HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Empedrado Hostel

Hostel | Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

92.2% Overall Rating

388 out of 412 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

"Great atmosphere. Free wine hour helps you meet people. Good roof terrace. Good wifi."

Read all Empedrado Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Hostal Confluencia
18.49 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 4 reviews
Punto Urbano Hostel
12.49 USD

Hostel 83.8% 6 reviews
Mendoza Lodging
9.37 USD

Hostel 85.1% 91 reviews
Hotel Laerte
9.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostel Suites Mendoza
10.62 USD

Hostel 90.7% 89 reviews
Old House Mendoza Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 87.1% 8 reviews
Wine Aparts
11.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Cuyum Mapu Mendoza
16.24 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

388 out of 412 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Empedrado Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 360 of 393 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Free wine hour helps you meet people. Good roof terrace. Good wifi.

Disliked: Needs a deep clean. A few but not all of the staff were not the friendliest, tho tbf they were all pretty laid back.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Ballardie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff, value for money tours, free laundry and lovely patio area.

Disliked: Bit noisy for us and quite a young crowd.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Peter Hammond

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very good considering the price for accommodation. There were several chill out areas, and they had activities on offer everyday if you wanted. Wine was available to buy at not over inflated prices.

Disliked: The bathroom in our private room was not clean, and didn't look like it had been cleaned properly for a very very long time. There was a major design fault with the shower, as waterr flowed over the top of the drain hole and flowed out onto the bathroom floor. This was a major safety issue, slipping on a tiled floor. DANGEROUS!!! The water was also causing a rotting problem with the wall and floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mayuran Jegatheeswaran

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Mayuran would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and a lot of common areas to hang out

Disliked: Maybe it was just when I went but the atmosphere was not that fun

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great really helpful and the facilities were good secure with 24 reception and front door was monitored. Rooms were exactly a described and the wine happy hour was a brilliant way to get to meet people and socialise. the breakfast was the best we had in South America and we would definately recommend!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My favourite aspect of this hostel is the outdoor garden and pool area. Grape fines grow creating a ceiling and shading the garden area from the hot sun. Hammocks hang beside the pool, and there is a patio on the roof if you are looking to soak up some sun. The perfect place to relax after a day of trekking or cycling. The staff are very helpful and can help you organize day trips and activities.

Disliked: Our air conditioner wasn't working and it was really warm in the room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Machado Gulleri Paolo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2013 Machado Gulleri would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first experience in a hostel and if every hostel is like that, i will not go anymore to any hotel. the staff was really helpfull and more than friendly! breakfast an bbq dinner was great!!! the possibility to book many different excursions is awesome! you gonna find a lot of clubs, bars and nice restaurant not far away from the hotel! if you want to have a good time in mendoza… book a room in the hostel empedrado!

Disliked: Machado Gulleri left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FREE LAUNDARY!!! Great breakfast, maps of town, and information on the tours Hostel event provided every nigh, many for free And free wine happy hour every night

Disliked: Could have used an extra bathroom

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere.Good service and excursion to vineyards.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Hough

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff were really helpful and friendly (special thanks to Anna). Loved the pancakes and omelettes for breakfast and my wife loved the free wine every night. They can help with excursions and they also do other fun events at the hostel.Highly recommend these guys

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gonzalo Montes Grande

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2013 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: The international atmosphere

Disliked: There were few bathrooma for the number of rooms

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is close to the city centre, it is clean and generally a good value for money. The staff is very helpful. I quite liked the breakfast menu, it was a lot better than in other hostels in Argentina.

Disliked: everything was OK

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Hubbel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I've actually booked a week at this property and am still here, into my third day. I have been very well cared for, from the loss of my backpack (taken care of) to the free laundry facility on site(thank you) to the most attentive staff. The place is spotless, open and wonderful. Lots of room, options to sleep, big kitchen, close to downtown and every activity you can imagine.

Disliked: We could use a few more bathrooms in the morning- too many people, too few banos.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value for money-200 pesos for a private double room WITH GREAT breakfast - what more do you want. Pancakes with dulce de leche, eggs, cereal, pastries, hot chocolate, coffee and tea for breakfast... Yumm! It was really clean and the staff was amazingly helpful and nice.

