We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Empedrado Hostel

Hostel | Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

87.8% Overall Rating

407 out of 431 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

Will blunden thinks…

"Staff were great and an absolutely fantastic breakfast! Pancakes and scrambled eggs!"

Read all Empedrado Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Hostal Confluencia
17.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 5 reviews
Punto Urbano Hostel
8.01 USD

Hostel 80.2% 14 reviews
Mendoza Lodging
7.68 USD

Hostel 83.5% 94 reviews
Hostel Suites Mendoza
12.93 USD

Hostel 89.1% 134 reviews
Hostel Cuyum Mapu Mendoza
16.45 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews
Hostel Lagares
13.16 USD

Hostel 92.6% 178 reviews
Hostel International Campo Base
5.48 USD

Hostel 74.1% 98 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

407 out of 431 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Empedrado Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 375 of 411 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will blunden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2015 Will would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great and an absolutely fantastic breakfast! Pancakes and scrambled eggs!

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sukhbir Grewal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015 Sukhbir would recommend this property

Liked: Great bookings for tours and activities and friendly staff

Disliked: rooms were sort of stuffy, and triggered a lot of my allergies. they had a heat lamp going that was blinding and wasnt the most effective. so id recommnd going in the summer when the heat lamp is not necessary

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I know everyone talks about the breakfast, but Claudia is friendly and just lovely and will make you some delicious crepes or eggs (or both) for breakfast. Great hostel breakfast. The staff are amazing, very helpful, knowledgeable, great communication and were able to switch a tour for me after I came down with a killer hangover (too much Malbec). The room was clean, the bathroom was clean (really important thing to mention). I was really impressed. Great value for money. I would stay here again, and I have recommended it to my friends! Good vibe, great location. Thank you so much.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rick walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2015 Rick would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff good breakfast good "free wine happy hour" good tour options free to use washing machine

Disliked: One of my mates had a couple of items nicked off the washing line, but these things can happen right.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nachum Yardenay

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2015 Nachum would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and friendly staff. Good breakfast.

Disliked: A little far from the center. Some rooms are not well maintained - in my case a non working AC and a noisy replacement fan. A laundry item was stolen from the laundry drying line.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, swimming pool and roof top terrace, excursions/tours, nice location in a quiet street.

Disliked: - Room was not as we expected: quite small and especially the bathroom was very small (hardly able to sit on the toilet as the wall in front of it was too close to it) and dirty with e.g. rotten windows and shabby shower. - Staff booked an excursion for us which we paid, but then at the day of the excursion when we were waiting to be picked up, it appeared that it wasn't booked at all and it was full for the next days as well. This meant that we couldn't do the excursion that we had been looking forward to for weeks!! :-( They didn't offer us any compensation, only gave back our money at the exchange rate of that day (which was less than we paid). So at the end we lost money and didn't do the excursion due to the incompetence of the staff... - A lot of activities didn't go on because it was around New Year's Eve. A pity as those were things we had in mind when we booked the hostel and they didn't say this on the website.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The woman on reception was very helpful and friendly, assisting us with all our enquiries. Kitchen was well-equipped, breakfast was great and there was free wine tasting every night. It is located right near a large supermarket.

Disliked: Location is a bit out of town. The room backing onto the outdoor common area can get very loud at night.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and the free wine

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff. Great breakfast. good kitchen. Quiet rooms. Free laundry! Great wifi. Lots of activities on offer. map provided. One of our favourites so far on our trip.... :)

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andi Schnischna

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Andi would recommend this property

Liked: booking: 17.-20. May 2014, double room with shared bathroom. location: a bit north of town center, sights and restaurants are in walking distance. property: above average. stuff: nice and helpful. room: functional but definitely not beautiful, big enough with one more bunk bed in the romm so enough storage space. bathroom: shared, clean, poor water supply, hot water only dripping in the shower. kitchen: we didn't use it but it looked properly equipped. breakfast: very good breakfast with pancakes and omelette. internet: (most time) available in room and all over the place, average speed, sometimes slow. else: They offer a lot of activities in the hostel (BBQ, cooking, wine tasting, free wine in the evening ...) and around Mendoza. We would come back.

