos los turistas y la gente del hostel se junta un poco de plata y se preparan comidas entre todos, cosa cual no me habia pasado en los hostel anteriores que me habia hospedado, ya que lo unico que piensan es en como sacarte plata, me siento muy feliz aca, sigan asi, me voy a cansar de recomendarlos por todos los medios que pueda, mucha suerte y con certeza si alguna vez vuelvo a Salta ya se donde queda mi casa.

Disliked: marta left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leonardo vassallo

14 March 2010 leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: El mejor Hostel sin duda alguna, hace 3 meses que vengo recorriendo Peru,Bolivia, Chile y Argentina, y encontre aca un ambiente en el cual me hicieron sentir como en casa, los recepcionistas son lo mas, preocupandose siempre por el bienestar de los turistas, la pileta esta increible, mucha buena onda y fiesta por sobre todas las cosas, y lo mejor de todo fue el asado y las empanadas a la parrilla que comimos con toda la gente copada que se alojaba en el hostel, la pase barbaro, gracias por todo y no cambien.

Disliked: leonardo left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 March 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a small and friendly hostel with a nice size pool and lots of good areas for sitting out. Not the most central but very near the bus station and it is only a short walk into the centre or a very cheap taxi fare. The breakfast is poor though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nikki MacArthur

09 January 2010 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Had a fantastic time at the hostel.. the staff were friendly and more than willing to help out with anything and come and sit down for a chat to check that everything was todo bien! The relaxed atmosphere was great. The pool and outdoor area are nice and the asado was excellent.

Disliked: Nikki left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and very helpful, the pool and outdoor areas were very good especially as Salta can get so very hot. Breakfast was not great and not really worth getting up for. The toilets were the type where you could not put paper down the toilet but the bin was not emptied for the three nights we were there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caitlin Dwyer

20 May 2009 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we've stayed at in more than 5 months travel. Very relaxed, feels like you're staying at a mate's house more than a hostel. Room small but clean (we had own tv but tv, playstation and computers downstairs). Breaky basic but sufficient. Best thing is the chilled out staff, can ask them anything and can hang out with them v easily. Would definitely tell mates to stay there. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.


See all Salta hostels