HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Retorno Hostel

Hostel | Mitre 798, Puerto Madryn, Argentina .

85.5% Overall Rating

93 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2013)

Gabi Schrepfermann thinks…

"We went to Puerto Madryn on a long weekend, so the whole city was a little bit crowded, but I think, during the high season it would be the same. Unfortunately the owners didn't seem really…"

Read all El Retorno Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Madryn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Madryn

La Casa de Tounens
10.71 USD

Hostel 96.7% 67 reviews
Posada del Catalejo
11.91 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 58 reviews
El Gualicho Hostel
13.69 USD

Hostel 91.3% 131 reviews
Hostel La Tosca
11.91 USD

Hostel 95.7% 99 reviews
Hostel Viajeros
13.69 USD

Hostel 68.5% 28 reviews
Yiliana Hostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3 reviews
Chepatagonia Hostel
13.10 USD

Hostel 92.7% 214 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

93 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Retorno Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Gabi Schrepfermann

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2013

Liked: We went to Puerto Madryn on a long weekend, so the whole city was a little bit crowded, but I think, during the high season it would be the same. Unfortunately the owners didn't seem really organized. When we arrived we got a coffee and then they tried really hard to sell us a tour, and almost got angry, as we din't take one. The whole time we didn't feel very welcome to the owners, and every little question (for example to get a locker key or the change for the money paid) turned out to be a complicated issue due to the chaotic circumstances. Also the girl from the nightshift, that was really relly nice and tried her best, seemed to have no information from the owners, as she even wasn't able to find toilet paper...

Disliked: It wasn't really clean and the showers downstairs were not allowed to be used. The owners wanted to sell to get their comission and tried taht really hard. The owners definitely have to work on their organisation skills!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very nice time, helpful staff and good breakfast!

Disliked: The tours are a bit pricey, and you have to book several to get discounts...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gemma Walton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012

Liked: It was a nice hostal, basic, nothing amazing about it but nothing offensive.

Disliked: As soon as we got there the woman was trying to force us to book a tour. It felt like she was really nice to us before we got there and then and was desperate for us to book a tour then as soon as we had she wasnt that interested in us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adeline westerveld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Adeline would recommend this property

Liked: 'Home away from home.' It's like meeting family who live overseas. Very warm, welcoming people. They arrange everything: tours, bus tickets and give you loads of information. Even were to get the best vegetables. Good matresses, slept like a baby. Shops an beach are very close.

Disliked: Adeline left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristy Malone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Kristy would recommend this property

Liked: This property was very clean and welcoming, the information and recommendations were fantastic and best prices available.

Disliked: The only dislike, rooms were not locked and things moved whilst not there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jade Webber

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, lovely owners: kind, patient, full of useful information. Really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to everyone!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carlos Munoz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Gladys and husband were helpful and friendly, offering us breakfast when we arrived very early in the morning and providing information on the trips and good places to eat in the area. The two of then appear to work hard at keeping the place clean and helping guests.

Disliked: Basic breakfast; rolls and jam with tea/coffe and orange squash. Wi-Fi signal was very poor/unusable in some rooms upstairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a sweetheart. She helped us with everything we needed while in Puerto Madryn. The hostel is clean and comfortable and breakfast is good. The location is close to the city center and the waterfront. We enjoyed our short time at this hostel

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samuel Foote

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable, lots of space and the owner was very helpfull with booking trips. good kitchen facilities and nice showers.

Disliked: sometimes it felt like we were a bit in the way, all our things in the dorm were tidied away while we were out. one morning one of the staff came and opened our (very noisy) shutter to get towels from the balcony at 6 a.m. not a big deal but felt a bit intrusive.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matt Shaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed one night in Puerto Madryn as such we emailed in advance of our booking to see if Glady’s could help us book a tour for the following day to see the killer whales, southern right whales and penguins. Glady’s was extremely helpful booking the tour (which had an English speaking guide) and in advising us on the buses departing to Bariloche the next day. We stayed in the private double room which was clean and warm. There are a couple of bathrooms, which can make it tricky in the morning when everybody is needing to use them before the tour so get up in plenty of time if you want to shower. Puerto Madryn is a good base to explore the peninsula although I would say you only really need to stay a couple of days.

