HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Chimbas Hostel

Hostel | Cobos & Acceso Este, Mendoza, Argentina .

89.3% Overall Rating

125 out of 143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"Loved it here! Very close to the bus station. The guy that checked us in (Lorenzo?) tall guy with curly brown hair, was absolutely amazing and really helpful, told us everything we needed to know and was just a great…"

Read all Chimbas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Hostel La Puerta
11.80 USD

Hostel 69.8% 34 reviews
Casa Pueblo Hostel
11.21 USD

Hostel 88.6% 25 reviews
Savigliano Hostel
10.03 USD

Hostel 81.1% 8 reviews
Hotel Aragon
14.39 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.9% 22 reviews
Hostel Lao
17.70 USD

Hostel 94.5% 123 reviews
Alojarse Em Mendoza
14.75 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 27 reviews
Hostel Mora
9.44 USD

Hostel 91.3% 187 reviews
Estacion Mendoza
9.44 USD

Hostel 76.1% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

125 out of 143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chimbas Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 110 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaclyn Savage

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super friendly and it was dry clean

Disliked: Jaclyn left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it here! Very close to the bus station. The guy that checked us in (Lorenzo?) tall guy with curly brown hair, was absolutely amazing and really helpful, told us everything we needed to know and was just a great staff member that really done his job well. If he woked for me I would pay raise him!!!! Our room was incredible and considering we had stayed in a private room before at other hostels in this area, this private room was cheaper and amazing! Had a tv in the room whereas the last hostel we stayed at in the private room didnt even have that and was more expensive Would 100% recommend this property. Is not a party hostel, but is a good, relaxed, chilled out vibe

Disliked: NOTHING!!!!!!!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014

Liked: Beautiful building. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Didn't love the location as it seemed a far walk to most things from here (real grocery store, restaurants and many sights). Also the internet didn't work for half of my stay which was really disappointing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ronald Mackintosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: Met a lot of nice people staying here nice relaxed feeling about the place. Booked 7 nights stayed 9.

Disliked: WiFi kept dropping signal. Owners tried to resolve problem but still giving them problems

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Pettitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel - would definitely recommend staying here. Excellent location near the bus station, about 20 mins walk to the city centre. Staff very helpful with all the info you need about the local area, large rooms and comfy beds. Big kitchen and outside terrace area too. Great value.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful, providing help with booking excursions and even let us check in early and have breakfast after our overnight bus trip. Kitchen facilities were excellent, and there are large communal areas. Our double room was huge and had cable TV.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, but if you are looking for a party atmosphere this is not the place to stay. It was lovely and peaceful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arely Gonzalez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Arely would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant Hostel! The house is beautiful with a big Kitchen and eating area and a very pretty garden to relax in. The garden also has a decent sized swimming pool to cool off in on those hot Mendoza days. The guy in charge is very pleasant, professional and extremely helpful. We had a problem with using our cards at the ATM and he went well out of his way to help us. This Hostel has many organized trips available and are very good value. We took a wine tour for about 20usd and for that we were picked up from the hostel by a air-conditioned bus with a guide and taken on tours of two vineyards both with tasting and an olive oil factory again with a tasting. The bedrooms at this hostel are very nice and clean and for a couple of extra dollars they have air-conditioning. This Hostel is so good we have used it again on our second visit to Mendoza.

Disliked: Arely left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived on the day of our booking at 7am off an overnight bus. Our room was ready so Claudio allowed us to check in and get a few hours sleep. When we woke up breakfast had finished but Claudio got everything out for us again. On our final day we checked out at 10 but spent the day in the courtyard by the pool. Very friendly and helpful. Location is a walk to centre of Mendoza but not too far and very convenient for the us station to move on or go to wine regions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely b&b place, very clean, great kitchen and lovely garden. Breakfast is just toast and jam but it amazing bread and unusual marmalades! Staff are very nice and helpful - if you want a homely place to hangout, this is it.

