HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of residencial la esquina del bambu

Guesthouse | Fray Luis Beltran 345, Villa 14, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina -

78.7% Overall Rating

84 out of 100 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Victor Organero thinks…

"Friendly staff, good location and vest value around the area where there are lots of hostels."

Read all residencial la esquina del bambu reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Iguazu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Iguazu

Hostel Stop Dorm & Suites
7.06 USD

Hostel 62.1% 88 reviews
El Guembe Hostel House
8.24 USD

Hostel 77.8% 102 reviews
Residencial Noelia Hostel
7.41 USD

Hostel 86.1% 57 reviews
Tupã Hotel
44.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cabañas de la costanera
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Iguazu Waterfalls Hostel
7.65 USD

Hostel 59.3% 24 reviews
La Strada
7.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Guest House Puerto Iguazu
11.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

84 out of 100 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'residencial la esquina del bambu'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 98 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hjalte Meilvang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Hjalte would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpfull staff, they insist on telling you everything there is to tknow about Iguazy !Deffinitely a place to stay. And the kitchen is well equiped

Disliked: There are no security lockers - but they will offer to store your valuables for you

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012

Liked: Location was quite good and there was a nice terrace to sit at in the evening

Disliked: My friend got electrocuted by a live light that appeared to be off in the bedroom. The shower was either freezing or boiling and nothing in between. The breakfast was worst we had in brazil, just bread and caramel spread. Host has poor English which resulted in us nearly missing our flight after attempting to book transport through her

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: These guys are all about the safety of your belongings. Im a cycle tourist and i locked my bicycle up outside. When i went to the toilet in the middle of the night, i notcied that my bicycle was not there. i rung the doorbell to get their attention and they kindly put it inside their common area. Thanks guys i really enjoyed your helpfulness and kindness during my stay

Disliked: I enjoyed my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are friendly, helpfull and flexible. The double room was simple, but clean, comfortable, with good working airco and quet. You can use the kitchen, fridge, computer, garden.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012

Liked: It felt homey and the woman in charge was helpful and accommodating. She let us leave our bags for the day and allowed us to have breakfast on the day we arrived.

Disliked: The power went out a couple of times throughout our stay, once in the middle of the night - shutting off the a/c and forcing us to try to sleep in very hot conditions.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lorraine Bligh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: This is a family run hostel and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The information given about Iguazu Falls and how to get there was really good. It felt more like a home away from home than a hostel.

Disliked: Lorraine left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bonnie Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: The property was nice, quiet and relaxing. The lady who runs it does,t spek much English but she still manages to help you out very well.

Disliked: It,s a little bit of a walk as its just off the main strip but otherwise great location.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

oded fossfeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 oded would recommend this property

Liked: the place has been recently renovated we stayed in a double room which was clean & comfortable very friendly owners! poor breakfast

Disliked: oded left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice owner, she helped us and even let us shower after we checked out without hesitation!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012

Liked: Owner was very friendly and helpful, bed was comfortable and had good showers.

Disliked: Our bedroom was facing a hallway light and there was a window without a curtain, really bright, can't sleep for the first night. Had to tape it up w newspaper. Third night there, neighbour was having a wild party, and was really loud for the whole night. Hostel owner didn't do anything yo try to resolve the noise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Prescott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: A good value in a touristy town (near Iguazu falls), the value is good. The dorm had lovely air conditioning, and there is even a grill available for cooking.

Disliked: no lockers in the dorm.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Elise Tailhardat

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012

Liked: It was available... No and really the staff were really nice and helpfull.

Disliked: We stayed in a double room with private bathroom. The room was not really clean nor the bathroom. The hostel is ok but we just thought it was a bit expensive for the place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rhiannon Griffin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Rhiannon would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners who gave us lots of information and advice on the area. Good location, small but clean and simple rooms with air con which was fantastic especailly after a long day at Iguazu! Simple breakfast but as much bread as you could eat.

Disliked: Only one shower between the rooms which meant you had to wait sometimes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were both friendly, polite and helpful. They gave me lots of tour information, then when I said I don't have much money, told me how to get to Iguacu Falls on the public bus instead (turned out to be convenient & cheap) .. despite forgoing their own commision. Air-con in the dorm was very welcome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yuehong Fan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Yuehong would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff (a family), one of the best I've met in my two-month travel in South America.

