We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chepatagonia Hostel

Hostel | Alfonsina Storni 16, Puerto Madryn, Argentina CP 9120

92.7% Overall Rating

204 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/03/2014)

Chris Williamson thinks…

"The location is beautiful, right on the seafront, a little noisy at night but nothing too bad. The owners were lovely, Mara was really helpful with the tours and any other info about Puerto Madryn.…"

Read all Chepatagonia Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.80
  • Towel USD 1.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & MasterCard this hostel requires the 3 digit security from the back of your credit card in order to confirm your reservation, otherwise your booking may be cancelled! Please contact us if you have any questions. Your reservation may be cancelled without refund of the deposit if you do not reconfirm it through an e-mail 24 hs. before your arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Madryn?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Madryn

Yiliana Hostel
29.50 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3 reviews
Posada del Catalejo
11.80 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 58 reviews
El Gualicho Hostel
17.70 USD

Hostel 91.3% 132 reviews
Hostel La Tosca
12.98 USD

Hostel 95.7% 99 reviews
Hostel Viajeros
13.57 USD

Hostel 68.5% 28 reviews
La Casa de Tounens
13.45 USD

Hostel 96.7% 67 reviews
El Retorno Hostel
14.16 USD

Hostel 85.5% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.7%

Overall Rating

204 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chepatagonia Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 171 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Williamson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The location is beautiful, right on the seafront, a little noisy at night but nothing too bad. The owners were lovely, Mara was really helpful with the tours and any other info about Puerto Madryn. The kitchen was great, really spacious and well equipped. Our room was also a great size and even had a wardrobe to store packs in. We kiked this place and puerto madryn so much we are already planning to return at the end of our trip.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, location right on the beach, can book tours at the reception, kitchen is fairly well equipped.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Kotlarczyk

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The owners, who run the hostel are very friendly and helpful and provided one of the best services we got during our holidays in Argentina! :) It was a real pleasure to stay in this hostel. The rooms were clean, there is a big living room and kitchen, the see is just opposite the street.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Froukje Procee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Froukje would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, just besides the beach. It´s a small hostel, so it´s cozy and it gives an intimate atmosphere where you easily meet people. The young guy at the reception desk was really helpful in informing us about excursions and places to go out. We met nice travellers and had a good evening with music and singing.

Disliked: Breakfast was pretty poor. The couple running the hostel where not unfriendly but they seemed a bit tired and worn out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Normand Boulanger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 Normand would recommend this property

Liked: The property itself was good, clean and trusty.

Disliked: I felt like I was not that welcome to stay after check out time. I had a bus leaving later and stayed all afternoon, but I did not feel like it was ok. But maybe it was just an impression I had.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012

Liked: Close to the main beach, clean rooms, good kitchen.

Disliked: Prices for activities or hiring equipment ect was a lot more expensive than what you could get out on the street at other stores.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Chepatagonia for one week. The staff is very nice and helps you whenever they can. What is markedly good is the cleanliness of both dorms, kitchen and bathrooms. For people who are looking for a party hostel it might not be the best choice as it is a very calm place but for me it was simply perfect. From the kitchen you can look at the beach and enjoy the simple but good breakfast. Also the tours to the surrounding national parks you can book via the hostel were worth their money.

Disliked: For people who are very sensitive to noise when sleeping, I would recommend to ask for a room which has windows that point at the patio. Although the hostel is not located at a main street there is a lot of noise there outside at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Schulz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: "Excellent" would describe it the best :) Very helpful and friendly staff. Bathrooms and kitchen very clean. Even cleaner than at home ;) Kitchen is well equiped. Great come togethers e.g. having selfmade Pizza for dinner all together. The breakfast is ok. Not diffent to other hostels.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners, nice facilities, right next to the beach.

Disliked: Breakfast is not great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, fairly central location and very clean

Disliked: A lot of noise from the road, if possible don´t stay in the rooms on the road and may be ok, for the amount paid the breakfast was poor compared to everwhere else we have stayed in Argentina

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ralph Warren

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Ralph would recommend this property

Liked: helpfull staff, alright breakfast

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henrique Andrade Camargo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: Maru and Gabriel r such nice people (although they r argentinians - just kiding to keep the good mood between brazilians and our dears hermanos). They (with their staff) were very welcoming with my wife and I, gave us lots of tips about places to visit and I can garantee you we had a lovely time. Also the other guests were nice people with lots of stories to share.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about, really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location !!! Really nice and helpfull owners!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Morley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2011 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: there is some traffic noise that penetrates some of the rooms but the owner/managers can do nothing about it. Also the breakfast is the normal so adequate but not exciting.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gabriele wildmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 gabriele would recommend this property

Liked: nice hoste,l nice owners, help to organize trips, but without being pushy.

Disliked: nothing actually

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff made you feel at home. They were incredibly helpful with booking tours and onward journeys. The hostel had a great atmosphere with a good mix of people. It was clean and in a perfect location. I wish I had more time on my trip so I could have stayed longer.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Colin Hallion

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, good location!

Disliked: Bikes are old and not in good conditions, the pump was broken and we almost got stranded, BBQ was a bit expensive for what we got but tasty none the lest,

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Beynon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach, tourist information, friendly staff

Disliked: 2 old PC's only

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kent Molin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Kent would recommend this property

Liked: wonderfull location and staff!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean hostel. Great barbeque to meet others.

Disliked: After check out you had to pay $10 to use the shower if you were staying there a bit later to wait for the bus. We haven´t experienced this in other hostels.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet. Great breakfast.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauro Calzone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011 Mauro would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fabulous hostel, always sparkling clean. Staff are great and extremely helpful with tours and help with booking buses etc. which we found a big help. Very easy to meet people, decent breakfast, great kitchen and facilities. They cooked an asado on Fri night which was delicious.

Disliked: Only thing in the double rooms the road can be a little noisy. But nothing to do with the hostel itself. Loved our stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalie Fouquet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2011 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding friendly stuff! Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing!