We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Stop Dorm & Suites

Hostel | Av. Victoria Aguirre 304, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina 3370

62.1% Overall Rating

61 out of 88 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2014)

Shaeufta Khursheed thinks…

"Location is walkable to bus station although the town is smAll so nothing is too far"

Read all Hostel Stop Dorm & Suites reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Iguazu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Iguazu

residencial la esquina del bambu
9.44 USD

Guesthouse 78.9% 101 reviews
El Guembe Hostel House
8.85 USD

Hostel 77.8% 102 reviews
Residencial Noelia Hostel
7.43 USD

Hostel 82.9% 60 reviews
Tupã Hotel
55.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cabañas de la costanera
11.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Iguazu Waterfalls Hostel
14.75 USD

Hostel 59.3% 24 reviews
La Strada
7.08 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Guest House Puerto Iguazu
11.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.1%

Overall Rating

61 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Stop Dorm & Suites'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
67.2%
Value
57.6%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Shaeufta Khursheed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014

Liked: Location is walkable to bus station although the town is smAll so nothing is too far

Disliked: Saw huge cockroach in storage room near everyone s bags. Kitchen was filthy and fridge freezer was so old. No air con so the place was sweltering and the lounge area was full of flies very unpleasant. The mixed dorm flooring was falling apart, parts of carpet missing and the bed alloted to me ( staff didnot even show me which bed or which room just the floor number!) had not been cleaned. Staff were either talking amongst themselves or in the lounge ( if you can call it that) eating and watching tv, not a thought to clean the area where they were sitting which was filthy.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Andres Norena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014

Liked: Nothing!!! Avoid at all cost!!

Disliked: I was resigned to a "partner" hostel which was the worst I've ever stayed in. Super dirty, no lockers and robberies occurred, terrible, slow and weak wifi, lousy breakfast far from described, unusable nasty swimming pool, common kitchen with no decent fridge, and no pans, pots or utensils whatsoever nor cleaning supplies to clean after yourself. Worst ever!! :@

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronica Augusto

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 January 2014 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: The location. It has air conditioner.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

lina zhao

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 lina would recommend this property

Liked: location,

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013

Liked: Not alot

Disliked: Not very clean,unhelpful staff,no lockers even though it was advertised on website and breakfast was in a different hostel down the road.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Diego Cepeda

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2013 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: zona centrica de la ciudad

Disliked: no sirven el desayubo en el lugar

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012

Liked: Good central location

Disliked: The hostel advertises that it has a pool but the pool is actually at a different hostel around the corner. The hostel was full of Israeli travellers and we were made to feel quite unwelcome due to our non-Israiliness. The staff weren't particularly helpful and the kitchen was poorly equipped.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Felizitas Boehler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Bathroom, "Gosthostel", Breakfast in another Hostel

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Bruno Gazzoni

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 November 2012

Liked: Price and location. Just that.

Disliked: ATTENTION: I read some bad opinions about the hostel, especially the one regarding bed bugs, but decided to go further anyway. Bad mistake. If i were you, I wouldn't ever consider stoping at this place. I've been in Puerto Iguazu a handful of times, and there are lots of better places to stay. Don't stay with them, seriously. They describe themselves as a relaxing and comfortable place, but the bathroom was plain nasty, and sometimes without hot water. The beds were the worst part. They were completely full of bugs, which kept biting us all night long and sucking our blood. My girlfriend got a lot of ugly hashes on her skin, and they kept her from sleeping at all on the last night of our stay. The air conditioning wasn't working and we couldn't open the window, for the gave us a room just some feet away from a very noisy machine. The view from the window was just some machinery and lots of concrete. The breakfast was also very economic and the restaurant not that clean. The swimming pool was dirty and half empty, completely unusable. In my three days stay, the bar wasn't open even once, and there just didn't seem to be more people in the hostel, making it a really cold environment. One particular person from the staff was very uneducated when we complained about our bad experience with the bed bugs, and then tried to double charge us for the stay at our check out, since we had already paid on arrival (they didn't allow us to check in before paying). Even though they didn't give us a receipt, they asked for one at the check out. Luckily I was brazilian and travelling by car, so I could solve the situation without paying twice for my stay. But I'm sure this is a common practice of the hostel, as some foreigners are late for their flights and will have no option besides having to pay them again.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012

Liked: Good location few blocks from bus terminal but Puerto Iguazu is so small anyway.