Disliked: All likes and dislikes see above.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jerry Goding

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2014 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: Free wine hour, great for meeting other backpackers. Breakfast was good

Disliked: Jerry left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Van Gaal

Alone

Business / conference
City break

19 May 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Organised activities, breakfast, wifi, staff, terrace, living room, kitchen.

Disliked: Little further away from the 'downtown' street as I thaught. But a 30pesos (3dollar) or a 20minute walk will get you there easily!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Angelika Kot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Angelika would recommend this property

Liked: Outdoor terraces

Disliked: Cheesy bunk beds

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dennis Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Good fun hostel, with the free wine, activities being organised and they have other extras like a sun roof, fre washing machine use, internet computers etc. Breakfast was really good, especially the crepes/pancakes.

Disliked: Sheets were not provided so i had to get my own and they don´t get changed often if at all. Internet connection is also really slow, mauybe because people skype but it kept disconnecting.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Lehane

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it was the best choice of hostel. would definitely recommend it to a friend or return to this hostel if i was to visit Mendoza again. Better than any hotel, breakfast was lovely, staff were very helpful and friendly, overall if it had a star rating I would give it 5.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Free wine hour helps you meet people. Good roof terrace. Good wifi.

Disliked: Needs a deep clean. A few but not all of the staff were not the friendliest, tho tbf they were all pretty laid back.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Ballardie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff, value for money tours, free laundry and lovely patio area.

Disliked: Bit noisy for us and quite a young crowd.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Peter Hammond

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very good considering the price for accommodation. There were several chill out areas, and they had activities on offer everyday if you wanted. Wine was available to buy at not over inflated prices.

Disliked: The bathroom in our private room was not clean, and didn't look like it had been cleaned properly for a very very long time. There was a major design fault with the shower, as waterr flowed over the top of the drain hole and flowed out onto the bathroom floor. This was a major safety issue, slipping on a tiled floor. DANGEROUS!!! The water was also causing a rotting problem with the wall and floor.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mayuran Jegatheeswaran

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Mayuran would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and a lot of common areas to hang out

Disliked: Maybe it was just when I went but the atmosphere was not that fun

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great really helpful and the facilities were good secure with 24 reception and front door was monitored. Rooms were exactly a described and the wine happy hour was a brilliant way to get to meet people and socialise. the breakfast was the best we had in South America and we would definately recommend!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My favourite aspect of this hostel is the outdoor garden and pool area. Grape fines grow creating a ceiling and shading the garden area from the hot sun. Hammocks hang beside the pool, and there is a patio on the roof if you are looking to soak up some sun. The perfect place to relax after a day of trekking or cycling. The staff are very helpful and can help you organize day trips and activities.

Disliked: Our air conditioner wasn't working and it was really warm in the room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Machado Gulleri Paolo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2013 Machado Gulleri would recommend this property

Liked: It was my first experience in a hostel and if every hostel is like that, i will not go anymore to any hotel. the staff was really helpfull and more than friendly! breakfast an bbq dinner was great!!! the possibility to book many different excursions is awesome! you gonna find a lot of clubs, bars and nice restaurant not far away from the hotel! if you want to have a good time in mendoza… book a room in the hostel empedrado!

Disliked: Machado Gulleri left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FREE LAUNDARY!!! Great breakfast, maps of town, and information on the tours Hostel event provided every nigh, many for free And free wine happy hour every night

Disliked: Could have used an extra bathroom

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere.Good service and excursion to vineyards.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Hough

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff were really helpful and friendly (special thanks to Anna). Loved the pancakes and omelettes for breakfast and my wife loved the free wine every night. They can help with excursions and they also do other fun events at the hostel.Highly recommend these guys

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Mendoza hostels