We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Guembe Hostel House

Hostel | Av. Guarani Esquina, Gob. Lanusse, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina 1000

77.8% Overall Rating

83 out of 102 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/10/2013)

Radek Dostal thinks…

"Very friendly staff, the room and shared facilities were clean and location was just two blocks from the center. Additionally there was a decent computer for people to use."

Read all El Guembe Hostel House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 1.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Iguazu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Iguazu

residencial la esquina del bambu
8.83 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 100 reviews
Hostel Stop Dorm & Suites
7.07 USD

Hostel 62.1% 88 reviews
Residencial Noelia Hostel
7.42 USD

Hostel 82.9% 60 reviews
Tupã Hotel
55.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cabañas de la costanera
9.42 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Iguazu Waterfalls Hostel
7.66 USD

Hostel 59.3% 24 reviews
La Strada
7.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Guest House Puerto Iguazu
11.78 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

83 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Guembe Hostel House'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 74 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, it is close enough to the bus station, but by far one of the further away though... Gave me a big room, but right next to kitchen & is noisy.

Disliked: Staff cannot speak English & can't help to make taxi transfer to airport. I was trying to make reservation for toure and thought they would have done this several times, but the staff was sure of the packaged deal & thought I would have to pay them when actually, I have to pay the tour operator. Wasted a lot of time trying to figure things out. Room was noisy as mine was right next to the kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011

Liked: It was very close to the bus terminal, and it was clean. Comfortable bed.

Disliked: The receptionists speak very little English. My room was absolutely freezing as there was no heater. The shower floods the bathroom. The common TV is very small & static.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marcos Duque

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money! We had a flight cancellation and the staff was very friendly and helpful with us.

Disliked: The rooms are a bit old, and one night it poured with rain and some water got into the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus station

Disliked: Our room wasn´t as described, we booked a double room and got a dorm room (although only us in there) in what appeared to be a converted garage. The ensuite bathroom was really poor, the door didn´t shut properly and the shower was really weak. The breakfast was also very poor just bread and coffee.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the bus station

Disliked: for 1 night its ok

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Garden and swimming pool were great. Close to bus terminal.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms. Need to fix flooding problem in main bathroom as the area around the toilet floods with water from the shower area becaues it does not drain properly. Restricted kitchen hours, and limited cooking equipment. Swimming pool needs to be kept clean daily due to rubbish from trees. Garden furniture needs replacing as half of it has broken.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2011

Liked: It was near the bus terminal.

Disliked: The worst and really scary experience we had was that a man came in our room in the middle of the night although he didn't sleep in the hostel. This shouldn't happen in a hostel that people from outside that are no guests can enter unseen the rooms. The man who runs the hostel didn't at least say sorry for the inconvenience. Moreover, we didn't get the room we booked, a four bed dorm, but a 6 bed dorm. On top of that, the staff was rather unfriendly and in the end, we had problems to pay the price that was displayed in hostelbookers.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatiana Korobova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Tatiana would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel like a cottage among jugles! Quiet place in the city, ON the territore there is swimming-pool. At the evening you can sit near in the garden or lay in the hammock, drink mate and see the heaven with many stars!!! Its realli relax place to stay! Tha for people who love tropical nature!!!

Disliked: dislike? no, i like!!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ilona Brooks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable rooms with air conditioning and TV (we were in a double), very close to town and the main bus terminal going to Iguazu falls.

Disliked: Bathroms weren't the best, though better than some we have come accross.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and garden with palm trees is nice.

Disliked: On second day the shower wasn't too reliable, but finally we all got clean.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the closeness to downtown and to the bus station

Disliked: I did not like that was not so clean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Good location. Good value for, money.

Disliked: Detachmen.t

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent value for money. staff were helpful and location was ideal to go to iguazu falls. kitchen good but basic, we were able to cook but is also nearby to a couple of restaurants.

Disliked: bathroom needed a clean and the shower leaked. it is shared with a lot of people.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: overall good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 February 2010

Liked: Nice bedrooms and garden, however, there were only two bathrooms for everyone so we had to queue to use them and they weren't really clean. The pool area is really nice but the pool could do with a good cleaning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly, rooms are airconditioned but very small. Breakfast is ok: coffee, bread, butter and jam. Good hammocks in the garden. Very cheap!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, beds quite comfy, we got free internet too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, clean and cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful friendly owner who arranged all trips to the falls. We had an excellent time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, close to the bus terminal, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

abeyta bridget

05 March 2008 abeyta would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for one night, was less than 5 mins from bus terminal, friendly staff helpful with tours, but a little vague.Booked tour to Iguazu Falls which included transfer to & from the park, however ended up not being picked up and had to make our own way back from park.However, nice kitchen, nice garden with tropical plants, hammocks & also a small pool which was very clean.

Disliked: abeyta left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a pool, which is great in Hot Puerto Iguazu;we met very nice people there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good and calm atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 January 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 December 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.