HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Hostel Mora

Hostel | San Juan 955, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

90.4% Overall Rating

172 out of 181 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

"They had lots of helpful information and even a wine tasting in the evening, great activities arranged by the staff."

Read all Hostel Mora reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Alojarse Em Mendoza
15.61 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 25 reviews
Modigliani Suites
58.71 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Lao
13.74 USD

Hostel 94.4% 120 reviews
Mendoza Backpackers Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 76.3% 46 reviews
Savigliano Hostel
10.62 USD

Hostel 78.6% 6 reviews
Estacion Mendoza
9.99 USD

Hostel 76.2% 43 reviews
Hostel Simplemente Mendoza
9.37 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

172 out of 181 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mora'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 180 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, clean room

Disliked: mor furniture in th eroom an more hooks in bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2012

Liked: Great breakfast

Disliked: Small hostel, can be very quiet AC in rooms don't work very well

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Dröschel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: +Nice staff +hamrocks and garden + Breakfast is awesome, pancakes and scrumbled eggs (which are prepared by nice girl) + AC in rooms

Disliked: - fridge is full of old, molty food --> please be more straight with control and throw out unnamed and not dated bags/food

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jimena Jobe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

26 November 2012 Jimena would recommend this property

Liked: Location is definitely one of its pros... So is the breakfast!

Disliked: Maybe the fact that it wasn't clearly stated that the bathroom was shared even in a private room...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Rothenberg

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2012 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with a great BBQ. They helped us plan a great day excursion and our single room was a great value.

Disliked: Not a very lively atmosphere during our three nights but we met a few nice people. Definitely a more chilled back place in our time there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice grill to cook on, close to everything.

Disliked: Toilets could be a litte cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Stephensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, comfortable, good activities, helpful staff. Good location, clean. So good we stayed on an extra night

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely big garden area with hammocks, great asado, very friendly & helpful staff, decent kitchen, they book tours & activities

Disliked: No female dorm, but when I asked they gave me a room with women only, so not really a complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel - lovely, sunny little courtyard for hanging out and great rooms. We stayed in a private - it was bunkbeds but cute and practically had its own private bathroom. The social side of this hostel is amazing - they have activities every other night and you get to meet so many people. We loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Kennedy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we stayed at in South America. All the staff were very friendly & helpful, best breakfast ever, including cereal, crepes, pastries & coffee. Fantastic location & different events every night, even free ones like wine tasting & empanadas making. Would definitely stay here again if I returned to Mendoza!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Smolen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing. You meet so many amazing people traveling from so many different locations around the world, and you definitely need to take advantage of the nightly dinners to meet others in the hostel. This was my first time in a hostel and I would come back here any other times I come to Mendoza.

Disliked: Loved everything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wine tasting, friendly staff, free washing machine, fast computers

Disliked: Room was basic and in need of a redecoration.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge locker in the 4-bed-dorm, great breakfast and staff, free wine in the evening, nice and free activities (mateclass!), wine tour wasn´t cheap but worth it, especially the lunch in a really local style place.

Disliked: -/-

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tyce Clee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Tyce would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great hostel, we loved our stay at Hostel Mora :) the tours that they can help organise around Mendoza are fantastic, the breakfast is very very good and the staff are extremely helpful. Plus, there's a free glass of wine every night for guests!

Disliked: Tyce left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fabulous. Comfortable, clean and spacious dorm rooms, good bathrooms, amazing breakfast and every day they offer a different activity which are sometimes free such as the 3 hour free city tour. The staff are really helpful. Although its not located directly in the city centre, a 5-10min walk gets you to all the important places and restaurants. One of the best value hostels we´ve stayed at in our 3 months in South America.

Disliked: The hostel says its provides parking but its not really car parking. If you have a bicycle or motorbike you can park it inside the front gates of the hostel, but if you have a car it will be parked on the street.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Larrivée

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had the best quality/value of my whole 2 months trip in Argentina. It was very beautiful and clean, and very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I was glad be able to speak in my mother tongue (French) with Keven. Also, the breakfast was the best I had in a hostel in my whole traveler life: croissants, eggs, pancakes with dulce de leche, cereals, good coffee, etc. For me, just the breakfast was worth more than what I paid to stay there. Also, the quantity of activities was very nice and the location perfect to visit the city.

