HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Guembe Hostel House Puerto Iguazu Hostel

Avenida Guarani/Esquina Gobernador Lanuse, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 68%

Location 85%

Safety 75%

Staff 80%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 1.07USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Iguazu?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 68%

Location 85%

Safety 75%

Staff 80%

Value 80%

Showing 11-4 of 4 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Receptionist was a nice guy and very helpful when I had the problem mentioned below immediately cleaning up the room and ringing for assistance and he readily only charged me for one night when I left 2 nights early. By the way I can't remember re Qn 7 so answered 'yes'.

Disliked: . I checked in, tripped twice up the stairs falling on my knees because the risers vary significantly in height, to find I'd been given a room with no window. The receptionist said there were no others available. However when I indicated that it was horrible and I'd go elsewhere, a suitable room was found. Well just how suitable? I put up with a few mozzies, the fact that I had to buy my own toilet roll, and the fact that I had to close the windows because a stray possum was wandering around the place. Breakfast this morning was average for the country - some stale bread with dolce de leche (a caramel made from condensed milk - national favourite) spread. Later whilst sitting on the toilet I stretched over the wash basin to grab said toilet roll whereupon the wash basin detached itself from the wall, fell to the floor, shattering, and water spurted from the broken pipe flooding the bathroom and slowly spread into the bedroom. The toilet roll being now like wet papier mache, I used the jet of water as a sort of bidet, pulled up my wet trousers, paddled out into the bedroom, donned my wet clothes, grabbed my backpack and checked out.... having stayed one night only, instead of the intended three


The property's response is

ALL THAT SAYS THIS CHARACTER IS A LIE!
LEFT WITHOUT PAYING THE HOSTEL

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good vibe

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the location and the music (jazzy, very different lounge music to have playing)

Disliked: Couple of cockroaches nothing in the kitchen, but otherwise good.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

The truth that what you did not like was not understood.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is very close to the bus station, which is great after a long overnight bus. The kitchen is great and feels like someone´s kitchen. The beds are really comfy and we felt our things were secure. The staff were as helpful as they could be with a slight language barrier, and when I wandered around for ages trying to find a postbox the receptionist offered to post them for me instead.

Disliked: The bathroom although mopped regularly smelt of urine and there were cockroaches but I only saw them once. There is also only one shower or the other one is over a toilet which makes it hard to use, so you sometimes have to wait for a bit but I never had to wait that long. It is a little difficult to sometimes communicate what you want to know to the receptionists when your spanish is limited, but they were very patient and tried their best to understand what you wanted.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were very helpful and accommodated our very limited spanish by translating.

Disliked: Kitchen facilities were limited

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Breakfast was quite nice, lockers available for safe-keeping and good outdoor area. Great location for the bus stop.

Disliked: The room was very cramped, the staff were pretty lethargic, the kitchen was messy. The atmosphere was almost non-existent.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice, clean, good atmosphere.

Disliked: The private bathroom is really small

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very convienient as its located near the bus stop

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: a nice chilled out atmosphere

Disliked: dorms a bit cramped and could be cleaner

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: swimmingpool, nice staff, breakfast, hammock

Disliked: bed was terrible old, bathroom very small

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability