We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Mendoza Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | San Lorenzo 19, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

74.2% Overall Rating

32 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/01/2013)

Alfredo Rodriguez thinks…

"Niko was excellent! We arrived at 5 in the morning after a long bus ride from Santiago, and he greeted us as if it was 3 in the afternoon. He made us feel welcome immediately."

Read all Mendoza Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellations not allowed. In case of no show property will debit the outstanding balance from your credit card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Modigliani Suites
55.45 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Estacion Mendoza
9.44 USD

Hostel 76.1% 44 reviews
Hostel Simplemente Mendoza
12.74 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Mora
11.21 USD

Hostel 91.3% 187 reviews
Alojarse Em Mendoza
14.75 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 27 reviews
Hostel Lao
17.70 USD

Hostel 94.5% 123 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel International Campo Base
8.26 USD

Hostel 87.7% 83 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.2%

Overall Rating

32 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mendoza Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good BBQ.

Disliked: Seems a bit neglected on the weekends, bins not emptied, no toilet roll in any of the toilets.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alfredo Rodriguez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: Niko was excellent! We arrived at 5 in the morning after a long bus ride from Santiago, and he greeted us as if it was 3 in the afternoon. He made us feel welcome immediately.

Disliked: Dirty rooms, smelly bathrooms, and very very bad bread burnt stale for breakfast.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013

Liked: Good location near the main area.

Disliked: The hostel doesn't get cleaned on a Sunday, which isn't good as the toilets are filthy after folk party in the bar area on a Saturday night. They smell really bad and are attached to the showers. The 4-person basic dorm really is tiny and VERY basic. They also didn't have my booking when I arrived as they are not using Hostelbookers at the moment and the prices on the site do not reflect what they are really when you arrive. The 4 person dorm is 70ARS, which is really overpriced considering how basic it is.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

LUCIE PLACE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2013

Liked: Staff is friendly

Disliked: The shower are small and smelly...Didn't really like the small animal un the bathroom ensuite !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edel O' Connor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Edel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super helpful. My lock broke and Alejandro was really nice about it and helped open the locker, free of charge! They were really welcoming on our 1st day and always offered to invite us into the group or party that was happening each evening.

Disliked: Edel left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2012

Liked: The property is in a good position, close to the main hostel areas and an east 15 min walk to the bus station

Disliked: The breakfast was poor, on both mornings I had to ask for spoons so that I could eat the cereal and another guest had to walk around table asking for peoples spoons so she could eat. Areas of the hostel were left untidy from the night before and were not cleared. People smoked inside and staff sat by without a word. Word of warning DO NOT take the 4 bed dorm, it is tiny and the toilet is used by everyone from the bar all night and is filthy come morning when you need it. Not to mention being kept up all night from the bar. We were lucky and took the 6 bed dorm which is ok but two girls had to move from the 4 to 6 bed because if it. Staff seemed over pushy to buy their tours according to come guests.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012

Liked: near bus stop and downtown

Disliked: mała kuchnia, głośna muzyka

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jenny Traue

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Das Frühstück der Aufenthlatsraum Das Personal Eine Küche ist vorhanden eine Tischtennisplatte ist vorhanden Themenabende, leider in anderen Hostels

Disliked: die Tischtennisplatte und Requisiten waren sehr abgenutzt das Frühstück könnte länger als 10h gehen

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012

Liked: Good Location, staff are friendly and they have a few things going on with other hostels, BBQ etc

Disliked: BED BUGS

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011

Liked: good localisation, the second floor is nice with the bar and the terasse

Disliked: rooms really small for 6 persons, half of the staff was friendlly but one of them really don't care looks that the owner don't want to work with hostelbookers anymore, they didn't have our reservation

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bathrooms were clean. the upstairs area is big and looks like it has a lot of potential but when i was there there werent any parties and it was pretty quiet. very good location, a few blocks from main pedestrian strip and main square.

Disliked: internet cut out a lot during the three days i was there. was very quiet and not a lot happening which made it hard to meet people as a solo traveller. bunks were very wobbly and quite high without ladders which made them a little difficult to get up on. i was also in a corner room and the traffic was loud throughout the night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent organised excursions into the Andes. Clean, tidy and safe.

Disliked: Pretty small kitchen if you want to cook meals. Beds are quite old and squeaky!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emilia Starr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011

Liked: Nice dining terrace ping pong area.

Disliked: Lockers were falling apart. Wobbliest, squeakiest bunk beds i-ve ever come across (should be a good standard with it being a HI hostel). Really expensive laundry service (US$6.50 for 10 pieces of clothes).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and staff were nice.

Disliked: Although there was a bar area upstairs, there was no living room area to chill out in. Also, it was a bit annoying having to be buzzed in every time you wanted to get back into the hostel. The kitchen was quite small with few kitchen facilities and there weren't enough bathrooms as I had to wait a few times to go in. There was also quite a young croud (18 year olds) staying when I was there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 April 2011

Liked: I liked the location and my room was really nice and fairly clean.

Disliked: That there was only one kitchen available for a lot of peopl and hardly anything to cook or eat with!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lara Gilmour

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people, good friendly staff. Good parties if that is what you are looking for.

Disliked: Kitchen was not the best Beds could do with imrpovement

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central place in the city, with really friendly staff

Disliked: Traffic was a little noisy in the room i was sleeping in

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Marrow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of good tours on offer so you can be busy all the time. Lots of things to do in the evening too which was great.

Disliked: Rooms were too hot.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2011

Liked: Noisy, bad breakfast, chaotic, staff unhelpfull and make your stuff disapear on your room! I don´t recommend it!

Disliked: everything

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff very helpful and friendly, good bar, cleaned every day.

Disliked: Nothing really. Only negative thing about Mendoza is that we got robbed in the park in the middle of the day. I think we should have been warned about where not to go.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A friendly hostel in a great location, bar area and common spaces are good for the location (no pool but it is so central that the roof garden makes up for it!). Good breakfast.

Disliked: Beds are a bit old and creaky!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good food, nice staff

Disliked: tours they organized were average

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Room too small. Kitchen average. Nights slight rip off

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Rauch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: people very fun. (staff and travellers), nice bathrooms, cool parties upstairs and good breakfast (fruit, cereals etc)

Disliked: my bed was doublebooked but problem was solved fast (other girl had to go to different room)


See all Mendoza hostels