HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Hostel Mora

Hostel | San Juan 955, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

90.2% Overall Rating

171 out of 180 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

"They had lots of helpful information and even a wine tasting in the evening, great activities arranged by the staff."

Read all Hostel Mora reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Alojarse Em Mendoza
15.53 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 25 reviews
Modigliani Suites
58.39 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Lao
13.05 USD

Hostel 94.4% 120 reviews
Mendoza Backpackers Hostel
9.94 USD

Hostel 75.8% 45 reviews
Savigliano Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 78.6% 6 reviews
Estacion Mendoza
9.94 USD

Hostel 76.2% 43 reviews
Hostel Simplemente Mendoza
9.32 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

171 out of 180 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mora'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 179 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Medina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great, very friendly. Gonza is very hospitable and easy to talk to. The patio is lovely and a great place to relax. The breakfast is also quite tasty. The hostel is laid back and calm and other guests tend to be quite friendly too. One of the best hostels in Mendoza.

Disliked: The mattresses are a bit too hard for my taste but I like them extra soft.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Douglas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are great, the breakfast is of a hotel standard. The staff make you feel very welcome. They are extremely friendly and helpful. We arranged to stay two weeks after enjoying our initial stay so much. Gonzalo, Kevin & Ramona, we found very helpful and they assisted us in enrolling in Spanish classes for a week. They also assisted us in practicing our Spanish and answering any questions about our homework. They went above and beyond their jobs in helping us.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Clancy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a number of different activites for guests to participate in such as wine tasting and an empanada class etc. There was also free cake both days we were there and the breakfast in the morning was very good... eggs to order and pancakes along with the usual breakfast stuff you´d expect.

Disliked: The room we stayed in was a little dim, but that´s really it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Max Goldbeck

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2013 Max would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice tours offered, cheap, clean, very good breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

EUN YOUNG LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 EUN YOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are really nice!

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la buena onda en este lugar, la gente esta muy feliz :) , gracias a ramona, gonzalo, y kevin, un sonrisa, una broma, un buen cena juntos...SUERTE nos vemos

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very caring and friendly staff that make you feel at home. Gonzalo soon becomes a close friend to talk to. Beautiful patio where you feel at peace and in harmony with the world. You feel just as in home. Cheerful atmosphere, great to meet people. Good kitchen and Washing facilities.

Disliked: I did not dislike anything. They just have to get a utensil to make tee. :o)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

laura moldovan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 laura would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is simply awesome. We stayed for 8 days when we thought we'd only be there a few! The staff is really genuinely nice and helpful, the place is clean and well maintained and had a lovely courtyard. Breakfast is very good with crepes, eggs, fruit on top of the usual bread and jams. Free glass of wine every day and lots of included activities like wine tasting and empanada making classes were cool perks too.

Disliked: Location is a bit out of the way of the pub/nightlife district, this wasn't a problem for us though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wataru Anji

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Wataru would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying this hostel. Especially free breakfast is awesome. the staff are really helpful and friendly. and location is good as well close to bus terminal. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Wataru left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tye Ebel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Tye would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Mora has been one of the best hostels that I've stayed at in South America. It clean with spacious dorms, comfortable beds, a great patio complete with hammocks, free activities, free washing machine use, and extremely nice staff. Add to that, its convieniently located about a ten minute walk from the bus station and a five minute walk from the main plaza.

Disliked: I have no complaints here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, safe and friendly hostel! good breakfast too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of amenities. Having a washer and large garden area to relax in was key. Great staff who were really helpful and friendly. Gonzalo and Kevin made everybody feel like Mendoza was the place to be, especially at night with wine and bbq.

Disliked: The public bathrooms were one drawback, but definitely didn't inhibit my enjoyment of the city or hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommend. Good location. Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast (crepes, fresh fruit etc). Good lockers. Clean bathrooms. Free washing machine. Loads of fun evening activities and ability to book tours.

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grattan Maslin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2013 Grattan would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is amazing by Argentinian hostel standards, eggs and pancakes to order. Rooms are airy and plenty of locker space.

Disliked: Grattan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandr Shestovskii

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2013 Aleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: We planned to stay there for 4 days and finally stayed for a week. It means that everything was great. the staff is very helpful and very nive.great location. And we liked barbecue very much-it is one of the best we had during our long trip in South America.