Disliked: The ambiance wasn't as good as other hostels. I think it's because the tables have only 2 to 4 places, which limits the contact between travelers. Replacing them by bigger tables with more seating capacity would easily solve the problem. Also, the big gate at the entrance was intimidating at first...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel i've been to in my 10 month through latin america !!! friendliest stuff, good breakfast, very clean, awesome chill-out area with fireplace, free laundry, a lot of awesome free events, best overall value!

Disliked: nothing really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Mcmahon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012

Liked: It was really clean, and super cheap. The free breakfast is one of the best with choice of eggs or pancakes. We had to ask for the 'free wine'. I also stayed at a hostel on the bar strip, and while it wasn't as clean I preferred the location and atmosphere - staff all knew my name and were happy for a chat. The ladies that ran the mate and wine tastings were AMAZING. I would rate them ten/ten. Great for a good sleep as the rooms don't get affected by guest noise.

Disliked: The staff often just sat behind the desk and weren't overly friendly. They did their jobs and answered questions when asked, but it was the only hostel I stayed at in Argentina where the staff and guests didn't really mix. The location was pretty far from the bar/restaurant area but this is probably my own fault for not looking at the map before booking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Herbert Leung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Herbert would recommend this property

Liked: great location, staff helpful, free laundry

Disliked: Herbert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a lovely hostel with a great atmosphere. They are very welcoming and helpful. I particularly enjoyed the bbq night, which was great value for money, lots of meat and wine! Another good night was the empanada making class, good fun and of course you get to eat your work.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Couldwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, really great breakfasts - with pancakes and fruit, and they even gave us a little leaving gift to take on the coach, that was a nice touch.

Disliked: The room we had was right next to the dining area and we had to walk through it to get to the bathroom, but it wasn't noisy so it wasn't a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Gascoigne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2012 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, very clean, very safe atmosphere. Spacious bedrooms.

Disliked: Only problem was finding it! Not very well signposted and no one in town seemed to know where it was.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barry Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Perfect location in the centre within walking distance of all tourist sites. Very well organised staff and various night activities which are fun and free! We were given a free glass of wine and also won a bottle of wine. Plenty of showers & free laundry. One of the best hostals we have stayed in!

Disliked: Barry left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved Hostel Mora! Most of the staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the girl staff members - they were so cute and sweet. They were very helpful as we were booking our Andes tour and figuring out the Mendoza/Maipu biking. We stayed for 4 nights and our last night was free! Such a nice surprise. Another excellent surprise was the free nightly glass of wine. Also, one day we returned to our room to find that my friend had a little note on her bed saying that she had won a free bottle of wine! We were thrilled and put it to good use. The breakfast here was amazing, especially when compared with typical Argentinian breakfasts of just a sweet croissant and tea. In addition to the rolls, jam, tea, and coffee, there is a lady who will make you an omelette, scrambled eggs, pancakes, or dulce de leche crepes - felt like such a treat! They also offer great free activities - we did the mate class and had a really good time getting to know some of our hostel-mates and the teacher.

Disliked: My only complaint is with the room. We had the 4 person room (all to ourselves which was good) at the back of the main building. It was moderately clean - some dust bunnies under the beds. The lockable closets are pretty big, but my little lock didn't fit on a few of the doors. The only furniture was the bunk beds - it would have been nice to have a side table or two, especially since the floors were not super clean. I also had a problem with the giant window without a covering on it - it opened out onto the laundry porch and backyard and at night I did not feel comfortable changing clothes with a possible audience watching me. Also, the first shower I took was lukewarm at best - I don't know if this was because it was in the middle of the day or because the washing machine was on - not ideal, but the rest of my showers were warm/hot.


See all Mendoza hostels