We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Hostel Mora

Hostel | San Juan 955, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

91.3% Overall Rating

178 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Paul Andrew thinks…

"Friendly staff, lots of activities available, clean facilities, free wine at night!"

Read all Hostel Mora reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Alojarse Em Mendoza
14.75 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 27 reviews
Modigliani Suites
61.35 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Lao
17.70 USD

Hostel 94.5% 123 reviews
Mendoza Backpackers Hostel
15.34 USD

Hostel 74.2% 47 reviews
Savigliano Hostel
10.03 USD

Hostel 81.1% 8 reviews
Estacion Mendoza
10.62 USD

Hostel 76.1% 44 reviews
Hostel Simplemente Mendoza
10.62 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

178 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mora'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 186 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Stacchiola

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 March 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic service, great location, incredible value, very relaxed vibe. Every night Free Wine and washing machine. Hostel Mora was one of the best hostels we had all over SA. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: On this trip I've been in S America now four 4 months. Hostel Mora is vying for the best hostel in which I've stayed. Safe, secure (locks on dorm doors as well as lockers), great location, clean (they even supply soap and towelsin the toilets) great facilities (inc free use of a washing machine) extremely helpfull staff and the best hostel breakfast I've ever had. I'd highly recommend this place

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

martina cermakova

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2013 martina would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: martina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thorsten Willer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2013 Thorsten would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and the garden is so nice to hang around. The asado they sometimes offer is superb (Thanks a lot Gonzalo!!) The staff is very helpful and friendly and the night manager is the best I have ever met so far (Senor Andres Rafaga) :D

Disliked: Thorsten left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Lisa Waller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 January 2013

Liked: it was very close to the main square & food. Other than that we were not very happy with our accomodation.

Disliked: Pretty much everything! The staff were very rude & not just with us. We saw the way they interacted with other travellers & it wasn't professional at all. On or 2nd day, 2 of the staff made out almost all afternoon at reception & when I tried to interupt, I was given very short answers, so they could get back to what they were doing. There was a BBQ for Christmas night, which was the most we've ever been asked to pay ($120AR/person) for the WORST Asado we've ever eaten! Also, after taking a shuttle to their sister hostel,we had to walk back to our hostel, even though we were told that we'd have a ride back!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Corey Prachniak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2012

Liked: The staff was generally friendly and the management obviously wants to create a fun environment. There were lots of free classes and activities in addition to excursions for payment. Things like free glass of wine each night made for nice touches. Location was pretty good for seeing all the sights, although if you wanted to be right near the main nightlife street you´d be a bit far.

Disliked: The hostel simply did not have enough showers and bathrooms to accomodate the volume of travelers that were there during my stay. The upstairs had one shower/bathroom for men and one for women (for maybe 12-16 beds that were up there). The women who were staying in one of the rooms did not respect this division (which didnt really make sense to me since they were private facilities, and the ones downstairs were more dorm-style and yet mixed) which made for a really frustrating experience. Similarly, the wifi did not have the capacity to support everyone´s computers. I´m not someone on whom fast internet makes or breaks a hostel stay, but there were times when it would not work at all, and sometimes it is necessary even for those of us who aren´t tethered to our email accounts.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, clean room

Disliked: mor furniture in th eroom an more hooks in bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2012

Liked: Great breakfast

Disliked: Small hostel, can be very quiet AC in rooms don't work very well

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Dröschel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: +Nice staff +hamrocks and garden + Breakfast is awesome, pancakes and scrumbled eggs (which are prepared by nice girl) + AC in rooms

Disliked: - fridge is full of old, molty food --> please be more straight with control and throw out unnamed and not dated bags/food

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jimena Jobe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

26 November 2012 Jimena would recommend this property

Liked: Location is definitely one of its pros... So is the breakfast!

Disliked: Maybe the fact that it wasn't clearly stated that the bathroom was shared even in a private room...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Rothenberg

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2012 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with a great BBQ. They helped us plan a great day excursion and our single room was a great value.

