HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Casa Pueblo Hostel Mendoza Hostel

Pellegrini 377, dpto Guaymallen, (next to a big winery), Mendoza, Argentina

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 79%

Safety 89%

Staff 97%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 5.33USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 79%

Safety 89%

Staff 97%

Value 91%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Casa Pueblo was a great find. Close to the bus station which takes you near to the wine country and hot springs or onward in your journey. They offer a great breakfast option of real coffee :), cereal and biscuits as well as eggs if you would like to make your own. The rooms are cleaned daily. The staff knows about tours and the area and are plentiful. You will definitely be able to speak with someone that shares similar interest. The common space is frequently tv filled but there is a patio out the back where you can relax and be outside and stay out of the often hot sun. It is small but nice. If you are into nightlife, it is just a few blocks from the center. Close to a great bodega.

Disliked: The only issue is that there are only three bathrooms which all have showers. So if, in the morning specifically, they are all filled. You may have to wait to shower or use the restroom.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the review!
Hope you are enjoying the rest of your travel

-V&Y, the owners

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had a good atmosphere, a good place to meet others. The staff were really helpful and were able to organise any tours that you wanted. The free breakfast was also great!

Disliked: A bit of a walk to Mendoza City center but was close to the bus station.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the review!
Have an unforgettable time in South America!

-V&Y, the owners

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I have stayed in many hostels in Mendoza, but I really liked this one! It is small enough to sleep peaceful at night and big enough to meet other backpackers! Great beds, good location close to the bus terminal, friendly staff, good breakfast, clean and one of the cheapest I have found! However, a renovation in the bathrooms is needed and I think that the patio could be a nice place to hang around! I definitely recommend it to other travelers!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quiet, very helpful staff, nice tour choice. Kitchen and facilities and ok, better than most places in SA. Supermarket and bust terminal to go to the wine areas are super close. A + for location could be a very nice winery nearby.

Disliked: When I stayed they were painting some rooms in the hostel so there was a some smell for a day.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Just what I wanted!!

Disliked: Nothing!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you!
Have a great trip.
-V&Y

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel was mostly quiet and staff were friendly.

Disliked: It was a bit small--our 6 person mixed dorm was right off the common space and we could hear everything going on--including people packing up bags at 3am, etc. Reception is not 24 hours--we knew before booking, but just a reminder! so you have to be in before 1 am.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!
Thanks for your review. We are trying to keep the hostel as quiet at night as possible and the atmosphere as friendly as it can get. It´s our main idea, that´s why we have it. We are sorry about the 1 AM thing as one of our staff was on a leave due to exams. At the moment it´s 24/7, backed up by 2 more people for the night, so it does not happen again. And of course you can come back at any time.
Thanks for the kind words and hopefully see you soon!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is small and you get to know other people very quickly. Perfect people traveling alone. The owners are super cool! Good times.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the review!
We are glad you have had a good time. It's the most important for us.
Have a fantastic travel!
-V&Y

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not much really, maybe only the location (close to bus station).

Disliked: After one night here, I wonder why this hostel is so highly rated.When we got into our (private) room, we noticed a lot of mold on the walls. When we complained, we were told nothing will happen if we don't touch it and they can only offer a dorm if we wanted to change the room. They also told us they were closing at the end of the month for renovation, as if that would make it better for us. We weren't too convinced a dorm would be any better and we wanted a private room anyway, so we stayed, since we were only here for one night anyway. At least they covered the mold behind the headboard of the bed.Next was trying to cook dinner - gas pressure dropped considerably in the middle of cooking pasta, to the point that it just kept the water in the pan warm. I asked what was wrong and I was told this happens once in a while and nothing can be done against it. Finally the pressure came back and I managed to finish cooking. Cooking in general can be challenge because of the small amount of pans and the fact that most of them look very old and not very hygienic.There are just 2 bathrooms, one male and one female, but they also have showers inside so if someone is taking a shower you might be in for a long wait if you just want to use the toilet.Breakfast is a joke - corn flakes, milk, tea, coffee, biscuits and some sort of cake. This is probably the worst breakfast we've had in the past month we've been travelling through South America. Also, with just 2 tables in the common area and everyone using their tablets and laptops during breakfast, it can be difficult trying to find a place, especially around 10 and 11 am.


The property's response is

Hi guys. It's a pity that your stay has not gone so well.We are sorry and thank you for your opinion; however, could it be that you came here on a wrong foot?
This would explain that you saw 2 bathrooms instead of 3, 2 tables instead of 4. If you insisted on staying in that bedroom instead of a dorm, we think your room was not so bad. The pans are the same that most of us have at home: may not be brand new, but it is definitely clean and works. Pity you couldnt see us like our other guests.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The style, the staff, it's clean and not a party place where you cant sleep at night. I am staying longer here, in fact, because after a long travel it's nice to find a place like this to relax. Other people who are staying here seem to be of the same opinion. Great place to make friends over a beer. Great place overall.

Disliked: Maybe they need to fix some things in the patio, the owners are saying they are planning to do this over the low season. They take a good care of the place, I think they will have success with it.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owners were very friendly. We arrive at 03:30am that supposed check-in was not possible, but the owner wait until we arrived and open the door for us. Also they have a lot of informations for the activity and tour.

Disliked: Location. It's far away from Centro, but supermarket and reasonable priced restaurants are nearby so it's not a big deal for me.However, it's not far away from the bus terminal so it could be an advantage if you arrive so late like we did.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much!
It's important for us that you have had a good time. Thanks for your review.
P.S. It's just 8 blocks away from the main street and city center, a 10 minute walk, the advantage of that is that the it's much quieter here at night.
It was a pleasure to have you guys, once more, thank you for the review.

-V&Y

Check Availability