HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Casa Pueblo Hostel

Hostel | Pellegrini 377, Guaymallén, Mendoza, Argentina 5119

88.6% Overall Rating

23 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

Kali Kirkendall thinks…

"Casa Pueblo was a great find. Close to the bus station which takes you near to the wine country and hot springs or onward in your journey. They offer a great breakfast option of real coffee :),…"

Read all Casa Pueblo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Hostel La Puerta
12.20 USD

Hostel 69.8% 34 reviews
Chimbas Hostel
14.03 USD

Hostel 89.4% 142 reviews
Hotel Aragon
14.89 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.9% 22 reviews
Savigliano Hostel
10.37 USD

Hostel 81.6% 7 reviews
Hostel Lao
13.42 USD

Hostel 94.5% 121 reviews
Alojarse Em Mendoza
15.25 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 27 reviews
Hostel Mora
9.15 USD

Hostel 91.7% 186 reviews
Hostel Lagares
10.98 USD

Hostel 92.2% 174 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

23 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Pueblo Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kali Kirkendall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

31 March 2014 Kali would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Pueblo was a great find. Close to the bus station which takes you near to the wine country and hot springs or onward in your journey. They offer a great breakfast option of real coffee :), cereal and biscuits as well as eggs if you would like to make your own. The rooms are cleaned daily. The staff knows about tours and the area and are plentiful. You will definitely be able to speak with someone that shares similar interest. The common space is frequently tv filled but there is a patio out the back where you can relax and be outside and stay out of the often hot sun. It is small but nice. If you are into nightlife, it is just a few blocks from the center. Close to a great bodega.

Disliked: The only issue is that there are only three bathrooms which all have showers. So if, in the morning specifically, they are all filled. You may have to wait to shower or use the restroom.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a good atmosphere, a good place to meet others. The staff were really helpful and were able to organise any tours that you wanted. The free breakfast was also great!

Disliked: A bit of a walk to Mendoza City center but was close to the bus station.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dimitra Chatziioannidou

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2013 Dimitra would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in many hostels in Mendoza, but I really liked this one! It is small enough to sleep peaceful at night and big enough to meet other backpackers! Great beds, good location close to the bus terminal, friendly staff, good breakfast, clean and one of the cheapest I have found! However, a renovation in the bathrooms is needed and I think that the patio could be a nice place to hang around! I definitely recommend it to other travelers!

Disliked: Dimitra left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, very helpful staff, nice tour choice. Kitchen and facilities and ok, better than most places in SA. Supermarket and bust terminal to go to the wine areas are super close. A + for location could be a very nice winery nearby.

Disliked: When I stayed they were painting some rooms in the hostel so there was a some smell for a day.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was mostly quiet and staff were friendly.

Disliked: It was a bit small--our 6 person mixed dorm was right off the common space and we could hear everything going on--including people packing up bags at 3am, etc. Reception is not 24 hours--we knew before booking, but just a reminder! so you have to be in before 1 am.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just what I wanted!!

Disliked: Nothing!!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is small and you get to know other people very quickly. Perfect people traveling alone. The owners are super cool! Good times.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013

Liked: Not much really, maybe only the location (close to bus station).

Disliked: After one night here, I wonder why this hostel is so highly rated. When we got into our (private) room, we noticed a lot of mold on the walls. When we complained, we were told nothing will happen if we don't touch it and they can only offer a dorm if we wanted to change the room. They also told us they were closing at the end of the month for renovation, as if that would make it better for us. We weren't too convinced a dorm would be any better and we wanted a private room anyway, so we stayed, since we were only here for one night anyway. At least they covered the mold behind the headboard of the bed. Next was trying to cook dinner - gas pressure dropped considerably in the middle of cooking pasta, to the point that it just kept the water in the pan warm. I asked what was wrong and I was told this happens once in a while and nothing can be done against it. Finally the pressure came back and I managed to finish cooking. Cooking in general can be challenge because of the small amount of pans and the fact that most of them look very old and not very hygienic. There are just 2 bathrooms, one male and one female, but they also have showers inside so if someone is taking a shower you might be in for a long wait if you just want to use the toilet. Breakfast is a joke - corn flakes, milk, tea, coffee, biscuits and some sort of cake. This is probably the worst breakfast we've had in the past month we've been travelling through South America. Also, with just 2 tables in the common area and everyone using their tablets and laptops during breakfast, it can be difficult trying to find a place, especially around 10 and 11 am.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pichter Lourenzo

Alone

City break

17 March 2013 Pichter would recommend this property

Liked: The style, the staff, it's clean and not a party place where you cant sleep at night. I am staying longer here, in fact, because after a long travel it's nice to find a place like this to relax. Other people who are staying here seem to be of the same opinion. Great place to make friends over a beer. Great place overall.