Disliked: The staff were pretty indifferent to us and gave us the worst room which had an old stained.carpet which was literally filthy, there were old toothpicks and bits of food everywhere. You had to ask them to turn the ac on at reception and they kept turning it off, even though we didnt use it that frequently anyway. Coffee at breakfast was just water!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, a lot of tour offers.

Disliked: In the room we are recommanded to not use the air conditioning to "save" the rainforest, but we didn't have a fan and when we opened the window there was the air conditioning of the store beside that was making a really big noise!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natalia Grin

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 July 2012 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Location, nice breakfast included in price,not bad WiFi, terrace

Disliked: it was impossible to sleep all night long because of crazy mopeds speeding along the streets as the hostel is on the crossroads

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've been to Stop Hostel 3 times now and I recommend it for a great budget stay in Puerto Iguazu. There's a chill atmosphere, the staff is very nice, they have a basic but good breakfast, and the wi-fi is fast. I would stay at Stop Hostel again.

Disliked: The only things I disliked about the property was that some of the covers are stained and don't look clean/nice. Also the water pressure in the shower isn't great in some rooms. It would also be nice to have wi-fi throughout the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great bang for your buck... awesome breakfast, friendly staff, relatively clean, good location..

Disliked: The kitchen was small and crowded, and rooms were carpeted (a bit dirty).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: cleanliness and noise

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 March 2012

Liked: Price.

Disliked: Bed bugs, bed bugs, bed bugs. In the last 3 years I've traveled to 41 countries on 6 continents, staying in cheap hostels the entire time. So yes, I know bedbugs come with the territory, but never, ever, have I seen an infestation like this one. After the first night I gave the staff the benefit of the doubt, took their advice and simply changed rooms. Yet once again, turning on the light at 2 a.m. revealed more bugs than I could count. The biggest problem is, and the reason I'm writing this review (something I've never done), is the fact that the staff at Hostel Stop were completely unapologetic and gave NO indication that they were going to do ANYTHING to remedy the situation. After all, they sleep elsewhere, and so should you.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Cecilia Larsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012

Liked: Good breakfast! Nice location!

Disliked: Bedbugs in the beds!! We changed bed and find it in 6 beds. Disgusting! we had to check out after 1 night and change hostel! Don´t go there!!!!!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

eric rolfe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012

Liked: it had lockers in dorms and the location was ok and the breakfast was good.

Disliked: dirty rooms, more beds in dorms than advertised

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xiaoxiao feng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 xiaoxiao would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast. tidy rooms working air-con! and friendly staff and loacted right opp. the info center. can't really go wrong

Disliked: xiaoxiao left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Treby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: cool hostel, decent common areas and nice terrace, big and clean. wifi good. very close to the centre of town.

Disliked: it would have been nice to be shown around when i checked in, i found out as i was leaving that there was a pool available for guests across the road but the staff member checking me in showed me my bed and that was it. this happens far too often!! i also got bed bugs from the hostel but these things happen and i would still recommend the hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Birgit Vollmert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011

Liked: ...

Disliked: It´s more like a hotel than a hostel, just lots of rooms and no character

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was good and they offered good tours for the falls and decent information about buses. breakfast was quite good, cereal and freshly baked bread rolls.

Disliked: it was not very clean. the carpet in the rooms were disgusting and needed replacing. bathroom was never cleaned during our stay, all they seem to do is make the beds but dont change sheets. no pillow cases so had to use towel to avoid sleeping on a grubby pillow.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cheapness!!! We met lovely people, were in the centre of town.. went to clubs that were recommended and cheap through the hostel.. we ended up in an esnuite even though we didnt ask for one! and the caiprinhas (dont know how to spell) were really good and cheap.

Disliked: kitchen facilities.. but no biggie.. if you need sleep this place is noisy. but we didnt find that off putting at all!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, breakfast, atmosphere, staff, so good.

Disliked: they move my stuff because then have no planification on updating the bedrooms for maintenance, was the worse thing to think somebody touch your baggage.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sofie Petts Sabine

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011

Liked: Cheap and breakfast was good, juice and cereal insteadof just bread etc.

Disliked: The dorm we stayed in was nothing like the pictures we had seen on hostelbookers. 4 bunks in a cramped room, no room to move. Shower was cold and water dribbled out. Bathroom dirty. Not enough duvets for all beds, 2 girls slept under their towels! No pillow cases on the pillows, have to cover with my scarf as the pillow was brown. Kitchen facilities were basic but was put off cooking when I found mice droppings in both the mugs on the shelf and the saucepans. We have travelled extensively and don't mind roughing it but the poo put me off. Very cheap but not a nice hostel to return to after a great day at Iguazzu.