We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Empedrado Hostel

Hostel | Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

87.8% Overall Rating

407 out of 431 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2015)

Will blunden thinks…

"Staff were great and an absolutely fantastic breakfast! Pancakes and scrambled eggs!"

Read all Empedrado Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Hostal Confluencia
17.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 5 reviews
Punto Urbano Hostel
7.98 USD

Hostel 80.2% 14 reviews
Mendoza Lodging
6.56 USD

Hostel 83.5% 94 reviews
Hostel Suites Mendoza
12.90 USD

Hostel 89.1% 134 reviews
Hostel Cuyum Mapu Mendoza
16.39 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews
Hostel Lagares
10.93 USD

Hostel 92.6% 178 reviews
Hostel International Campo Base
5.46 USD

Hostel 74.1% 98 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

407 out of 431 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Empedrado Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 375 of 411 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, lots of helpful services, evening activities on offer, big kitchens, great outdoor space

Disliked: Kitchen not got good equipment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Wieczorek

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: A great atmosphere that was friendly and social... Large kitchen area, common area and outdoor area unlike other hostels.. Facilities were really good. The staff were also very helpful..

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing breakfast, very sociable, lots of things to do to meet people if you are travelling on your own.

Disliked: nothing really....bathrooms downstairs.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wine! Along with laundry facilities, friendly and helpful staff. the room was ok but smelt musty and the mattress wasn´t great.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms. Too loud in the evenings- we were next to the courtyard and could hear people until the early hours- not great if you need to get an early bus the next day.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katie Wing

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really clean and very social. The hostel put events on each night so it´s really easy to meet fellow travellers. The owners were really kind and helpful and helped us alot with info on getting to the vineyards. The hostel offers a free glass of wine each evening and a free small bottle when you check out. There´s a great roof terrace to enjoy the sun and free washing machine. This hostel is a fab place to stay, we originally booked 1 night but stayed for 3!

Disliked: Nothing - loved it!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really great and friendly. The hotel activities are nice, for example free winetasting was better introduction to taste wines than a comercial that we have done before. Also breakfast was very good. Free laudry was nice.

Disliked: --

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANTHONY FAIRBROTHER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 ANTHONY would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent services - free washing, wine. Great breakfast, friendly, helpful staff. Fun activities -BBQ, free wine tasting. Excellent all round!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of the best hostels i have stayed in. The hostel is located a little way out the main centre- about 15peso's from the bus terminal , but the fact that it is a little way out makes it more secure. The hostel really focuses on the local wine and therefore is a great way to sample the local produce! This isn't a party hostel but has a great feel and character. They have a good breakfast of eggs, pancakes, toast (james etc), maize cereal and apples- standard really. The kitchen facilities are also good and are kitted out well- it is also close to the large supermarket..

Disliked: Nothing really, the matresses need to be replaced if anything....

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel and the staff created an atmosphere of friendliness such that it was easy to meet people to travel with. The breakfast was good, the free wine was easy and the services were tops.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Surace

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was amazing! A really great place to meet people and relax over a bottle of wine. The two kitchens are really useful, and the asado night is not to be missed. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and let us stay the day while waiting for a bus. All in all, if you're going to Mendoza, this is the place to stay!

Disliked: Our private bathroom had a level floor; hence flooding when we took a shower.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Big place, friendly staff, lots of lockers.

Disliked: A bit of a walk from the interesting part of town.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great hostel. Super-friendly and helpful staff, nice common areas, great little patio and sun terrace. Generous breakfast, including pancakes. Nice touches like the free glass of malbec daily (even if I ended up never having it!), free use of washing machine and lockers for luggage after check out.

Disliked: Could work a little on improving two of the four bathrooms - they're a bit more like "wetrooms" now and while perhaps it's hard to do much about the smallest one, the one on second floor should be better if just a shower curtain was added...

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof top terrace is awesome, 2 kitchens, staff are really nice, free laundry is AMAZING (seriously who does that?)

Disliked: nothing comes to mind...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Lammens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

19 April 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the free winetasting, amount of kitchens, garden and free international phone calls! Nice atmosphere!

Disliked: That I had to leave because it was full, which is a good sign I guess!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jodie Fenn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: Anna on reception was very helpful. Great roof and one of my best breakfasts whilst travelling yet! Good kitchens too.

Disliked: Some of the staff were not very friendly, and the power went off for one afternoon.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cleAn

Disliked: Na

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel and a really good place to meet people. Although a little away from all the bars of Mendoza there is a great social atmosphere and a place I liked better. There are loads of great features such as the lovely breakfast, glass of wine in the evening, and big communal areas to meet people. Anna is absolutely fantastic and so helpful, she really made our stay here perfect. I couldnt recommed the hostel highly enough.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, nightly events

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Palgrave

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great social events each night (tapas, wine tasting, spanish lessons etc). Lots of space - two kitchens and lots of places to sit and relax. Really friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way. FREE WINE EVERY DAY AND FREE PHONECALLS TO YOUR HOME COUNTRY (15 mins per day!)! amazing. The crowd here seemed to be really chilled but still very social- i.e. not a party hostel full of teenagers, but a fab place to meet interesting and fun people to go on your wine tours with! Amazing breakfast including fresh pancakes, fruit, pastries, bread, eggs and cereal. Beautiful outdoor areas for eating, sunbathing, using the huge bbq, picking grapes from the vines, swimming or lying in a hammock. 1 minute from a huge supermarket with everything you need for the bbq (see above!) They let us have breakfast and quickly cleaned our room so we could check in as soon as we arrived (at 8am from a night bus) which is always such a bonus. My favourite hostel in 2 months of travelling south america!

Disliked: I can´t really fault this place, it is about 5 minutes walk from the center of town, but we didn´t really need to go there accept for hitting the bars at night, and even then a taxi is only around $1.50.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Samuel Bainbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011

Liked: The Breakfast was quite nice. The dorm rooms were a decent size. You get a free little bottle of wine when you leave which is a nice touch.

Disliked: The hostel is a good 20 minute walk from the city centre and quite a fair way from the bus station. Also I wouldnt say its the safest area after dark, as the streets arent very well lit.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Anna was fantastic on reception, really helpful. The breakfast is great and I loved the terrace. The asado was also fab!!

Disliked: n/a

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Hogan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are super friendly and the BBQ and other evening activities are lots of fun!

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms in my opinion!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas are really good. Outside patio, roof terrace, two kitchens (although both are quite small), and a few other areas to sit around. 3 Computers with good WiFi. Organised tours are good. Close to a big supermarket.

Disliked: Centre and Park San Martin are a bit of a walk, but not too bad. Bathrooms could be better, and it's a bit strange that most of the bathrooms are on the ground (communal) floor. Rooms were quite small and bed mattresses were a bit rubbish.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, great staff and generally a great place to stay - loads of space, different optional meals each night, lovely roof terrace and a FREE washing machine!

Disliked: Nada

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Prout

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: cool place

Disliked: lack of toilets

The property's response is...


See all Mendoza hostels