We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Iguazu Waterfalls Hostel

Hostel | Avenida Brasil 24, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina 3370

59.3% Overall Rating

10 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

"Good location, and on the plus side, it was quiet. But that was also what made it a very, very weird place to stay."

Read all Iguazu Waterfalls Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Iguazu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Iguazu

Cabañas de la costanera
10.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Strada
7.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
residencial la esquina del bambu
10.62 USD

Guesthouse 78.9% 101 reviews
Hostel Stop Dorm & Suites
7.08 USD

Hostel 62.1% 88 reviews
El Guembe Hostel House
9.44 USD

Hostel 77.8% 102 reviews
Residencial Noelia Hostel
8.05 USD

Hostel 82.7% 61 reviews
Tupã Hotel
62.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residencial Uno
9.44 USD

Hostel 68.6% 358 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.3%

Overall Rating

10 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Iguazu Waterfalls Hostel'

Atmosphere
48.3%
Location
78.3%
Facilities
45.0%
Cleanliness
53.3%
Staff
65.0%
Value
60.8%
Safety
64.2%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Mathias Jensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2014

Liked: The wifi was alright. The breakfast was alright

Disliked: Everything almost! -They did not clean the room when the other persons from our dorm left -The staff was not helpful, they hardly spoke any english. (i know it is a spanish speaking country but this was just insane, one of the receptionists didn't even know the word "key") -You had to go to their sister hostel to get breakfast. -The lounge area sucked! -It was kind of creepy, because the hostel seemed kind of abandoned. -The pool was empty -The service was equal to zero.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: Good location, and on the plus side, it was quiet. But that was also what made it a very, very weird place to stay.

Disliked: It's weird. For a giant 4-floor hostel, there must have been fewer than 7 guests staying whilst we were there, and we can't imagine it usually gets many more, especially not in winter. A giant bar area and common room, pool area, (broken) pool table and so on were empty, unusable, and run down. Entire floors of empty dorms, some full of junk and broken furniture, seemed pretty creepy indeed. The hostel didn't offer breakfast despite advertising a massive spread, warm (not hot) water took 20 minutes of tap running to arrive, and blankets and towels were musty (and sometimes mouldy). The advertised TVs, air con, and wifi in all rooms wasn't accurate. The kitchen was completely putrid and ill-equipped - an old rusty unsealed freezer masquerading as a fridge, 1 gas stove without gas bottle, 1 electric stove very rusty and hardly working, gross microwave that must not have been cleaned for some time, and nothing in the way of pots, pans, or utensils. I feel bad for the staff that have to work there! Not surprised at all they weren't keen on customer service. They didn't know we were coming at all despite making a reservation - but this was not really a problem considering how many free rooms there were. Beware!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014

Liked: There was 1 friendly girl called Miriam at the reception

Disliked: Didn't feel comfortable there at all! Unhelpfull staff, they didn't even have a map of Iguazu. No curtain at the shower...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2014

Liked: It is located central in puerto iguazu. Former che legarto hostel.

Disliked: Open entry, everyone may step in and may get to the rooms. Stuff is not helpful and only able to communicate in spanish. No curtain in shower, so complete bathroom is under water after showering. Warm water is a miracle on this place. Sheets are not cleaned up, after complaining 2 times, we were able to change the sheets by ourselves. Pool is in a very bad condition. Billard is wrecked. Internet computers are wrecked. Offered breakfast is below all standards (at least argentinian hostel standards)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rhiannon Ledger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: near to bus terminal

Disliked: poor kitchen

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014

Liked: Location. Pool was nice but small. Bed is ok

Disliked: No lockers as advertised. Sheets are dirty and have holes. Staff have no English and no attempt to help understand. Emailed to ask for directions and got address as reply. Kitchen is like a bomb hit. No facilities. Anything that is there ia filthy. Not even a cup to drink from. Wifi unreliable. Bathroom not good! Broken taps and hole in the floor. A normal person would hit their head in the rail which should hold a shower curtain but doesnt. Also we were told by the nice guy sharing our room not to leave any valuables in the room as his stuff had been searched through by some staff (he was positive it wasn't those sharing his room).

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jacqui Hudson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014

Liked: Nothing at all, absultly gross.

Disliked: Everything, unhelpful staff, dirty rooms, I wouldn't even let my dog stay here

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013

Liked: The rooms are air conditioned at night and we had cable TV. There was ONE friendly (more mature) lady at reception. It's well located near cafes and restaurants, the bus station is about a 5 minute walk away.

Disliked: Where do I start? This place is more like a run down hotel than a hostel with ZERO atmosphere. With one exception, the staff are disengaged ?bored and generally unfriendly. Wifi only works on the ground level and 1st floor (where the dorms are located) and is not available in the private rooms. Our shabby room cost us US $60 / night - complete rip off. The door to our room was difficult to open and close and we couldn't shut the bathroom door at all. We tried to get hot water on 3 separate occasions from the shower with no luck, so we didn't shower at all. The breakfast is ok but don't expect any service with a smile. The pool was drained. My partner cut his hand on broken glass that had been left unattended on the patio ledge when it was dark. I went out there for a cigarette after the cleaner had jammed the door open whilst she was mopping. She then angrily slammed the door shut and gave me a filthy look when I came back inside - completely unprofessional! The whole place needs renovating and the staff could do with some training in customer service. We couldn't wait to leave and would NEVER go back.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Blumenfeld

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was unbelievably great. They were so hospitable, very knowledgeable, and did not hesitate to help me out when I had an issue the first night of my stay. The front desk staff was great as well as the cleaning staff. The location was spot on and very easy to get to shops, restaurants, bus terminal, etc. Overall, very few complaints.

Disliked: The hot water was unreliable. In three days (and three attempts) I was only able to take one hot shower which was a bummer. The WiFi was also really slow and barely useable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MARLON OLIVEIRA

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

11 June 2013 MARLON would recommend this property

Liked: In general everything was good.

Disliked: Sometimes there wasnt hot watter and restroon tap wasnt working properly.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013

Liked: Priced for budget travellers, with a private bathroom included.

Disliked: We didn't attempt to have a shower as it was just a shower head over a drain, which would have been fine, except the surface was level I.e. nowhere for the water to drain off. If we had showered we would have flooded the bathroom.