Disliked: Not a very lively atmosphere during our three nights but we met a few nice people. Definitely a more chilled back place in our time there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice grill to cook on, close to everything.

Disliked: Toilets could be a litte cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Stephensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, comfortable, good activities, helpful staff. Good location, clean. So good we stayed on an extra night

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely big garden area with hammocks, great asado, very friendly & helpful staff, decent kitchen, they book tours & activities

Disliked: No female dorm, but when I asked they gave me a room with women only, so not really a complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel - lovely, sunny little courtyard for hanging out and great rooms. We stayed in a private - it was bunkbeds but cute and practically had its own private bathroom. The social side of this hostel is amazing - they have activities every other night and you get to meet so many people. We loved it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Kennedy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we stayed at in South America. All the staff were very friendly & helpful, best breakfast ever, including cereal, crepes, pastries & coffee. Fantastic location & different events every night, even free ones like wine tasting & empanadas making. Would definitely stay here again if I returned to Mendoza!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Smolen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing. You meet so many amazing people traveling from so many different locations around the world, and you definitely need to take advantage of the nightly dinners to meet others in the hostel. This was my first time in a hostel and I would come back here any other times I come to Mendoza.

Disliked: Loved everything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wine tasting, friendly staff, free washing machine, fast computers

Disliked: Room was basic and in need of a redecoration.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge locker in the 4-bed-dorm, great breakfast and staff, free wine in the evening, nice and free activities (mateclass!), wine tour wasn´t cheap but worth it, especially the lunch in a really local style place.

Disliked: -/-

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tyce Clee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Tyce would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great hostel, we loved our stay at Hostel Mora :) the tours that they can help organise around Mendoza are fantastic, the breakfast is very very good and the staff are extremely helpful. Plus, there's a free glass of wine every night for guests!

Disliked: Tyce left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fabulous. Comfortable, clean and spacious dorm rooms, good bathrooms, amazing breakfast and every day they offer a different activity which are sometimes free such as the 3 hour free city tour. The staff are really helpful. Although its not located directly in the city centre, a 5-10min walk gets you to all the important places and restaurants. One of the best value hostels we´ve stayed at in our 3 months in South America.

Disliked: The hostel says its provides parking but its not really car parking. If you have a bicycle or motorbike you can park it inside the front gates of the hostel, but if you have a car it will be parked on the street.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Larrivée

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had the best quality/value of my whole 2 months trip in Argentina. It was very beautiful and clean, and very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I was glad be able to speak in my mother tongue (French) with Keven. Also, the breakfast was the best I had in a hostel in my whole traveler life: croissants, eggs, pancakes with dulce de leche, cereals, good coffee, etc. For me, just the breakfast was worth more than what I paid to stay there. Also, the quantity of activities was very nice and the location perfect to visit the city.

Disliked: The ambiance wasn't as good as other hostels. I think it's because the tables have only 2 to 4 places, which limits the contact between travelers. Replacing them by bigger tables with more seating capacity would easily solve the problem. Also, the big gate at the entrance was intimidating at first...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel i've been to in my 10 month through latin america !!! friendliest stuff, good breakfast, very clean, awesome chill-out area with fireplace, free laundry, a lot of awesome free events, best overall value!

Disliked: nothing really

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Mcmahon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012

Liked: It was really clean, and super cheap. The free breakfast is one of the best with choice of eggs or pancakes. We had to ask for the 'free wine'. I also stayed at a hostel on the bar strip, and while it wasn't as clean I preferred the location and atmosphere - staff all knew my name and were happy for a chat. The ladies that ran the mate and wine tastings were AMAZING. I would rate them ten/ten. Great for a good sleep as the rooms don't get affected by guest noise.

Disliked: The staff often just sat behind the desk and weren't overly friendly. They did their jobs and answered questions when asked, but it was the only hostel I stayed at in Argentina where the staff and guests didn't really mix. The location was pretty far from the bar/restaurant area but this is probably my own fault for not looking at the map before booking.


See all Mendoza hostels