HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Guembe Hostel House

Hostel | Av. Guarani Esquina, Gob. Lanusse, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina 1000

77.4% Overall Rating

83 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/10/2013)

Radek Dostal thinks…

"Very friendly staff, the room and shared facilities were clean and location was just two blocks from the center. Additionally there was a decent computer for people to use."

Read all El Guembe Hostel House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 1.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Iguazu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Iguazu

Timbo Posada
12.49 USD

Hostel 86.1% 494 reviews
residencial la esquina del bambu
9.99 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 97 reviews
Hostel Stop Dorm & Suites
12.49 USD

Hostel 62.1% 88 reviews
Residencial Noelia Hostel
9.18 USD

Hostel 86.9% 45 reviews
Tupã Hotel
31.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cabañas de la costanera
10.62 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Iguazu Waterfalls Hostel
8.74 USD

Hostel 61.2% 22 reviews
La Strada
7.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

83 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Guembe Hostel House'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 73 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014

Liked: garden

Disliked: bathrooms were dirty, stuff not really helpful

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Loukas Manesis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Loukas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, great garden

Disliked: Not the cleanest place I've ever been to.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Radek Dostal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Radek would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, the room and shared facilities were clean and location was just two blocks from the center. Additionally there was a decent computer for people to use.

Disliked: There was no room for luggage storage, it was just left next to the stairs (nothing was stolen) You had to pay for the use of the locker. The second bathroom had only cold shower which was almost above the toilet.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big garden with pool, good ambience

Disliked: Kitchen was not good equipped, dorm was really small and private room with bathroom really humid/smelly. In the sugar and kitchen were small ants.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Churm

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff. Feels very homely. Big kitchen, good internet, TV, nice location, brilliant shower.

Disliked: No real dislikes though you get a few ants in the kitchen, but this doesn't really bother us.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ralph Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2013 Ralph would recommend this property

Liked: Good value stay in Puerto Iguazu. We had a private room which was clean and spacious with en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was ok,

Disliked: The air con in our room didn't really have much life left in it. Possibly wouldn't be great if you're not a Spanish speaker and looking for a lot of advice about the area.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They hava aswimming pool. Breakfast is good with home made pie and fresh fruit ! Staff is very helpful

Disliked: Just a fan in the dorm but not on the ceiling, so not everybody enjoys it ! Most customers are REALLY young and messy, and rooms are small - just for you to know

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and the yard is nice, I took a dip after a hot day at falls. Distance to bus station is only about two blocks.

Disliked: Not enough toilets/showers considering the amount of guests. Kitchen has some equipment for cooking, but finding them from the mess is a lot of work.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and character and braekfast

Disliked: location and facilities

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 October 2012

Liked: Receptionist was a nice guy and very helpful when I had the problem mentioned below immediately cleaning up the room and ringing for assistance and he readily only charged me for one night when I left 2 nights early. By the way I can't remember re Qn 7 so answered 'yes'.

Disliked: . I checked in, tripped twice up the stairs falling on my knees because the risers vary significantly in height, to find I'd been given a room with no window. The receptionist said there were no others available. However when I indicated that it was horrible and I'd go elsewhere, a suitable room was found. Well just how suitable? I put up with a few mozzies, the fact that I had to buy my own toilet roll, and the fact that I had to close the windows because a stray possum was wandering around the place. Breakfast this morning was average for the country - some stale bread with dolce de leche (a caramel made from condensed milk - national favourite) spread. Later whilst sitting on the toilet I stretched over the wash basin to grab said toilet roll whereupon the wash basin detached itself from the wall, fell to the floor, shattering, and water spurted from the broken pipe flooding the bathroom and slowly spread into the bedroom. The toilet roll being now like wet papier mache, I used the jet of water as a sort of bidet, pulled up my wet trousers, paddled out into the bedroom, donned my wet clothes, grabbed my backpack and checked out.... having stayed one night only, instead of the intended three

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the music (jazzy, very different lounge music to have playing)

Disliked: Couple of cockroaches nothing in the kitchen, but otherwise good.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and accommodated our very limited spanish by translating.

Disliked: Kitchen facilities were limited

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the bus station, which is great after a long overnight bus. The kitchen is great and feels like someone´s kitchen. The beds are really comfy and we felt our things were secure. The staff were as helpful as they could be with a slight language barrier, and when I wandered around for ages trying to find a postbox the receptionist offered to post them for me instead.

Disliked: The bathroom although mopped regularly smelt of urine and there were cockroaches but I only saw them once. There is also only one shower or the other one is over a toilet which makes it hard to use, so you sometimes have to wait for a bit but I never had to wait that long. It is a little difficult to sometimes communicate what you want to know to the receptionists when your spanish is limited, but they were very patient and tried their best to understand what you wanted.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2012

Liked: Breakfast was quite nice, lockers available for safe-keeping and good outdoor area. Great location for the bus stop.

Disliked: The room was very cramped, the staff were pretty lethargic, the kitchen was messy. The atmosphere was almost non-existent.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arie Pechersky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 Arie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, good atmosphere.

Disliked: The private bathroom is really small

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convienient as its located near the bus stop

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: swimmingpool, nice staff, breakfast, hammock

Disliked: bed was terrible old, bathroom very small

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a nice chilled out atmosphere

Disliked: dorms a bit cramped and could be cleaner

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Agnes Szabo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Agnes would recommend this property

Liked: Grand place to stay. Convenient for the bus station meaning easy access to the falls. Right beside town. Great wifi. Nice clean private room. Good kitchen facilities. No complaints!

Disliked: Agnes left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Valentina Gorshunova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff, swimming pool, hammocks

Disliked: The first night the conditioner was out of order and it was hot in the room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool

Disliked: Had to pay for Wifi is annoying, Breakfast was a little odd but ok. Advertised Ho.la! card but had no idea how it worked. Staff limited english

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, hammocks, A/C in rooms, garden, quiet rooms. All at a good price.

Disliked: Security is not really there for dorm rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect atmosphere, clean nice place. Beatifull garden with pool.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, it is close enough to the bus station, but by far one of the further away though... Gave me a big room, but right next to kitchen & is noisy.

Disliked: Staff cannot speak English & can't help to make taxi transfer to airport. I was trying to make reservation for toure and thought they would have done this several times, but the staff was sure of the packaged deal & thought I would have to pay them when actually, I have to pay the tour operator. Wasted a lot of time trying to figure things out. Room was noisy as mine was right next to the kitchen.