We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Gualicho Hostel

Hostel | Marcos A. Zar 480, Puerto Madryn, Argentina U9120ARJ

91.3% Overall Rating

121 out of 132 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

"Very good hostel and would highly recommend it. It was clean. The dorm rooms with pretty bathroom."

Read all El Gualicho Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard this hostel requires the 3 digit security from the back of your credit card ! Please contact us if you have any questions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Madryn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Madryn

Posada del Catalejo
11.80 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 58 reviews
Hostel La Tosca
15.34 USD

Hostel 95.7% 99 reviews
Yiliana Hostel
29.50 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3 reviews
Hostel Viajeros
13.57 USD

Hostel 68.5% 28 reviews
Chepatagonia Hostel
15.34 USD

Hostel 93.5% 215 reviews
La Casa de Tounens
13.45 USD

Hostel 96.7% 67 reviews
El Retorno Hostel
12.74 USD

Hostel 85.5% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

121 out of 132 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Gualicho Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 105 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel and would highly recommend it. It was clean. The dorm rooms with pretty bathroom.

Disliked: Bicycles for rent poorly maintained.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff who were very helpful. Secure parking if you have a hire car. Well located and plenty of common areas to relax in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The help of the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013

Liked: Room was spacious enough. Good shower.

Disliked: Rooms were very noisy. Breakfast was bad. Things were not refilled in time (4 days in a row). Pretty annoying when you are in a hurry,because your (and everybody else's) tour starts at 7.30. They didn't tell us we had to book before 8 o clock,so we couldn't book our tour anymore and had to wait another day. We paid for a diving trip,but when we were in the car,they told us we would go snorkeling because there was no place for more divers. Price remained the same. You can only pay in cash,while the tours are very expensive and with our card we can only withdraw 1000 pesos a day. We had to go around town each day to withdraw in order to be able to pay the tours and the room. Rooms are noisy. If people in another room speak on a normal level,you can hear them. In the weekend,you can hear the music of the pubs quite well in the room...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, Cleanliness, Location

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Eccleston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well maintained.

Disliked: A bit big and lacking in character. They offer their own tours so they don't give objective advice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lebzylisbeth Gonzalez

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Lebzylisbeth would recommend this property

Liked: Spotless, spacious hostel. Plenty of space to sit and relax in the common areas. Hammocks in a little garden. Large kitchen with two stove tops and a parrilla. TV room. Bathrooms on each dorm, cleaned every day. Large lockers. Free secure bag storage. Computers and wifi. Well done.

Disliked: I wish the wifi was more reliable, but it seems to be a city-wide problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, nice atmosphere, beautiful garden with hammocks and a good kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bart Liong Ie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Bart Liong would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well organised hostel. The staff is helpful and friendly. Valdez Tours can be arranged quickly here. Many facilities. Huge kitchen, large sitting areas, living room, garden, spacious dorms with good beds and very pleasant ensuite bathrooms.

Disliked: There was not enough cleaning material in the kitchen. Just one very old obsolete spunge where dozens of people staying at the hostel all had to do their dishes with. I would suggest that this hostel puts at least 10 of these spunges in the kitchen and renews them every month (at least). Also no cloth to dry the dishes or tables. The WiFi was on and off all the time, not working properly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very helpful and friendly. Hostel is in a great building with beautiful views. Also has a brilliant breakfast that starts really early for all those 8am excursions.

Disliked: Was a bit hard to find at first as the area isn't signposted very well, but this ws a very minor thing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rhys Kingdom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: We dont normally stay in big hostels, but this one was very good and would recomend it. It was very clean, the 6man dorm rooms were big with nice bathroom and big locker. The staff were helpful and could book alot of tours which were around the same price as you could book them in town.

Disliked: The kitchen was big and with a good hob, but there were no knifes to eat with and very little cooking equipment for such a large hostel. Also the internet was useless, which was nice because people spent more time talking than on facebook!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofia Hammarström

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2012 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: What i liked most was the friendlieness and the helpfull staff. I also liked the cosy atmospher and that it was very clean.

Disliked: The only thing that wasnt perfect is that the kichen lack utensils, knifes choppingboards etc. at least their are to few for the amount of people staying there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aleksandra Sawicka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2012 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: duże pokoje, czysto

Disliked: brak atmosfery, kiepski internet

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are huge and very very clean. Lockers are very big. The kitchen is well equipped and huge as well. The garden is really nice to hang out and the location is very good.

Disliked: Wi-Fi was a little unstable

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is so clean and quiet and had an amazing kitchen.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ralf Beck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2012 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: All was OK. Our double room was new and clean.

Disliked: Ralf left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john gordon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 john would recommend this property

Liked: central. and excellant staff, also very clean

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I am travelling now for 6 months in South America, and this one is by far the best !!! Very clean, nice rooms with enough space, big kitchen, a big cosy living room, enough computers and plugs available... Etc... :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double ensuite room, which was very comfortable, especially the bathroom. Everything is very clean and the staff is friendly and competent.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike with this hostel, except perhaps that WIFI is not available in all rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Irene Verdiesen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, nice common spaces, very clean. Friendly staff speaks excellent English and explained very well the tours offered. We took the tour to Peninsula Valdez and Punto Tombo and they were both well organized and with an English speaking guide. Walking distance from bus station and sea side area.

Disliked: The information about the tours organized by the hostel was not completely correct regarding pick-up time and ending hour which caused some problems for some people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Roanne Logtenberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Roanne would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and the rooms are good, you have got much possiblities for tours and activities

Disliked: For us it was to big, the atmosphere is gone and we missed the feeling and contact that you have with smaller hostels and the wifi does'nt do it well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, awesome staff

Disliked: bad coffee...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Natalia Goloub

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2011

Liked: Lawn

Disliked: The hostel has outgrown its infrastructure: when it gets full there is not enough water (one night we were waiting two hours for the water as each time we were told that in 30 minutes the tank would be refilled and the water would be back, but finally went to bed without having any water). The internet speed is extremely low (comparing to average internet speed of hostels in Argentina).

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly. Great helpful staff. Safe and warm rooms

Disliked: No dinners offered

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in in Argentina, must be newly decorated or something. So cosy and warm, the 6 bed dorms had loads of space too. Well-equipped kitchen and nice sitting room. Average breakfast. Helpful staff. If you do the whale watching tour, ask if Lucien is the guide, I thought he was great! Knowledgeable and even gave me his coat as I was ill prepared for the chilly Patagonian evening!

Disliked: Mirrors in the bedroom are always handy so then you don't have to take up the bathroom when doing your make up. Otherwise had absolutely everything I needed!