HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Hostel La Puerta

Hostel | 25 de Mayo 1011, Dorrego, Guaymallén Mendoza, Argentina 5519

68.9% Overall Rating

20 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/12/2013)

"Staff was really friendly and helped organising our horse back riding trip! Close to the bus terminal."

Read all Hostel La Puerta reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Chimbas Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 87.4% 139 reviews
Casa Pueblo Hostel
9.87 USD

Hostel 88.0% 23 reviews
Savigliano Hostel
10.62 USD

Hostel 78.6% 6 reviews
Hotel Aragon
15.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.9% 22 reviews
Hostel Lao
13.12 USD

Hostel 94.4% 120 reviews
Alojarse Em Mendoza
15.62 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 25 reviews
Hostel Mora
12.49 USD

Hostel 90.2% 180 reviews
Estacion Mendoza
9.99 USD

Hostel 76.2% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.9%

Overall Rating

20 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel La Puerta'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carl Turpie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014

Liked: Quiet and near to the bus station

Disliked: The staff don't know anything about the local area or any tours

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014

Liked: Very clean, close to bus station

Disliked: Not as described, staff have no knowledge of local area or tourist activities

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013

Liked: Staff was really friendly and helped organising our horse back riding trip! Close to the bus terminal.

Disliked: The beds were hard, people / dog walking in and out of the room,...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013

Liked: The location. 5-10mins walk to the bus terminal, which is very convenient because most things to do in and around Mendoza involve a bus excursion. This saved a lot of time/money which would have been spent on walking/taxis if I had stayed in the centre. Breakfast is served whenever you like from 8.30am. You just ask for it when you want it and servings were generous (pastries and breads with butter and jam).

Disliked: The atmosphere was bleak. It wasn't sociable like other places I have stayed. The common areas aren't very welcoming, and no-one seemed to spend time there. As a solo traveler it is the worst place I have stayed. The staff didn't speak unless necessary (the friendliest member was an older man who tried to make a move on me :-s!), and their "travel help-desk" is more or less none-existent (I was given wrong bus information, and was unable to be given information about horse-riding trips in the area, despite them having a poster advertising them!). The bins in the bathroom could do with being emptied more often, and the bed was totally uncomfortable. Was kept up half the night by other members of my dorm, too. Could not have been much worse!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013

Liked: Close to bus terminal. Rooms are spacious.

Disliked: Kitchen tiny. Did not appreciate that the smoking area was the kitchen and dining room. Breakfast was bad, a stale bread roll with nothing to put on it. We didn't get breakfast one morning because we were picked up for a tour at 8am. Breakfast at 8:30 am. We met people who were paying a lot less for a room in the centre with free tea and coffee and wine for less money. We're not snobs.. Pretty hardened backpackers but this place was crap.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Chua

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best option for budget minded travelers as a great place at a cheap price. What you give up is that it isn't in the center of town, but don't worry, the center of Mendoza isn't that cool...it's the wineries outside of town.

Disliked: They have a dog, if you have allergies you probably want to skip it. That said, it's a super cute dog.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: The location is not great, it is a 15-20 minute walk into town. The kitchen is also small.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money, staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: There wasnt very much atmosphere.. This could have just been the nights we were here though..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, very clean flights

Disliked: Its a bit out of the city centre but still not too far.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

adam teece

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013

Liked: Close to the bus station. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Pool not in use, outside area has potential to very nice but it seems they have given up on it. Very average hostel. Cheapest in Mendoza so I guess you get what you pay for.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: far away from centre

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012

Liked: The lady we met on our first night running the hostel was lovely and she did our washing in 24 hrs which was a great help.

Disliked: It was freezing and the bed linen was too small for the bed. The breakfast was also just pastries which was too much sugar for so early in the morning.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2012

Liked: it was cheap, and had a pool....

Disliked: the pool was not really usable, there was dog shit awaiting you on the ways close to the pool, there lived a whole armada of bed bucks and the staff was nice, but not really ready to take care. The noise during the night was unbearable. Maybe staying alone would have worked, with children it is not recommendable...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012

Liked: Showers were good, beds were comfortable and lockers were provided. I had a late bus and they let me come back to the hostel and cook dinner etc.

Disliked: There was very little atmosphere and there was about eight staff hanging around at all times using the computer/TV/common areas. When I arrived there was no orientation so I didn't even know there was an outdoor area or pool available until the second night. The location is good for the bus station but didnt feel very safe to be returning to late at night,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: You could not find a friendlier staff. The hostel is run by a family and you become one of the family right away. One of the staff speaks english and can help you out if your spanish is not too good.

Disliked: Other reviews talked about the distance to town, but being in such a nice place makes the walk to downtown worth it. It is a pleasent fifteen minute walk to St. Martin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the bus station and extremely clean.Good value for money.And pastries for breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it´s pretty close to the omnibus station and here i found the first clean bathroom in an hostel in mendoza, i was in many!

Disliked: lot of smokers in the main room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

clemence troplent

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

30 May 2011

Liked: cerca del terminal de buses

Disliked: demasiado lejos del centro

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly, but only speak Spanish. The atmosphere is relaxed and the doors are locked for security, but access is available 24 hours a day.

Disliked: It is a 20 minute walk into town, though there are buses. The communal spaces are very close to the bedrooms and dorms and sound travels, so it is noisy at night.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

claire john

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011

Liked: Family were friendly, but did not speak ANY English so if you want to practice your Spanish, this is the perfect place! Offers ¨"all you can eat" dinners, but quite expensive at 50 pesos PP and does not serve the meals until 11-12pm! Nice breakfast. Nice dog.

Disliked: VERY NOISY!!!! Do not expect a good nights sleep, the dorms open onto the communal area and they plug in the amplifiers for the electric guitar at 11pm and stay up until very late. They then get up at 6am and clatter around leaving the dorm beds open so everyone in the breakfast area can see you asleep in bed! There is NO consideration for anyone wanting to sleep, its very rude. They also play the CD player at full blast all day, which competes with the two TVs always on full volume. Location is terrible - a 30 minute walk to town, but is a 10 minute walk from bus station. Kitchen is small and poorly equipped. BAthrooms and dorms not very clean with no locks on the doors of either. Unconfortable beds and pillows. Need a bin and mirror in the dorm (although this is the case in most hostels) BBQ filthy, pool empty and garden really soulless.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hosts who cooked a great meal. Very friendly atmosphere wish I could have stayed longer

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are amazingly helpful and although its about a 20 minute walk from town there is a supermarket nearby. We have had amazing asados here and been made to feel like part of the family. This is definately one of the best, most welcoming hostels i have ever stayed in. Definately value for money!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011

Liked: When we arrived at 10 in the evening, there was going to be a pizza party. The owner made the pizzas himself and everybody in the hostel joined. It was a lovelly evening :) We only stayed here for one night, but is was a great nigt!!

Disliked: when we leaved for the bus at 8.45 we had to wake the owner. We didn't get breakfast or towels..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eun Leij

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Eun would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast and terrace

Disliked: Far away from city centre

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Kordeusz

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

04 January 2011 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: About 20 min. walk from the downtown. About 10 min walk from the bus terminal (Terminal de Omnibus).

Disliked: Friendly atmosphere, fine design, a little patio and garden.


See all Mendoza hostels