We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Hostel Mora

Hostel | San Juan 955, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

91.3% Overall Rating

178 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Paul Andrew thinks…

"Friendly staff, lots of activities available, clean facilities, free wine at night!"

Read all Hostel Mora reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Alojarse Em Mendoza
14.75 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 27 reviews
Modigliani Suites
55.45 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Lao
17.70 USD

Hostel 94.5% 123 reviews
Mendoza Backpackers Hostel
9.44 USD

Hostel 74.2% 47 reviews
Savigliano Hostel
10.03 USD

Hostel 81.1% 8 reviews
Estacion Mendoza
9.44 USD

Hostel 76.1% 44 reviews
Hostel Simplemente Mendoza
12.74 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

178 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mora'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 186 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice spacious dorms, free glas of red wine, friendly staff, great breakfast!

Disliked: Smashed my foot and asked for some desinfectant but hostel didnt have a first aid kit, got some from other travelers though. Everything else was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Vorgod

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: A very good hostel. Nice breakfast (eggs, pancakes etc). Free spanish lessons. Free city tours (no tips expected). Free glass of wine. Beautiful garden - stay here!!!!

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location; activities on offer; size; breakfast; good vibe

Disliked: Kitchen a bit small for many people

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lusia Peçak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Lusia would recommend this property

Liked: Free wine tasting and Spanish classes. A real extra!

Disliked: In terms of cleanliness and atmosphere it's nothing more than average, compared to many other hostels I've stayed at.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel, friendly helpful staff, great breakfast, free use of washing-machine, computers, free empanada cooking class! loved our stay at Mora.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice outdoor space, good breakfasts, clean, secure, good staff, good wifi, lots of activities available

Disliked: slightlywifi slightly far from centre but wasn't too much of a bother

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really helpfull, nice garden, good breakfast included.

Disliked: Kitchen is in need of refitting (drawers jam, only 3 hotplates) And pots ans pans... like in most of the hostels in SA...worse than campinggear!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

shay li nery kurtz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 shay li nery would recommend this property

Liked: good location, everything within walking distance. the staff is very nice and helpfull, nice relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: only some of the rooms had AC, the address in the website was not correct

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcia Mundt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Marcia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had activities organized everyday from free wine tasting to spanish and mate lessons as well as tours of wine country and surrounding mountains.

Disliked: It was sometimes hard to get information from the staff about the 'local' way to do things, which is usually cheaper although naturally a bit more complicated.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: attitude of most of the staff and location

Disliked: The garden is the only place to escape the music played by some staff members. It is the place of choice for eating meals however, the minority of people who smoke are allowed to inflict their vice on non smokers before during and after the non smokers meals. the kitchen is in a very run down state and also badly in need re-equiping and re-furbishment. When these points were mentioned to the owner and one staff member I was told that this was a hostel and not a hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Nielsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked all the activities they put together for the guest. They arranged my two favorite nights in Argentina so far. The BBQ was amazing

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice backyard for relaxing, very good air-conditioning in dorm

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere, amazing breakfast and a pretty backyard

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARGARET RULLI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 MARGARET would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Mora was in the center of downtown Mendoza close to restaurants and super markets. They property of Hostel Mora was stunning and the garden/patio area was great for hanging our with hostel friends. The breakfast was great - they had fresh fruit, eggs, and dulce de leche crepes, which was such a treat after all the crap meals we got at other hostels in South America. The kitchen itself was basic but we still were able to cook meals in it every night. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable. Most importantly, they were air conditioned, which felt amazing after a long day touring wineries. Towel service was also available and the bathrooms were always kept clean. The hostel additionally hosts fun activities for guest. Some (like the asado and horseback tour) were expensive but we took the free wine tasting class and had a blast. And the free glass of wine a day basically rocked. Overall, a great stay!

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a fantastic location, you can walk from the bus station and to everywhere in town. The hostel has a free activity each evening including mate, wine tasting and empanada making. There also are able to advise (by fantastic staff) and book on a large number of activities/tours.

Disliked: The were beginning to put air conditioning in the rooms when I stayed. I asked to swap rooms to one with air conditioning part way through my stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and quiet, defo not a party hostel, friendly staff and very helpful. Breakfast is awesome!

Disliked: quite a lot of "old" people when I was there, not a party hostel and no pool

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All in all the hostel was great: really nice and helpful staff, good breakfast, free internet and washing machine, excellent BBQ twice per week and there's a wide range of activities available. Very clean facilities.

Disliked: We though that we had a booked a room with AC but there was only a fan in our room. Only the two Private Double rooms have AC.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hannah smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2012 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly and they can help you organise activities and give you advice. The hostel is spotless; I have never known cleaning staff to come in twice a day in a hostel but it is immaculate.

Disliked: The only thing you should take into account when booking a dorm room is noise as it is a busy road and the 6 bed dorm looks over the street.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The commen areas are very pleasant, the garden is lovely it has greenery and hammocks and tables and chairs everywhere. Laundry facilities and good internet.

Disliked: The private front room needs some work, ie. side tables - reading lamps (very poor lighting), some hooks or something. The front window in this room is by the entrance and there is a light on all night, so that window needs a curtain that blocks the light, and the noise from the gate being opened all night is disturbing. So try to get a room in the back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark brady

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 mark would recommend this property

Liked: this is probably the bet hostel we have stayed in during the last 2 months in South America. The staff were all fantastic, excellent breakfast, free washing machine, free international phone calls, free wine on arrival. The only way this hostel could improve is by having air con in the rooms, although this didn't stop us from booking in again when we returned to Mendoza

Disliked: mark left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing. It was great.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

aaron frombach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012

Liked: Nice place with good common area.

Disliked: Front room has windows onto loud road with no AC.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Louisa Forrest

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Louisa would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, free use of washing machine and good internet. Good range of tours and activities available, although as we only stayed one night we were unable to make use of them

Disliked: No aircon in the room - made it impossible to sleep on a hot summer night. It seems like some rooms do have aircon, but ours didn't, and it wasn't offered as a choice on booking.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Muir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel overall. Helpful staff. Good location both for the bus station (10 minutes walk) and the town. Carrefour supermarket about 7 blocks away. Some nice thoughtful touches - like providing bus cards for you to top up - avoiding the scramble for Argentine coins - and providing free Spanish lessons. I was there over Christmas and the hostel put on some good bbqs for that although they also feature outside the holiday season. A nice stay there.

Disliked: The only problem was in the 6 bed dorm I slept in at the front of the hostel. Plenty of room and good lockers but the traffic noise awful all the time. Apparently other rooms weren't affected so worth checking up if its that room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arman Sharif

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Arman would recommend this property

Liked: This was my favourite hostel in all of Argentina. I really enjoyed my stay at Mora. Carolina and Daniela were really friendly and very helpful in everything. Would recommend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Mendoza hostels