Disliked: There were not that many people the day I stayed, so even though there is only one bathroom, it wasn't a problem at all.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Brenton James

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Brenton would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quite place with friendly staff, close to the centre but it´s not a very big town anyway, basic accomodation really but the air conditioning was very welcome.

Disliked: Your not allowed to use the kitchen after 6, which isnt very good if your at the falls all day and don´t get back till late and the restaurants in town are a bit pricey if you´re on a budget

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great quiet hostel within walking distance of the centre and bus terminal. The hostess was really nice and helped us in every way possible. Good room with good shower. They have a washing machine to wash your clothes

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ralph Warren

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 Ralph would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean hostel, relatively cheap

Disliked: Breakfast is basic, use of kitchen not at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Prescott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the AC dorm room was the best value in town. Best of all, they had a grill available for use. Internet is pretty fast, and you are two blocks from all the restaurants and clubs. The patio area also was a great place to meet and chat with fellow travelers.

Disliked: There were no lockers in the dorm room, so you have to trust your fellow travelers to be respectful of your valuables.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are simple but clean. The hostel is close to the bus terminal in a quiet area of Puerto Iguazu. There is a fully equipped kitchen which you can use. Staff is generally nice and hardworking. Also a great place to meet fellow travellers.

Disliked: There are only 2 bathrooms and one shower, so in the evening when everyone tries to have a shower it's a bit of a hassle. There is one negative thing I have to say about the staff: in general they were very helpful and did the tour bookings for us. But we had a flight scheduled for 7 pm one evening from Foz de Iguazu and we asked whether it would be enough time to do a tour on the Brazilian side of the falls. The agency itself lied to us and the hostel staff about it (never go with Roa.Tours!!) and said it would work out but the hotel staff told us they booked this tour about 100 times a year, so they should have known, too, that they never return before late in the evening and that we could have never made it. Thus, this tour was a desaster: first, they "forgot" to pick us up from the hotel, we were rushed through the falls national park before they finally realised we would never be back in time for the flight (as the tour also includes shopping in Paraguay and the Itaipu dam), so they just dropped us somewhere in Foz de Iguazu, needless to say, we did not get any refunds for the 2/3 of the tour we were not able to do. I don't blame the hostel staff completely because Roa.tours lied to them, too, but they should have known if they book this tour so often.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms are small but comfortable. The breakfast is very good and the staff is friendly, helpful and nice to chat with.

Disliked: The shower is functional but a bit primitive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bronson Valpied

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Bronson would recommend this property

Liked: The family who run the hostel are such beautiful, friendly and helpful people, always with a ready smile. They invited me to their NYE bbq dinner, which was a really special experience for me. A number of years ago, they started this hostel with nothing, originally relying on donations from travellers. They are still working on the place every day, constantly cleaning and painting. They are really proud of how far they have come and I am so happy that the money from my stay in Puerto Iguazu will go to them.

Disliked: Bronson left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked this hostel. The owner is a great woman and works hard on the hostel. They were remodeling two rooms while we were there. We liked the location because it was quiet and close to the bus station. Air conditioning was our best friend.

Disliked: There were a lot of bugs, be we figured it was because we were in the jungle. Bathroom needs improvement and the stove was hard to work. It needs some work, but it felt like a real Iguazu experience so we liked it

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Room was not cleaned every day

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Audre Biciunaite

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011

Liked: Friendly staff, location not too bad (10min from the bus terminal). Fairly spacious rooms, free wifi. Quiet; good for sleeping.

Disliked: Bathrooms were terrible. Only one shower for all travellers,and it's really tiny: almost no space to put your stuff, only the towel hanger. Even the toilet had no lid on. Reception speaks hardly any English. Poor breakfast. Many little bugs everywhere. Hostel staff have been cleaning all the time, but there still were bugs hiding underneath the AC unit in our room. No security. The room had a sort-of key, but with 4 other travellers in the same space it makes little difference. No lockers. Everything valuable had to be left with the staff, and the room they used for storage was often left unlocked. Kitchen cooker required extra skill. I managed to make it work once; all the other times I had to find the reception lady to lit it for me. Summary - not "absolutely awful", but wouldn't stay here again. There are much better-looking hostels around!