HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel La Puerta Mendoza

Hostel

25 de Mayo 1011, Dorrego, Mendoza, Argentina

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 62%

Location 66%

Safety 79%

Staff 78%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Common Room
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 62%

Location 66%

Safety 79%

Staff 78%

Value 70%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quiet and near to the bus station

Disliked: The staff don't know anything about the local area or any tours


The property's response is

I'm not agree with your dislike, because I work at night and I know about local areas and tours. However, our boss has no responsibility to buy bouchers for tours. Its not staff fault. And as I knew, you had some problems about your book and our rooms were differents to this page because the owner change and we didnt have access to this account to make changes. I'm trying to solve this kinds of problems with our boss and hostel management.
Anyway, thanks for your visit.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, close to bus station

Disliked: Not as described, staff have no knowledge of local area or tourist activities

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was really friendly and helped organising our horse back riding trip!Close to the bus terminal.

Disliked: The beds were hard, people / dog walking in and out of the room,...

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location. 5-10mins walk to the bus terminal, which is very convenient because most things to do in and around Mendoza involve a bus excursion. This saved a lot of time/money which would have been spent on walking/taxis if I had stayed in the centre.Breakfast is served whenever you like from 8.30am. You just ask for it when you want it and servings were generous (pastries and breads with butter and jam).

Disliked: The atmosphere was bleak. It wasn't sociable like other places I have stayed. The common areas aren't very welcoming, and no-one seemed to spend time there. As a solo traveler it is the worst place I have stayed. The staff didn't speak unless necessary (the friendliest member was an older man who tried to make a move on me :-s!), and their "travel help-desk" is more or less none-existent (I was given wrong bus information, and was unable to be given information about horse-riding trips in the area, despite them having a poster advertising them!). The bins in the bathroom could do with being emptied more often, and the bed was totally uncomfortable. Was kept up half the night by other members of my dorm, too. Could not have been much worse!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to bus terminal. Rooms are spacious.

Disliked: Kitchen tiny. Did not appreciate that the smoking area was the kitchen and dining room. Breakfast was bad, a stale bread roll with nothing to put on it. We didn't get breakfast one morning because we were picked up for a tour at 8am. Breakfast at 8:30 am. We met people who were paying a lot less for a room in the centre with free tea and coffee and wine for less money. We're not snobs.. Pretty hardened backpackers but this place was crap.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's the best option for budget minded travelers as a great place at a cheap price. What you give up is that it isn't in the center of town, but don't worry, the center of Mendoza isn't that cool...it's the wineries outside of town.

Disliked: They have a dog, if you have allergies you probably want to skip it. That said, it's a super cute dog.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: The location is not great, it is a 15-20 minute walk into town. The kitchen is also small.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great value for money, staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: There wasnt very much atmosphere.. This could have just been the nights we were here though..

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff, very clean flights

Disliked: Its a bit out of the city centre but still not too far.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to the bus station. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Pool not in use, outside area has potential to very nice but it seems they have given up on it. Very average hostel. Cheapest in Mendoza so I guess you get what you pay for.

Check Availability