Disliked: nothing at all

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013

Liked: Free washing machine (when it is working), lots of enterntainment offers, Free Wifi and computers

Disliked: Kitchen is quite old and rooms are not very comfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BELÉN GASTACA

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2013 BELÉN would recommend this property

Liked: EL HOSTEL ME PARECIO EXCELENTE, EL STAFF COMPLETO ES MUY SERVICIAL Y CON MUCHA BUENA ONDA, TODOS DISPUESTOS A AYUDAR EN LO QUE SEA. EL ASADO ES MUY COMPLETO, AL IGUAL QUE EL DESAYUNO, LA ATMOSFERA ME RESULTO SUPER AGRADABLE, TODO MUY LINDO, LIMPIO Y ORDENADO. EL PRECIO ES TOTALMENTE RAZONABLE. HOSTEL MORA, DEFINITIVAMENTE RECOMENDABLE!

Disliked: NO HAY NADA QUE NO ME HAYA GUSTADO, TODO FUE EXCELENTE!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Frans Flippo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Frans would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel organizes a lot of activities, like mate workshop, asados, etc. You can do your laundry for free.

Disliked: After our booking was confirmed by HostelBookers, we got an e-mail from Mora that the room was not available. On request they moved us to their sister hostel. We arrived late (as we'd announced) but when we got to the hostel at 2am, tired, they told us they'd given our room away to someone else because we didn't show. The only room left was a cramped 2 by 2 meter, 2-bed (bunk bed) room with no air conditioning and next to the roof terrace (where people are told to go if they want to talk at night). They let us use the facilities the next day and helped us find another hostel, but we were not impressed, to say the least.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Stacchiola

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 March 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic service, great location, incredible value, very relaxed vibe. Every night Free Wine and washing machine. Hostel Mora was one of the best hostels we had all over SA. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: On this trip I've been in S America now four 4 months. Hostel Mora is vying for the best hostel in which I've stayed. Safe, secure (locks on dorm doors as well as lockers), great location, clean (they even supply soap and towelsin the toilets) great facilities (inc free use of a washing machine) extremely helpfull staff and the best hostel breakfast I've ever had. I'd highly recommend this place

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

martina cermakova

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2013 martina would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: martina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thorsten Willer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2013 Thorsten would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean and the garden is so nice to hang around. The asado they sometimes offer is superb (Thanks a lot Gonzalo!!) The staff is very helpful and friendly and the night manager is the best I have ever met so far (Senor Andres Rafaga) :D

Disliked: Thorsten left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Lisa Waller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 January 2013

Liked: it was very close to the main square & food. Other than that we were not very happy with our accomodation.

Disliked: Pretty much everything! The staff were very rude & not just with us. We saw the way they interacted with other travellers & it wasn't professional at all. On or 2nd day, 2 of the staff made out almost all afternoon at reception & when I tried to interupt, I was given very short answers, so they could get back to what they were doing. There was a BBQ for Christmas night, which was the most we've ever been asked to pay ($120AR/person) for the WORST Asado we've ever eaten! Also, after taking a shuttle to their sister hostel,we had to walk back to our hostel, even though we were told that we'd have a ride back!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Corey Prachniak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2012

Liked: The staff was generally friendly and the management obviously wants to create a fun environment. There were lots of free classes and activities in addition to excursions for payment. Things like free glass of wine each night made for nice touches. Location was pretty good for seeing all the sights, although if you wanted to be right near the main nightlife street you´d be a bit far.

Disliked: The hostel simply did not have enough showers and bathrooms to accomodate the volume of travelers that were there during my stay. The upstairs had one shower/bathroom for men and one for women (for maybe 12-16 beds that were up there). The women who were staying in one of the rooms did not respect this division (which didnt really make sense to me since they were private facilities, and the ones downstairs were more dorm-style and yet mixed) which made for a really frustrating experience. Similarly, the wifi did not have the capacity to support everyone´s computers. I´m not someone on whom fast internet makes or breaks a hostel stay, but there were times when it would not work at all, and sometimes it is necessary even for those of us who aren´t tethered to our email accounts.


See all Mendoza hostels