Disliked: Quite far away from centre of Mendoza so on a Sunday when everything shuts it can be a good 30min walk to restaurants/shops. There are a few restaurants and shops nearby and is close to the bus station but necessary to do a long walk or bus ride to main area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramona Bordeian

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Ramona would recommend this property

Liked: This is thebest hostel we had so far. Thankyou very much for your kindness. The owner Claudio and his team do absolutely everything for you to feel comfortable.

Disliked: The property is very beautiful, it has a fantastic garden and pool. You see, that everything is done and planned professionaly and with taste. You can really relax and enjoy your stay in Mendoza here. it is a little far away (the cab is about 3-4 euro), but around the corner to the estacion. It is not that noisy as the other hostels we stayed inn. The only thing missing is a hammack :-) I felt a little bit like in a castle, yet the pricewasmorethen affordable. In comparison to the hostels in the city you pay less, but get more: more space, more relaxing time, a beautiful house, clean bathroom and rooms and a perfect service 24h.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steffen wennekes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Steffen would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful people. Nice patio/ garden to hang out. Cleaned and spacy rooms. Good restaurants nearby.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hans-Juergen Zemke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011 Hans-Juergen would recommend this property

Liked: Small and cosy, staff helpful and friendly. Quiet and safe place. Nice garden.

Disliked: nothing

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: When I got there on december 24th at 3h30 pm, a few minutes before everything started closing for christmas, I was offered a twin room with 2 little tiny beds for my girl friend and I, when I booked a double private. The employee there told it all he could give altough it was a mistake because the other double rooms he had where double ensuite. I said it is your responsibility to provide me with was I booked and Im not the one who should pay the price. Well after having me waiting for 30 minutes to get in touch with the owner, she decided, the OWNER, the give my deposit back instead of a room!!!!! I tough it was absolutly unprofessional from there part and I hope noone will go to this facility.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great CLEAN hostel. The staff very friendly, helpful, and bilingual. They were helpful at planning excursions and available 24 hours a day. It was very safe and close to everything. It really felt like home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angelica Caudillo

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Angelica would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and Cozy home, and the staff was awesome.. very helpful on things to do while in Mendoza.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the center.. but about 3 blocks from the BuS Terminal which was very convenient!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: far from the center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, would recomend to anyone looking for a relaxed stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy and clean

Disliked: the location

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne ter Avest

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2010

Liked: the nice and helplfull staff was good.

Disliked: it's a bit far from almost everty thing. Only the busstation in in the neighborhood. It's was to quiet for me, two of the three night i was the only guest.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

robert dilfer

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2010 robert would recommend this property

Liked: We've been traveling for 7 months in SA. This is a very nice hostel, like a mansion with antique furniture, super clean, nice hang out spaces, excellent gourmet kitchen ( just watch your head!). The 1 st night there were quite a few people here, but it felt very quiet, which we liked. After that we were the only ones here. Shower is super, bathroom was clean, and the heaters throughout are very welcome after freezing in the north. Dark bedroom allowed us to sleep in until almost 11am!! Yay!

Disliked: Location isn't ideal. Easy walk from bus station but we found it hard to find for some reason. A little bit of traffic noise but less than some places we've been in. A bit further from the center than most hostels, but walkable. Also a little more expensive than we normally pay but worth it!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really homely

Disliked: nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Spencer Bryson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2010 Spencer would recommend this property

Liked: We found Claudio to be the most helpful host we've come across during our time in Argentina. He goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and help make your stay in Mendoza a good one. And the brekkie and coffee is great too! Also very clean and nice, spacious double room.

Disliked: Spencer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Gazzi

09 June 2010 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantatic and really made you feel at home. It was like being in a lovely little house and had ll the facilities one would need. fantastic kitchen and living areas as well as outside patios a pool and a gym!

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only bad thing about the hostel is that it's a half hour walk to the centre, but for us as a couple it made it perfect for a quiet and enjoyable stay. It has been our favourite hostel in Argentina by far.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marc squires

07 February 2010 marc would recommend this property

Liked: nice place, lovely garden to relax and soak up the wine - however the vibe from staff was weird at best - you can live with that easier if you know its coming - recommended for value and although a fair walk to city (20 mins) not an issue - 10 mins to bus depot was good

Disliked: marc left no negative feedback.


See all Mendoza hostels