HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Empedrado Mendoza Hostel

Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 90%

Location 80%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 90%

Location 80%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

Showing 61-30 of 30 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Best hostel we've stayed at in six months of travel. Great staff, great place to meet people, tons of free and fun activities on offer.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Kitchen cooking wear was limited. One of the shower drain is very slow. I had a room to myself, it was located outside away from other rooms, and far to get to the bathroom. My room was super basic, small and it was a bunk bed. Worst pillow ever. The sunset horse riding was touristy, song sing along was bit cheesy, they were late picking us up and we missed the sunset.


The property's response is

Hola Donna,
Thank you for your review. I do not know if you saw our other kitchen, so we have 2 kitchen available with 3 ovens for using and yes, sometimes if everyone cooking in the same time can be crowded, but they are full equipment. Showers we will look which one got problem, pillows are brand new and horseback riding it is for tourist so it is guitar music, wine, bonfire, all for tourists.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not quite sure how this hostel has "best hostel in south america" reviews. It's an ok hostel, nothing more, beds and linen are really basic, bathrooms are clean and "ok". Lounge area is most uncomfortable. Fine for a few nights, they honour the "book for 4 and pay for 3 nights" which is good. Did the sunset horse riding tour and was great, had an awesome time. Helpful staff, not far from main plaza etc. Cleaning lady coming in at 9am, moving beds around and cleaning the floors with petrol and huffing and puffing was most annoying, this is wine region, cleaning dorms at 9am not appropriate.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hola Ali,
Thank you for your review. We will make sure that cleaning dorms around 9 am will not happend again and our living we will try to make more comfortable, we did not know that it is uncomfortable. Regards, Anna

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: beautiful patio, lots of common space, friendly staff

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: My stay at Empedrado exceeded my expectations. The staff there are truly exceptional and they are what makes this hostel unique. They are accommodating, knowledgeable, friendly and kind. They helped sign me up for various activities, my favorite of which was horseback riding in the mountains at sunset with Los Pingos (definitely sign up for this!). They also arrange activities at the hostel, including an asado (Argentine BBQ), which was another highlight of my trip. Gustavo, the grill master, made an unbelievable feast which I won't soon forget! In terms of more technical details- the rooms are comfortable, clean, and secure and include individual lockers; the kitchen is well kept and large so cooking (which I don't normally do at hostels) is fun; and there are plenty of places (indoor and outdoor) to relax.I would stay here again without hesitation and enthusiastically recommend Empedrado to travelers who are looking to meet some great people, drink some delicious Malbec, and enjoy Mendoza both in and outside of the hostel. Thanks Empedrado friends for a great stay!!! xoxo

Disliked: Nothing! It's really that amazing!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hola! Thank you for taking the time to comment we do appreciate it. Have a lovely holidays, regards, Anna :)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great kitchen, good location in quiet residential neighborhood, free washer

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms on upper floors

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in, in 4 months of travelling around South America. The staff are simply astonishing in their helpfulness, I can't compliment them enough, going well beyond the call of duty and doing everything with huge smiles on their faces. The rooms are comfy enough, the atmosphere is great and the common areas lend themselves brilliantly to socialising with other travellers, an awesome place to stay and we ended up staying much longer than planned!

Disliked: This is nitpicking to the highest degree but the living room chairs/sofas could do with being replaced with some things a bit more comfortable, but I'm really clutching at straws here!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great hostel activities! Free Spanish class, BBQ dinners and free wine each night. We stayed in a private room and shared bathroom. The room was very spacious, had a tv, and additional bunk bed. The bathroom was also large and almost always available as there are so many. I liked the atmosphere and staff were so helpful and thoughtful. Best breakfast I've had at a hostel so far. They also had lockers to put our things in after check out. We had a stay 4 nights pay 3 special which was great!

Disliked: There was one busy morning where the hot water ran out.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff were great!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent organisation of tours and activities at hostel. great atompphere in hostel and very friendly and helpful staff. Free activities in evenings included: wine tasting, cooking class, spanish lessons. excellent BBQ and Pizza nights. Free glass of wine every night also went down well!!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability