HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Damajuana Hostel

Hostel | Arístides Villanueva 282, Mendoza, Argentina 0.55

75.8% Overall Rating

69 out of 83 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/09/2012)

Brandon Villar thinks…

"This property was one of the best hostel I have stayed at in Argentina. It is a little more expensive than others but it is worth it. Also there is a great bar built inside with it."

Read all Damajuana Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Break Point Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 69.5% 19 reviews
Itaka Hostel
10.19 USD

Hostel 71.2% 84 reviews
Banana Hostel
11.09 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Mendoza Inn
7.07 USD

Hostel 77.5% 41 reviews
Hostel Puertas del Sol
6.59 USD

Hostel 77.6% 52 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
32.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel International Campo Base
8.39 USD

Hostel 87.7% 83 reviews
Hostel Simplemente Mendoza
13.19 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

69 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Damajuana Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
72.0%
Value
66.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 55 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool. Good NYE party. Great location.

Disliked: Not the cleanest.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brandon Villar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2012 Brandon would recommend this property

Liked: This property was one of the best hostel I have stayed at in Argentina. It is a little more expensive than others but it is worth it. Also there is a great bar built inside with it.

Disliked: Brandon left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012

Liked: Franco - one of the staff guys, probably the only one that was nice, friendly and genuinely wanted to help.

Disliked: Bathrooms, breakfast, staff, beds, atmosphere

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Reyana Searle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012

Liked: wifi worked in room so i could book my bus out of there.

Disliked: Everything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff very friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location but it´s really loud! The weather was hot so we managed to use the pool. The breakfast was pretty good though on 2nd day they had no cereal.

Disliked: Well we booked an 8bed dorm but really it was a 16 as there was only half a wall between us and the other room, so you could hear the snorers in there. Also, if you´re in the corner bunk you get no air and it´s really hard to sleep. There was only 1 toilet between 16 persons, which was a total nightmare in the morning, when you needed to get ready to head out on a tour.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent BBQ night, good location, lots of activities, nice backyard, awesome staff

Disliked: No windows in my dorm room, only (really) hot water in the showers most the time

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the Best location in Mendoza, and the pool!

Disliked: Unuseful staff, freiendly but no capable to tell you where is a bakery or where to have breakfast, and manager "unexisting"!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location on a busy restaurant/bar street. Very nice backyard area with a nice and (mostly) clean swimming pool, nice grassy area to sunbath and a nice kitchen and barbeque place. Very good indoor common area with big TV and very confortable sofas. You could also book a lot of different activities through the hostel. Friendly staff

Disliked: Only one pot in the kitchen. When 40 people wants to cook pasta, it's kind of a problem. Internet didn't work most of the time during our stay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

alex scheikowski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2011 alex would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this place is the pool and also it's is a great location if you want to go out at night. Its a social hostel and has a relaxed vibe.

Disliked: lack of bathrooms and some staff were not overly helpful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, friendly staff, clean rooms, spacious rooms and free internet

Disliked: The prices are a bit high

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the party street

Disliked: Have to pay for breakfast!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: swimming pool, great common areas, asado, great location

Disliked: dungeon-like dorm

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Caiger Watson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: it was a relaxed environment and a good place torelax and chill out after a hectic 3 - 4 days in buenos auries... i liked the music the chill out room and the fact you can watch all the football and good films and the location is good right on the main strip so all in all a good place to stay...

Disliked: i just did not find the friendliness of other travellers as much as other places... it was not as communal but that is down to the people we had there not the place itself i think

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Zients

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Partying / nightlife

21 October 2010 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place for travelers looking to feel at home. There are great common spaces as well as a backyard and pool. The rooms were very clean and all of the facilities were as well. A great place to meet other travelers and quite social because Damajuana also had a bar and restaurant right in the front that is connected to the hostel. The staff were the most accommodating groups of people we have encountered yet. They help book adventure tours (even if they have a partnership with the company or not) they will also help with medical emergencies. Those who I traveled with and myself have all concluded that we have never stayed in a better hostel and we have stay in quite a few. We highly recommend Damajuana for any kind of traveler that is looking for a comfortable, clean, and fun place to stay during your time in Mendoza.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was beyond expectations.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities at the hostel were great however the staff could have been a little bit more helpful considering the hostel was more expensive than most.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel looks great with fabulous communal areas including the pool. It's on a busy street with loads of nightlife but its not too noisy. However it does have some points to be improved: plumbing problems are a constant issue and there is always at least 1 bathroom out of order and the water can be cold. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful but new t the area and don't have sufficient knowledge to help/advise with tours, travel etc. This is a good place to stay just don't expect everything to work!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The outside area by the pool is very nice, the TV room is spacious and there is a good atmosphere. The staff however could not give us any good advice on tours, hiking or other activities in the area. There was supposed to be `this guy ' who could tell us all about it but he never showed up when we were there. Also, they promised to call a cab for us to go to the bus station the next morning but they didn´t so we had to rush to find a cab on the street. Some improvements possible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay here.. bbq was great, the common areas are really nice, probably the second nicest hostel we have stayed at in all of south america and we have been here for 3 months now! As points for improvement if they waned to make the stay excellent, I would say the staff should be better at giving recommentations, although we got on great with them, they were slow to tell us place to go that we had previously booked! Also one of the toilets was missing a shower courtain which meant water everywhere and all toilets could do with being cleaned more frequently! Despite this I really loved the place and thing it is well worth a stay... ;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ursula esling

23 July 2009 ursula would recommend this property

Liked: It was a friendly hostel with lovely, helpful staff. Fun BBQ´s, great activities on offer. Definately would recommend to fellow travellers. Thank you!

Disliked: ursula left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really great. When you walk in you can't help but think, "Wow, this is a really classy joint." All of the services offered and the general aesthetic of the place is really great. Then you're brought to your room and you realize, "oh, this really is just like any hostel." In summary, the common spaces are really great, but the rooms are no different than many hostels that I've stayed at (and that were cheaper too). The showers were great (excellent pressure and temp). Overall, excellent hostel. I just wonder if the price is a little too much.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms were cleaned everyday and they made my bed too! The location was great., right on bar street. x

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

17 February 2009

Liked: Pool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

becca fine

09 February 2009 becca would recommend this property

Liked: great outdoor area and pool. great for relaxing and meeting people. very unhelpful staff. generally made you feel like an inconvienience. try not to get room in the garden, VERY noisy at night and VERY hot.

Disliked: becca left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Mary Koizumi

18 January 2009

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.


See all Mendoza hostels