We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Estacion Mendoza

Hostel | Primitivo de la Reta 547, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

76.1% Overall Rating

32 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2014)

"Great freindly atmosphere with families and backpackers. The guy at the frontdesk was so helpful and even took us out for a night out."

Read all Estacion Mendoza reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Mendoza Backpackers Hostel
9.44 USD

Hostel 74.2% 47 reviews
Modigliani Suites
61.35 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Lao
17.70 USD

Hostel 94.5% 123 reviews
Alojarse Em Mendoza
14.75 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 27 reviews
Hostel International Mendoza
6.49 USD

Hostel 85.5% 94 reviews
Hostel Mora
12.39 USD

Hostel 91.3% 187 reviews
Hostel Simplemente Mendoza
10.62 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.1%

Overall Rating

32 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Estacion Mendoza'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
74.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great freindly atmosphere with families and backpackers. The guy at the frontdesk was so helpful and even took us out for a night out.

Disliked: Bathrroms could be cleaner.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014

Liked: Close to bus station, but quite a long walk to the cities and restaurants. Good security. We booked a white water rafting tour through the hostel which was great. Most rooms seem to have air conditioning.

Disliked: Hostel is very dark and has a bad atmosphere. Staff are generally using the lounge area for family activities or to watch loud tv, and you feel very unwelcome. Usually unfriendly staff - a smile or a morning greeting is very rare. Pool is filthy and despite boiling hot summer days, I never saw anyone use it. Very little English spoken (only one lady who is not there that much). Very dirty. In four days, nobody emptied the overflowing bins in the kitchen or replaced toilet rolls in the bathroom. The staff did have time to watch a lot of tv and play games on the computer though. We booked a room with a a private bathroom which did not work for half our stay, and there was no apology or attempt to change our room. To be fair, when we checked out, they tried to make up for the terrible stay with a small refund and a bottle of wine, but I would still not recommend this hostel.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Shaun Mace

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013

Liked: Peaceful garden!

Disliked: Generally I'm not fussy, this is my first bad review I've had to write. I've been travelling/working in 4 countries over 4 years Even though it was December and mid-summer the swimming pool was disgusting and unswimmable. When we asked they said there was a water shortage in Mendoza, nobody else had this problem and we spent the remaining days in another hostel's swimming pool which was 5 times the size and amazing! Unhelpful and not very friendly staff! Hot stuffy and noisy room. Bed sheets felt dirty and greasy! Free breakfest but food is not included??? We booked for 3 days but left after the first night, in fairness they offered us a better room when we complained but we specifically booked that hostel for the swimming pool...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rebecca Porter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013

Liked: Fast internet

Disliked: The pool was really dirty, which was a shame as it was one of the main reasons we booked the hostel. The staff are also not very friendly, it feels more like an annoyance that you are there. This is particularly true of the man who it seemed owned the place - he mainly just talks very loudly and somewhat aggresively at you. They also had a few strange rules, such as they wanted us to put All of our belongings in lockers so that the dorm looked exactly the same as the picture on the website. Naturally, with our massive backpacks, there wasn't enough space for us to do this!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ariel Cabral

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Ariel would recommend this property

Liked: It's a family house turned into a hostel which is very comfortable. You can meet other travellers and they will make spend as less as possible when you want to hire a trip anywhere. Anyway it is really comfortable, cheap, very close to the city center (5 mins walk), clean. It's not a party hostel, so you will be able to get some relax (except at 7am :P)

Disliked: The only thing I really hated was that I was at the 4 beds dorm (in the front of the house) and every single day I got woken up around 7am by the people who was waiting for the minivans to pick them up for their excurtions. Same thing happened to all of us who slept here. Dorm is right beside the kitchen, so if you want to take a nap by the time people start cooking (all tourists start eating around 6pm) it gets a little loud

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: garden area out back with pool, even though i didn´t use it. they allow you to utilize the common space after you check out if you are waiting for a bus.

Disliked: lockers don´t fit large backpacks, but it is easy to separate the important stuff.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2012

Liked: Location and staff + breakfast while we were waiting to check in.

Disliked: It could be more clean in both the room we had and in the common areas.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ioana Cutcutache

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Ioana would recommend this property

Liked: It's central, warm, staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Scott Habrun

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms on the top level are huge! Also the kitchen was very clean and stocked very well. The pool was clean while we were there, and the little garden is great.

