We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel La Tosca

Hostel | Sarmiento 437, Chubut, Puerto Madryn, Argentina -

95.7% Overall Rating

99 out of 99 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

"We really enjoyed our stay here, the staff is really nice and helpfull. The room we have was nice, clean and cozy. The breakfast is good with homemade cake! We had to leave early in the morning and the staff even made…"

Read all Hostel La Tosca reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 1.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Madryn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Madryn

Hostel Viajeros
13.57 USD

Hostel 68.5% 28 reviews
El Gualicho Hostel
17.70 USD

Hostel 91.3% 132 reviews
Yiliana Hostel
29.50 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3 reviews
Posada del Catalejo
11.80 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 58 reviews
La Casa de Tounens
13.45 USD

Hostel 96.7% 67 reviews
Chepatagonia Hostel
15.34 USD

Hostel 93.5% 215 reviews
El Retorno Hostel
14.98 USD

Hostel 85.5% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.7%

Overall Rating

99 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel La Tosca'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 96 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here, the staff is really nice and helpfull. The room we have was nice, clean and cozy. The breakfast is good with homemade cake! We had to leave early in the morning and the staff even made us some breakfast the evening before so we didn't have to leave without anything, big thanks!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Kirby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Rodrigo is incredibly friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to do in PM

Disliked: Liam left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was set out around a courtyard, more like a bunch of holiday rooms. The courtyard was very pretty. I also enjoyed the homemade cake every morning, there was always too much to get through. One night I was given a cake by one of the staff for no reason! The atmosphere was very friendly and staff extremely helpful.

Disliked: The room was basic, which wasn't a problem, but they could do with changing the colour of their bedding, brown/stone colour isn't very inviting!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Carolina Antunes Acosta Fernandes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 Ana Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpful and the hostel is cozy and clean

Disliked: Ana Carolina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast cake.

Disliked: Beds are slightly short for people over 6 ft

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel, I would definitely recommend it! The staff is friendly and helpful, they can help you plan your stay in Puerto Madryn and show you all the different excursions available. Thanks again! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's extremely friendly and helpful staff. The dorm room was clean and comfy with lots of space to store your belongings that is also secure and safe. The atmosphere was great and it's in a superb location. Close to the bus terminal and the main part of town. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvonne Vogelenzang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff. Great garden!

Disliked: Yvonne left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Arthur Wijckmans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2013 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: Room was ok and 2 kitchens. Nice location and helpfull staf.

Disliked: Breakfest was a bit poor. Only some sweets and cake. Nice for People who likes sweets but it isn' t a breakfest.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe in the common area. Excellent help with trips and tours. Extremely helpful and accommodating staff that are friendly and relly lyke their work

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cynthia Bui

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 September 2013 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very well kept, clean and safe. The staff was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about all the activities that you could do. They also checked the weather every day with information that included wind, high tide/low tide and precipitation. This was great information to have so that we knew exactly when would be the best time of the day to see the wildlife. We were staying there in the beginning of September, so penguins were only starting to arrive. They were kind to call every morning for us to check whether Punto Tombo had any penguins for us to see. We really appreciated that so that we don't have to pay for the tour and end up seeing nothing! The location is great, we just walk straight on Sarmiento street and get to the beach in less than 10 minutes. Big thanks to Eduardo, Rodrigo and Mariano!! We really enjoyed our stay and made some great friends.

Disliked: Cynthia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here really make the place! And it isn't just one or two of them, it is everyone who works here.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, one of the best hostels we have stayed in so far over two months. The staff are really friendly and helpful with anything you need to know. The rooms are clean, hot water on demand for showers, breakfast is cake but if you want anything else they have fruit etc too. Between 2-5mins to all important things needed like bank, supermarket, bakery etc. Atmosphere was good - genuine good feelings for the whole hostel! And there is a hammock!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, and make the atmosphere really good in the whole hostel!You immediately feel at home in this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filipe Da Silva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Filipe would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, very clean and ith a lot of facilities. The staff is very helpful and nice, the evening receptionist even offered us a very good homemade desert. The hostel is also very beautiful with a nice garden and confortable rooms. One the best hostel we have been so far!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Germaine Parcher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2013 Germaine would recommend this property

Liked: We are a 50 year old couple travelliing Argentina. This hostel provided us what we needed, clean, hospitable, and not a party crowd.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the nicest staff we have had in South America, free breakfast, free wifi, good tour information and ablovely courtyard with a hammock.