Disliked: Maybe they need to fix some things in the patio, the owners are saying they are planning to do this over the low season. They take a good care of the place, I think they will have success with it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lau Pak Him

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Lau would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very friendly. We arrive at 03:30am that supposed check-in was not possible, but the owner wait until we arrived and open the door for us. Also they have a lot of informations for the activity and tour.

Disliked: Location. It's far away from Centro, but supermarket and reasonable priced restaurants are nearby so it's not a big deal for me. However, it's not far away from the bus terminal so it could be an advantage if you arrive so late like we did.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicia Malamud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the colorful style that continues to the rooms. I got the female room that was very comfy with a free locker. Bathrooms are surprisingly clean for a hostel. The area is very quiet and safe and you can take the bus to the mountains or wineries in the bus terminal (5 minutes away). The center is at walking-distance, maybe 10 minutes away. The best: a supermarket 2 blocks away!

Disliked: It has only one computer for guests and some people stay too long and I had to wait 30 minutes until I could use it.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013

Liked: The 2 english speaking staff were excellent and wifi was good. However, that was it.

Disliked: I booked this hostel soley based on previous positive recommendations but I´m surprised they stayed in the same hostel that I did. The beds are not clean - I had multiple bites after one night. The 6 bed female dorm is cramped with only small lockers so there is insufficient room for 4 never mind 6 people. Also, mattresses are torn and dirty and pillows are disgusting. It´s a shame as the staff are really helpful but the rooms really let the place down. Also, the room is never locked and the doors are premenently left open so not only is security poor, there is no privacy from the main hostel. Location - this is in the wrong part of town, on the wrong side of Mendoza. It is only convenient for the bus station. Everything else is a minimum of 15min walk which is fine until you have to walk back late at night. The area in and around the bus station is not great, especially for single females.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice people

Disliked: not enough bathrooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: This was the friendliest hostel we have stayed in. The couple running it we so so lovely, helpful and friendly. They would organise regular bbq's and organised a trip out to the vineyards, accompanying us. Its a walk into town but the walk is nice and felt safe. There is loads of info in the reception about excursions and the couple are fantastic at English!

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ariel Woscoboinik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2013 Ariel would recommend this property

Liked: People were friendly, the place is clean and secure and Mendoza it's an excellent place to stay! I like it a lot.

Disliked: Nothing, i had a great time there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Meagan Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2013 Meagan would recommend this property

Liked: Great owners, nice set up, good kitchen, BBQ on offer some nights was really great. Good showers. Close to the bus station.

Disliked: A little walk from the centre, but no big deal. Beds could be updated, but also wasn't a big deal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful owners. Friendly atmosphere, relaxing stay. Quiet location close to bus station, walking distance to center of Mendoza

Disliked: kitchen a bit small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Sanders

Alone

City break

31 December 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly the staff and the cleanliness, along with the personal feel and relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing really. It's a 15 minute walk from the centre, but I actually liked this as it's in a more relaxed area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Kohl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The new owners Vassily and Yael are a lovely couple who made our stay at their hostel very enjoyable. During our 6 day stay they had 2 BBQs, made a chocotorta for Christmas and spent Christmas day in the park with us. They also provided good information on things to do in Mendoza and generally are well organized!

Disliked: The common area could maybe do with more comfy couches, but considering how things are constantly being improved at the moment, this may soon be remedied.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evgeny Borovin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2012 Evgeny would recommend this property

Liked: If you are just travelling and have no exact plans, just go with this hostel, cause they have plenty of tours. I took the bike one along the city and the next day (actually I dont know how did it happen :) once I"m afraid of the height) we went for skydiving! no comments - just awesome!

Disliked: They dont give much info on the web about the tours, so i just booked for a couple of days, but it could be a week instead. The shower is a bit humid in the rush hour. Worst coffe ever.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Azzoletti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Il ostello è proprio bello dentro! Mi piace tutti li colori, anche poltroncine sono organizzate in un giro piccolo da parlare. Bagno: 10 su 10, perche tutto è nuovissimo e pulito proprio! Bravi! Altri ostelli sono poco di piu vicini a centro, ma c'e solo 5-10 minuti di differenzia per andare a piedi.

Disliked: MOLTO IMPORTANTE: c'è una gelateria dall'altra parte della strada! Finita la figura...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Downs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Nice! I rented almost a new bike right there and went around the city. The colors of the rooms are warm and comfortable, definetly liked how was the lounge organized and pretty friendly and talkative atmosphere there. Special thanx to the owners for their travelling advices.

Disliked: The coffe! The most important thing is the coffe in the morning, but i found only the instant one, not the beans. Frustrated! anyway thats my personal

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iris Harper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Iris would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice hostel with young owners who are the staff as well. I loved a lot the atmosphere of adventure, because all who came there were not just boring city visiters who goes in a museum at a daytime and then drink alone untill they dont remember how did they get back in the morning. there were mostly mountain hikers or real around the continent travellers, so i really enjoyed talking to them in the evening.

Disliked: They didnt have cosy utensils in the kitchen, but promised that ordered already.


See all Mendoza hostels