HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Neuquen hostels

Reviews of Hostel Portal de Sueños

Hostel | Pilar 3257, Neuquen, Argentina -8300

77.7% Overall Rating

21 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/11/2013)

James Smith thinks…

"I stayed one night at Portal de Sueños enroute to San Martin de los Andes. The bed in the 6-bed dorm was excellent and Juan at the front desk was helpful getting me squared away. I was grateful…"

Read all Hostel Portal de Sueños reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Neuquen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

21 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Portal de Sueños'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed one night at Portal de Sueños enroute to San Martin de los Andes. The bed in the 6-bed dorm was excellent and Juan at the front desk was helpful getting me squared away. I was grateful that Portal de Sueños had frozen food, beer/wine available for sale since I arrived after 10:30 p.m. following a 12+ hour bus ride and there were no restaurants/markets nearby that were open. The hostel location is within walking distance to Neuquén’s bus terminal.

Disliked: There were no lockers in the 6-bed dorm room, so security could be an issue on a longer stay. The Portal de Sueños breakfast earned 4.0 points on my 10-point scale for ‘healthy/nutritious breakfasts’, with its oranges for juice squeezing and fresh-brewed coffee and tea choices. (Some more whole grain bread/roll/cereal alternatives and more fruit -- bananas, mandarin oranges, apples -- would improve Portal Sueños’s breakfast.) But Portal de Sueños needs to improve its walking instructions to its hostel to say that once you exit the bus terminal, the main street in front of the terminal is 'Teniente Solalique St', and you go to the RIGHT to reach Pilar St. Unfortunately, the instructions were vague, there were no street signs identifying 'Teniente Solalique St', and no one on the street after 10:30 p.m. to ask instructions.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close proximity to the Central Bus Station in Neuquen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice and conventient place to stay for a night or two while travelling through. The staff is helpful and friendly. They offer a very nice breakfast. They even made cake for breakfast - and real coffee(-;

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dirk Köbler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff, close to the busstation

Disliked: No lockers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for! The best place to stay, if you want to visit dinosaur places(what else can you do in Neuquen)!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, they made me a good deal on a private room when a reservation cancelled. Comfortable bed, good cable TV, cold Heiniken, fairly quiet. Helpful staff for visiting locan dinosaur museums.

Disliked: No real complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bart Liong Ie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Bart Liong would recommend this property

Liked: Very handy to break a long busjourney. Walking distance from the busstation in quiet area. Snackbar nearby. Or use the kitchen of have a meal at the busstation. Very friendly. Cosy common areas.

Disliked: Dorm and bathroom could be some cleaner, but it´s definitely not a mess.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Bartholomew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good Wifi and lots of hot water. It within easy walking distance to the major bus station. The staff, particularly Daniela, were super helpful, and very happy people. Some English is spoken, which helped a LOT for me.

Disliked: There was nothing dislike. It's a solid hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + Warm room (winter). + Average breakfast. + Excellent wifi in the room.

Disliked: - Trip to the dinosaur "park" was too expensive for us. - Much noise in the hallway. - Early check-out.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kevin Wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: no

Disliked: it' just close bus terminal, but it's far away from downtown city with 3 or 5 kms

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2012

Liked: Only the Staff¡

Disliked: Not Clean...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012

Liked: Tv in the bedroom and free wifi.

Disliked: Hostel was functional but just had an odd atmosphere and didn't seem like a place travellers would go to. Very stilted atmosphere in a quiet residential area only close to the bus station and pretty far out of what's going on in town. Staff seemed uncomfortable in person with customers but ok on email.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Mulder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Hosts (young couple) are extremely friendly (owner speaks excellent English!). Ask them for the Dino tour. We would highly recommend this place. Its not in the Lonely Planet yet but they should be in it! Its also very near to the bus station.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carla Mota

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: The location for me was perfect because is very close to the bus station. Neuquén doesn't have many thinks to see, so I explore the paleontologic sites on nearby. I location next to the bus station is the best option if you are doing this. If you wnt to stay in the city center this is not the place. The hostel had wi-fi, kitchen, computer with internet. It's a good choise.

Disliked: Nothing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 April 2011

Liked: It was very close to the bus station.

Disliked: It was very noisy at night and there was no clear information about any possible trips around Neuquen.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was only here for one night, but the staff were really helpful and helped me get to McDonalds. The breakfast was really good, fresh hot toast with jam and cereals with COLD milk. The shower was really warm to.

Disliked: There were no lockers in the room and only one bathroom that i came across

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, close to the bus terminal

Disliked: small breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and friendly - even so Neuquen is a quite place to be they give you advice how to not waste the time...

Disliked: The rooms are really nice and welcoming, however the bathrooms need a little renovation. However, I was told that the couple, who owns the place, is improving the place step by step, so this might have changed by the time you come here ;-)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 January 2011

Liked: -

Disliked: location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Business / conference

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING

Disliked: NOTHING


See all Neuquen hostels