Disliked: A couple more pots and pans would be good, but there are two kitchens so no real complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charmaine Chan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Charmaine would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Always being greeted with a smile by all staff and they all make the effort to introduce themselves to you. For a smallish property there were 2 kitchens for guests to use and they were well equipped. There was also a dining area in both kitchens - one being the breakfast area at reception. The nice little garden area is also very nice and relaxing with plenty of seating for guests to hang out and read or enjoy the sun. Although the twin room I stayed in with my husband was a bit of a shock to see when we checked in because it appeared to be so small compared to other hostels we've stayed in, we were surprised at how un-cramped we felt in the space. There were bunk beds built into the room against the back wall which was better than a traditional bunk bed because there was a lot more head space for both of us. The room was really well thought out with space under the beds to store bags and some shelving and individual lights next to the beds. This all left a good amount of floor space to move around in. But don't get me wrong it is still a very small space, so if you're a bit claustrophobic you might want to rethink booking a double or something. The shared bathroom was in between our room and the room next door with the entry door in our room which meant you just had to knock before entering to make sure the guests in the other room wasn't in there, but we had no issues with it at all. At times we felt like it was our own private bathroom. The hostel also books tours to all the major attractions for you so that was very convenient and we did 2 of them and we enjoyed them both and got what we payed for.

Disliked: Since everything was described correctly and nothing was unexpected, there is nothing to dislike about this property, plus anything that we did dislike was outweighed by all the things we really liked about this place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: giardino piacevolissimo e rilassante, due cucine molto ben equipaggiate e deliziose crostate per la prima colazione! Intelligente il sistema del bagno condiviso tra due camere (forse si potrebbe migliorare il sistema di segnalazione del bagno occupato... invece di bussare avere una doppia serratura chiudibile anche dall'interno, ad esempio)

Disliked: Le camere doppie sono un pò troppo "celle" e mancano di appoggi (mensole, attaccapanni, ...).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tara Bartnik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice breakfast, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Tara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa GRIFFIN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: La Tosca was fabulous for so many reasons. The staff - all welcoming and knowledgable about the things to do around Puerto Madryn. The facilities - two very clean and well equipped kitchens; excellent communal areas inside and a nice little garden area too (with a hammock); a sink (outdoors) and lines for laundry; rooms were clean and shared bathrooms were only between two rooms. If you are trying to choose a hostel in Puerto Madryn, this one is where you want to be. They bake all the breakfast goodies themselves and ask "more cafe?" - yes please.

Disliked: There was nothing we disliked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful, have a good knowledge of the area and are always willing to give a piece of advice! The room (8-bed dorm) was very big so you don't walk on each other all the time but a little dark and unfortunately room-sharers are not always respectful of other people in the room, but that is not to blame on the hostel of course! It's a pity the common doesn't have much atmosphere, it's a big room where people have plenty of space but most people are on tours all day and don't try to acquaint when back from their tour. The music can be a little too loud sometimes.

Disliked: Rooms are a little dark and breakfast could be a little different sometimes: the cakes are good but it's nice to change from time to time too!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well-equipped kitchen, big enough for a group of people to cook at the same time! we stayed in private room with toilet, everything is good! Staff are very friendly and the tours are offered in reasonable price. Location is ok, few blocks from bus station and supermarket can be found within 2 blocks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff with lots of information on all the many tours available, even though dorms were for 8 they were quite private due to how the beds were laid out.

Disliked: Only cake for breakfast and not that much atmosphere in the common areas.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Location was great. Rooms were kept clean, and great only having to share a bathroom with one other room. Nice atmosphere over all in the hostel, with lots of friendly guests.

Disliked: The kitchens were possibly the only slight negative thing about this place. The majority of people staying here were cooking each evening which meant they were busy. All the fridges were packed full and there was no system for storing food in them. I'd suggest having a space/shelf for each room so people's food doesn't get mixed up and then out of date food can be easily removed from the fridge. There was also a cat which kept walking over the crockery and cookware which was a bit gross.

The property's response is...