HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Poramba

Hostel | Calle El Urú 120, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina 3370

84.9% Overall Rating

44 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/07/2014)

jayne Fraser thinks…

"The owners and staff were very, very lovely and helpful. Ping pong was fun and the pool looked nice. Only complaint is the mosquitoes which can't be helped! They even got us a hot croissant and…"

Read all Poramba reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Iguazu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Iguazu

Hostel Bambu Mini
18.31 USD

Hostel 81.5% 13 reviews
Jasy Hotel
17.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.4% 83 reviews
Iguazu Royal
18.31 USD

Hotel 86.1% 16 reviews
Hostel Park Iguazu
12.21 USD

Hostel 75.0% 248 reviews
Guest House Puerto Iguazu
12.21 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Residencial Uno
10.99 USD

Hostel 68.6% 358 reviews
El Guembe Suites
9.15 USD

Guesthouse 73.3% 3 reviews
Iguazu Waterfalls Hostel
8.54 USD

Hostel 60.2% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

44 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Poramba'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff ping pong table in reception

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jayne Fraser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2014 jayne would recommend this property

Liked: The owners and staff were very, very lovely and helpful. Ping pong was fun and the pool looked nice. Only complaint is the mosquitoes which can't be helped! They even got us a hot croissant and coffee for us when we had a 6am transfer pickup.

Disliked: jayne left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A

Disliked: A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kikue Takayama

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Kikue would recommend this property

Liked: All staff in the hostel were super friendly and very very helpful!! They know exactly what we need in terms of information and also take care of our concerns. Good breakfast!!

Disliked: Kikue left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really nice and clean place. We enjoyed ou stay.

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hosts. They even saw us waiting at the Argentina-Brazil border and gave us a lift to Foz do Iguacu after we checked out of the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, quiet hostel, cheap.

Disliked: Hostel feels cramped together, our room was small, dusty and not so clean. One night we discovered a cockroach, which was immediately taken away by the staff. We could not open the window because of the broken mosquitonet and the wasps outside. The airconditioner helped, but made a lot of noise. Private bathroom is a wetroom. The swimming pool was dirty. Location is ok, but mainstreet hostels might be better. All in all, we would not go back here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Lloyd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, quiet, extremely friendly helpful staff, nice pool too to relax in after a day of sightseeing

Disliked: Nothing, all good!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anne Koskinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014

Liked: Staff were great, lovely and eager to help. Unfortunately though this is probably were the good things end, and we have traveled a lot and seen a lot of good and bad places.

Disliked: Well, firstly the room. The bed was quite uncomfortable (probably not the worse what we've seen), the mattress was old with hardly any support. The room was not cleaned once (which I normally would not mind, but when you are not allowed to throw toilet paper in the toilet, I'd expect the bin in the bathroom to be changed at least once over 4 nights. The room also had a musty smell. The shower arrangement is a little annoying with no curtain, but something you can live with. Then there is the information given by the staff, which i am sure was not intended to cause any harm and it didnt for that matter, but... the advise we were given about crossing into the Brazil side of the border was wrong, as were the cost and times of the buses to both the Argentinian and Brazil side. The pool looked to have seen better days and to top it off, there were dogs barking outside our window every night, suppose there's not much they could have done about that. Shame - with a little updating the place could be ace!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Thi Viet Hai Do

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014

Liked: good location near bus station.

Disliked: lack of cleanliness/hygiene, staff could not speak english. pool needed to be cleaned.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is really nice and breakfast is great

Disliked: Bathrooms in sharing rooms are not good or comfortable

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet whn we were ther which was nice as we wanted to have an early night. The breakfast was really lovely. So great to have a change from the typical breakfast of breadrolls. We had croissants and pastries. The pool is nice too, surrounded by hammocks. The kitchen was good too, a lot of space. Our room was huge too. The biggest 6 bed dorm i've seen on my travels.

Disliked: We were told no one else would be in our room but someone else turned up when we were out for the day (I guess its not the hostels fault though) but as there were no lockers we were bit anxious of our valuables being left in our room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to bus station. Very very very nice and lovely staff. Cool kitchen.

Disliked: Room a little musty/damp...but it is so humid in Iguazu I think you find this everywhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, everything! Staff, the clean pool, all was clean, quiet. After check out we could still use the pool, the showers. A real good place to just chill out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, pool, friendly and helpful staff, quiet and relaxed atmosphere, close to bus station

Disliked: Bathroom - toilet is literally in the shower, there's nothing separating it and you have to squeegee the water after showering

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms with average and bathrooms, the biggest benefit of this hostel were the staff who were incredible helpful in regards to the falls check in was easy. Hostel is situated in a quiet and pretty part of town not too far from the centre

Disliked: Water wasn't running properly at the start but after telling the staff they sorted it out quickly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philipp Plogmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2014 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at this nice hostel for serveral days. After travelling in Argentina for about two months this hostel is definitely in the top three of all hostels we´ve stayed in. You wouldn´t find a better or friendlier staff in Argentina! And the hostel itself is just lovely and cozy. Chilling in the beautiful garden and its clean pool after a long day at the waterfalls is just amazing. The rooms are good, air conditioning works perfect and the private bathrooms (in every room) are cleaned every day. You´ll meet many nice people there, can take part in a table-tennis tournament with the staff or ather travellers or just relax in this quiet environment. All in all it was just the perfect place for us to spend a great time in Puerto Iguazú.

Disliked: Philipp left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Elliot-Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Professional staff, a/c in room, clean, spacious enough for a hostel, very quiet

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Irving Smith

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2014 Irving would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet clean and pleasant location Nice little pool area Helpful friendly staff

Disliked: Can't close the door! Can't lock toilet door Only 1 key (which went walkabout) People boozing in room (I guess that's not hostel's fault)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

matthias toulotte

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 matthias would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the staff very helpful and fluent in English, the breakfast, the swimming pool and hamacs, the ping pong tournament organised by the staff

Disliked: Frequent problems with water and hot water in the evening (sometimes no water at all)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roza Kozina

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Roza would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff - very friendly and welcoming (especially smily Veronica:), will give you some good tips about visiting Iguazu NP and the town itself. We didn't use the kitchen, but it's fully equpipped Good location - 8 mins walk from the bus station, but in a secluded, calm neighbourhood.

Disliked: Rooms a bit small, but clean and with AC (I'm not sure if all of them though). Some more furniture apart from the bed would be helpful (a chair and a cupboard for clothes). Everything else is great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and informative. Especially Veronica!! Gracias :)

Disliked: n/a

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Akihisa Suzuki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 Akihisa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room and facilities are clean and tidy. Good atmosphere to chill out. The distance from the center of the town didn't matter to me. I think I would choose this place if I visit Iguazu again.

Disliked: The shower needs a curtain or something to stop the water spreading all over the bathroom. But it's still good place to stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Beaumont

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great accommodation, private rooms at low cost prices. Very close to the bus terminal. Staff were very helpful in providing information about iguazu falls making the day stress free. Even have a couple of tips about what to do first to avoid the crowds. Thanks!

Disliked: Kitchen was outside with no walls so mosquitos were biting while we were cooking and eating

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff super friendly- quiet and lovely garden

Disliked: would have liked a fuller brekfast and access to computers- although I have borrowed the staff cpmputer