Disliked: It is quite noisy and you could hear everything through the thin walls. Our room was next to the kitchen/courtyard and that was really quite loud in the evening/at night. Bring some earplugs! Still a very recommendable hostel!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, I left my cellphone behind and they found it and arranged for it to be sent to NZ for me which was amazing. Very social and they can book lots of activities for you.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff; they were very helpfull especially when we couldn't leave due to bus strikes. Clean, big common spaces and a well equipped kitchen. Staff is also very knowledgable on activities to do. Also nice (free) activities by the hostel everyday, like wine tastings and empanada class. Location is fine, just 7 blocks from the main square.

Disliked: The bed sheets are only simple sheets which (even though you tuck them in before giong to sleep) are definitely off your matress when waking up, not very clean. During bathroom rush hour in the morning you sometimes have to wait a while before a shower is available.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Roberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great -- lots of common areas, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of lockers -- both inside the rooms and in common areas, so you can lock your stuff away before check-in and after check-out, which is very helpful.

Disliked: There are not enough bathrooms, so in the morning rush you'll quite possibly be waiting around while people shower. All of the bathrooms are combined shower/toilets, too, so even if you just need to use the toilet or even just the basin to brush your teeth, you might still be waiting for people in the showers. Still, that definitely wouldn't be enough to stop me coming back, so just be warned and come stay here anyway!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Boyle

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Empredado are super friendly, happy to help and quite knowledgeable about activities to do in the area. The hostel has a nice atmosphere though don't expect to come across too many argentines staying there. They have social activities every evening and the breakfast is excellent.

Disliked: The asado that they held while we were there was disappointing because it did not contain all the things we were promised (no bread, just meat!). The lockers in our room were a bit dodgy and the two of the showers were in bad condition. Otherwise all good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marisa Schuler

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Marisa would recommend this property

Liked: The ladies behind the desk were incredibly helpful! They also offered rates for activities at about 100 pesos less than what my friends were getting at other hostels.

Disliked: My only complaint is that the sheets were all the same -- there were no base sheets, only top ones, so that at night I would have to tuck the sheets under the mattress to hold it down, but every morning I woke up on the mattress itself, which was pretty gross.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricio Lailla

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Patricio would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, the place itself is rather big, with two terraces, several bathrooms with showers and many dinning places. It's fairly one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in South America. The atmosphere is great. It offers several in-house activities such as regional stuff lessons and also in-house regional dinners. I'll most likely stay in Empedrado should I return to Mendoza.

Disliked: It's almost at all times a bit noisy, but nothing other than that.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful, loved the empanadas cooking and mate classes. Nice outdoor area with self serve grapes. Loved the pancakes for breakfast.

Disliked: Thin walls, wifi unreliable in room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kimberley Cook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good facilities and activities such as a free washing machine, free glass of wine in the evening, and they organise BBQs, wine tasting etc which makes the hostel pretty social. The kitchen is fairly good, breakfast is great and the location is fairly central, a 10-15 minute walk to the main plaza.

Disliked: The rooms were quite old, with terrible pillows and beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Sotelo

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 January 2013 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel es excelente, cálido, tranquilo, seguro, limpio, con un staff de lo mejor. Además ofrece muchas actividades, sobre todo muy atractivas a los viajeros extranjeros como clases de mate, idioma y cocina local. La ubicación es apenas alejada del centro, lo que hace que sea a la vez muy tranquilo pero accesible a todo lo que ofrece la ciudad. El desayuno excelente, muy bien por los paqueques (crepes) con dulce de leche! Gracias a todos por la atención espero volver pronto, 100% recomendable.

Disliked: Liliana left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was the best we have had and includes fresh fruit, eggs, pastries, coffee and more. Hostel staff are very helpful and friendly. Free use of washing machine!

Disliked: One of the shower drains was blocked with hair and you end up standing in a big puddle. Soap dispensers dont work in any bathrooms- so i assume everyone has dirty hands. Only 1 sharp knife in the whole hostel. Air conditioning is NOT in all rooms. Ask before you check in. The parilla (bbq) was overpriced- the meat was not good quality, better to go to a restaurant for the price.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we really enjoyed the free classes: empanada class, spanish lesson and wine tasting! by the way, every day you get one glass of wine for free :-)

Disliked: nothing


See all Mendoza hostels