Disliked: Staff not super helpful or friendly, didn't know which bus to take to get the the main part of town

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly family run hostel. Great lounge area, nice and quiet place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cherise Scotland

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Cherise would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, nice kitchen, close to shops/supermarkets, nice place to meet people. Hostel is very helpful if you need any help regarding the wineary tours or any other excursions. Breakfast good very basic, rooms nice with space and free internet/lockers which was a bonus. If i was to come back again i would book this hostel.

Disliked: Make sure you get the exact location when you arrive, we arrived at the bus station early hours of the morning and it took us at 2 hours to find the hostel, once we arrived we wasn´t allowed to check in early but was allowed to use the internet and all facilities which was a bonus to waste time but was a very tiring day!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff

Disliked: Cleanliness (bugs in kitchen, pool filthy)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good breakfast. Fast wifi that worked throughout the hostel. Friendly staff, especially Alejandro who helped us plan our stay. Full kitchen with everything you need to cook. Nice garden with tiny pool but still good on the hot days!

Disliked: Nice laid back vibe but not much of a social aspect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Kuhn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, lockers, free internet, breakfast included, common spaces - everything you could want from a hostel!

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011

Liked: Good location for central Mendoza. Staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Not clean. Kitchen is filthy, bedrooms are basically clean but sheets really old. Also far too noisy. Noisy guests return late but the staff do not tell them to keep quiet and themselves had the TV loud early in the morning. Windows don´t close properly so you hear all central Mendoza traffic. Impossible to sleep. Warning to other travellers (not linked to this hostel) there is a Dutch guy in Mendoza pretending to be Belgian and that he has been mugged and had everything stolen - he tells you this to encourage you to give him 100 Pesos. He is a fraud and lives in Mendoza for 3 years - he targets backpackers so watch out (you find him in central Mendoza, not near this hostel)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and homely feeling with good kitchen, a small pool in the garden and a nice sitting area inside. Was quiet at night and our double room had a good sized bathroom and was clean. The staff are helpful and there is nice, friendly atmosphere in the hostel. Good location for the centre of town and also to catch the bus to the wineries.

Disliked: The kitchen drawers could do with a clean but with so many people using it that is expected. It is also a decent walk to the 'trendy' part of Mendoza with all the bars, we got a taxi back at night,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is nice this close to bars restaurants, you can book tours, the receptionists were very friendlies

Disliked: ----------------------------------------------

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcos Duque

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2011 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: The place is clean and the rooms are big. The hostel offers a lot of services like excursions and the staff helped a lot with touristic information.

Disliked: There was a problem with the booking: We had booked a double room and it was occupied so we were reallocated to a dorm for one night. They charged us the right prize, though, and the second night we had our double room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011

Liked: It's an nice place to stay in Mendoza, close to the city centre and they have good information about tours and things to do in Mendoza

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't really good and the pool was dirty

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere with nice living room to hang out and meet you friends after a fun day biking around the wineries in nearby Maipu. The property is only 5 mins walk to bus stop where you can catch bus to the wineries. It is also in very close proximity to the main center and a short walk from the bus station.

Disliked: The pool is sadly very much out of action.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy, its impossible not to meet other travelers. Not a party hostel but a very good spot to relax in the back yard and enjoy a bottle or two of the excellent wines available in Mendoza.

Disliked: The pool needs a good cleaning. Rooms are a little small for 8 beds and could use some new pillows.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

kjersti stubbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 kjersti would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very homely feel, especially as you get toast and amazing jam and a range of hot drinks but not much else for breakfast. The kitchen has a microwave too, which has always been a luxury in south america! It has a pretty outside space and a swimming pool, more ornamental than anything. The location is ok, about 15 minutes walk from the bus station and about 10 blocks from the centre. Big lockable lockers. Good terrace to hang washing out to dry. The homely feel makes it a good place to meet people. Very fast internet, only wish I had arranged a few skype dates.

Disliked: The beds are slightly uncomfy and very squeeky especially getting up to the top bunk which always sounded like the bunk was going to collapse. The staff were quite stand-off-ish and made you feel a little uncomfortable but they could be helpful at times too. There were two showers and toilets for 12 people, which could sometimes be a problem and one of the doors didnt have a lock on.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arnold van der Harst

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2011 Arnold would recommend this property

Liked: Defenitely value for money! We recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice communal area. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good place to meet people.

Disliked: Very small room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2011

Liked: I liked the good atmosphere the family made at Christmas.

Disliked: One staffmember, Anna, was the so unfriendly that people hardly dared to ask her something.


See all Mendoza hostels