Disliked: Breakfast is a little limited, bread rolls and tea or coffee. There are a couple of bathrooms, which can make it tricky in the morning when everybody is needing to use them before the tour so get up in plenty of time if you want to shower. Neither are big issues.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eamonn Maguire

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Eamonn would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place and very friendly staff. Organised the whole trip from the hostel with discount.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got picked up at the bus station for free and transfered to the hostel, We booked a private double but another couple wanted to stay another night so we got a private double ensuite but didn't have to pay any extra. Gladys is very helpful and warm and friendly, really can't do enough for you. We went snokeling with sea lions which was unforgettable and saw armadillos, guanacos, rheas, foxes, elephant seals, penguins and lots of birds on our trip to peninsula valdes - guide was great and talked a lot along the way in good english. Great location in town and lovely toasted buns with jam and butter in the morning with coffee, hot chocolate and juice. Yummy!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guy Ashiri

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Guy would recommend this property

Liked: Place is shining, quite and warm. Gladys and her husband are really nice, and they do their utmnost to help with anything. Actually, they had the best offers for touring the region. On our last night Gladys called us on phone to say goodbye and send warm kisses from her husband, because they didn't manage to see us before they went home... they are really charming!

Disliked: nothing serious

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manon van Eijk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011 Manon would recommend this property

Liked: Gladys and Matias are very hospitable and loving people. The hostel was super clean and we were very well advised for the tours. Super Super Super!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly, we had a very good welcome. The place is very clean, one of the best we had. The kitchen has all the facilities we need. The location is great, near downtown, there are 3 supermarkets within 1 block. The atmosphere is really nice, just like home! We loved it!

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leonardo camilo santostefano

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

13 August 2011 leonardo camilo would recommend this property

Liked: se siente como en casa, y eso es bueno!!!

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and helpful here and offer infomation about the tours in the area. The hostel is always kept very clean! The location is good, on the main street and three blocks from the seafront. Gorgeous bread for breakfast too!

Disliked: No bad points.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Norberg

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners, EXCELLENT breakfast coffee (I`m not kidding - it`s heaven for all of us who usually get to suffice with instant coffee...) and good tour options. Everyone´s hear for the same thing - whales and/or penguins - and the Retorno is great for helping you with that :) The rooms are clean, the bathroom´s are decent and the free breakfast is not bad at all.

Disliked: We stayed for 4 nights and that was actually too long. Everyone else in the hostel stays for 1-2 nights, so you never really get to know anyone. That, however, is definitely not the hostel´s fault. It´s just not meant for long-term stays.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very nice and most helpful for any of your needs, whether that be should you need to book a taxi or to organise a discounted trip.

Disliked: I didn´t think that the hostel was extremely clean, but it is fine for a short stay.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2010

Liked: d

Disliked: room was right next to busy street. no real common area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Robinson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2010 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: We have had a fantastic time in Puerto Madryn with the help and assistance of Gladys and the friendly staff at El Retorno. We booked two excursions with them which were brilliant, the best tours we´ve had in Argentina. It is the most welcoming hostel we have visited and feels like home. Thanks for a great time.

Disliked: Nothing - all positive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners are very nice people, and will welcome you as their own child. My entire congratulations. Would be nice to reorganise the kitchen area, so that it could be more handy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Wilkes

27 May 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very friendly staff that go out of their way to help you. Great hostel in a good location. It was quite though because it was the off season which was a bit of a shame.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff couldn´t be more helpful. Facilities are good, with a big kitchen and a supermarket across the road. Location was central, although we were there in the off season so it was quiet. Would have no difficulty in recommending this hostel to fellow travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.