HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Hostel Mora

Hostel | San Juan 955, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

90.2% Overall Rating

171 out of 180 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

"They had lots of helpful information and even a wine tasting in the evening, great activities arranged by the staff."

Read all Hostel Mora reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Alojarse Em Mendoza
15.62 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 25 reviews
Modigliani Suites
58.71 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Lao
13.12 USD

Hostel 94.4% 120 reviews
Mendoza Backpackers Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 75.8% 45 reviews
Savigliano Hostel
10.62 USD

Hostel 78.6% 6 reviews
Estacion Mendoza
9.99 USD

Hostel 76.2% 43 reviews
Hostel Simplemente Mendoza
9.37 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

171 out of 180 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mora'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 179 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Needs more info on local restaurants and things in the area. Also noise curfew not enforced at all

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had lots of helpful information and even a wine tasting in the evening, great activities arranged by the staff.

Disliked: The dorms were really not great, very cramped and got very hot and sweaty when fully occupied.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderfully kind and helpful staff. A nice location and nice accommodation. I was very happy with the entire experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, the free wine hour brings everyone together. I made lots of friends!

Disliked: bathrooms aren't spectacular, but they're OK for a hostel. No air conditioning in some of the rooms, which was painful in the summer heat.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time at Hostel Mora! We participated in several of their activities (empanada making class, hiking trip, and asada dinner). The activities were a good vaiue for the money and very convenient. The Hostel provides many excellent services for free that most other hostels charge for (free wine every night, free use of the clothes washing machine, and really GREAT breakfasts).

Disliked: A few of the rooms don't have air-condioning, and when the summer temps reached 40 degrees, it was impossible to sleep in our dorm. If you are staying during hot temperatures, make sure you get an air-conditioned room.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lindo lugar, muy buen ambiente. Muy bueno en gral

Disliked: La habitación era un poco calurosa

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is an absolutely amazing hostel!! We stayed here for 7 night in November/December and we could not have been happier. I have stayed in over 40 hostels throughout Europe and South America and I can honestly say this was without a doubt one of the best ones that I stayed in. The staff is incredible! The nightly activities that they offer were awesome and a great way to meet other people. The location could not have been much better and the whole atmosphere felt clean and new but in a cute building with a lot of character. Both my boyfriend and I said that we could have stayed there for much longer. We will definitely be back!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felix Fach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2013 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Hostel!!

Disliked: Felix left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good, clean hostel located an easy walking distance from the bus station. Great breakfast and great value.

Disliked: Only real complaint is that the internet was unreliable and slow.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alan Pearson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really good at helping you sort out tours, activities etc. Within an hour of arriving we had a 5-days full of activities planned (including plenty of bodegas of course!). They also have loads of in-house things like barbecues and empanadas cooking classes (highly recommended!). The location is a 5-15 minute walk to the centre of town (depending on which bit of town you want!) on a safe street. It's also a 10-minute walk from the bus station (safe in daylight but probably take a taxi at night round the bus station).

Disliked: The Wi-Fi in our room was pretty sketchy but it was fine downstairs and we could usually get on one of the two computers anyway. The free wine 7-8 pm isn't great stuff - do yourself a favour and buy a 30-peso bottle somewhere instead. You're in Mendoza - there's no excuse for drinking sub-standard wine! This isn't a dislike of the hostel at all, but I had to put it somewhere. Before visiting Mendoza please google 'The Belgian guy who got robbed' - he's a well-known scammer in Mendoza who approached us near the hostel but we knew about him and walked away without parting with any cash. I think he mostly operates near the bus station.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Federica Gasparetto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Federica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was the cleanest I have ever seen in my life! It was amazing, very comfortable and very safe, made me feel at home. The staff was so caring and nice and helpful. Most of all Gonzalo was really nice and well prepared: he knew a lot of helpful stuff and was really precise about the information given. The shared rooms were fantastic, they even made us change at the last minute to a pricier one WITHOUT asking as for more money just because my friend prefered to sleep in a lower bed!!!. As the season was hot we had a ventilator going all night long! It was just wonderful! Toilets were so clean... like at home! And you get the free wine every night and a really good breakfast (you can even choose what you want to eat...) Thank you very much, I loved it at Hostel Mora and I would like so much to go back ther any time!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was more than perfect.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great hostel, we loved our stay at Hostel Mora :) the tours that they can help organise around Mendoza are fantastic, the breakfast is very very good and the staff are extremely helpful Thanks Kevin, Johana, Celeste and Gonzalo! Plus, there's a happy hour of wine every night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, spacious room with a balcony. Very friendly staff. Bathrooms were shared, but kept clean. Activities on offer every night an there were nice communal areas. Free use of washing machine and area to dry clothes. Good breakfast with eggs cooked to order.

Disliked: The bed was pretty uncomfortable, I think it probably needs a new mattress. Tan instead of juice for breakfast, but otherwise everything was very good!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Charlotte Verbeek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013

Liked: The breakfast, the possibility of booking every kind of trip you'd like and the variety of international people staying there.

Disliked: We booked a double room with double bed, but when we arrived we got put in a bunk bed in a room that wasn't any bigger than Harry Potter's broomstick closet! The guy behind the reception certainly didn't understand the difference between a twin and a double bed room! We cancelled our second night.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great activities on offer. The hike and asado were brilliant.

Disliked: Clean sheets and clean bathrooms but my dorm wasn't cleaned while I was there.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jana Silinkova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast - scrambled eggs, omelette or pancakes and then bread, medialunas and coffe, tea, cornflakes... The staff was really helpful and there are a lot of activities - empanada and mate class, bbq...and they also offer wine bike tours, trekking and horseriding.

Disliked: Jana left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susana Penida

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 July 2013 Susana would recommend this property

Liked: It is very nice and well located. Breakfast is great... i love panckes!!! It's got a kind of barbacue area outside which must be awesome in summer.

Disliked: My room wasbig but a bit cold!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Good variety a and quality at breakfast. Easy to organise tours with the hostel. Other people staying in the hostel were friendly so easy to meet people if your travelling alone.

Disliked: Hot water showers are very sensitive so at times during the shower you might get a cold patch. But majority of the time they were fine.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really excellent staff who make a big effort; there is an activity available nearly every day of the week. Our dorm room was large, and the beds were comfortable. Good location in the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Pearson

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast. Wi-Fi. Easy to book day trips. MALBEC. Kevin and Gonzalo are good people, very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who are very helpful and friendly. FREE breakfast which was great and included cereal, pastries, fruit, eggs, bread, tea, coffee, juice...huge! FREE wine in the evenings. FREE washing machine!

Disliked: Whilst the free washing machine was good, it was also an inconvenience. We had to wait 2.5 days to actually use the machine due to other guests doing multiple washes and leaving their clothes on the clothes line for too long, meaning their was nowhere to hang wet clothes. I would suggest a booking system where guests register to use the machine for a certain time period.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tolles Fruehstueck, sehr hilfsbereite und freundliche Mitarbeiter. Das Hostel ist vom Bus Terminal gut zu Fuss zu erreichen. Gemuetlich und gut ausgestattet.

Disliked: Nichts.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Gallagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels we have stayed in for our trip in South America. The staff were really helpful, especially Gonzales, Kevin and Ramona who made our stay there excellent.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved Mora Mendoza. The back patio was the perfect place to relax. The staff were more like friends by the end of our stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Mendoza hostels