HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Empedrado Hostel

Hostel | Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

91.9% Overall Rating

389 out of 413 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

"Great atmosphere. Free wine hour helps you meet people. Good roof terrace. Good wifi."

Read all Empedrado Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Hostal Confluencia
18.39 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 4 reviews
Punto Urbano Hostel
9.32 USD

Hostel 83.8% 6 reviews
Mendoza Lodging
9.32 USD

Hostel 85.1% 91 reviews
Hotel Laerte
9.94 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostel Suites Mendoza
10.56 USD

Hostel 90.7% 89 reviews
Old House Mendoza Hostel
9.94 USD

Hostel 87.1% 8 reviews
Wine Aparts
11.18 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Cuyum Mapu Mendoza
16.15 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

389 out of 413 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Empedrado Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 360 of 393 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel i've ever been too! nice big rooms, bathrooms (and everything else!) were always clean, the staff very helpful, they had a lot of free activities and the best breakfast. the best thing though was the big outside area with a small pool, hammocks, grapes to pick and always nice people to talk to and to drink wine with. very nice atmosphere!

Disliked: nothing :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Empedrado hostel is a great place to stay in if you visit Mendoza! Lovely staff, very friendly and help you with anything you need. Clean, nice rooms and bathrooms. A pool, garden with grapes and nice roofterrace. Very recommended!!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Barron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVE this hostel. Not only is it clean and has great comon areas, the staff is super. I fell very sick and the staff called a doctor to come to the hostel for me. I was very appreciative. The breakfast has pastries, crepes and eggs. There are great areas for hanging out. The horse adventure tour from the hostel is a great value.

Disliked: Bad wifi but they do have 3 computers for use

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ROMINA ANCAROLA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 ROMINA would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and willing to help you in any way. There are a lot of facilities for free!

Disliked: The rooms unfortunately are not so tidy. There are a lot of noises from outside in the rooms facing the street.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Two kitchen areas make it easy to cook, even if lots of people are cooking. Same goes for the multiple bathrooms, which were generally quite clean. There's a cool rooftop deck and a small pool. Free wine was an excellent touch!

Disliked: My biggest complaint is that it is HOT in the very back dorm bedroom. There was no air conditioning and it was unbearable in the summer heat. If it weren't for this, I would have given the hostel a higher rating. It seems some rooms do have ac though, so perhaps request those if you are coming in the warmer months.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Biliana Draganova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Biliana would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Biliana left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maximiliano Germán Godoy Schimpf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Maximiliano Germán would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, everyuthing was fine and they`ve always be so helpul. I'm happy, and will be there the next week again

Disliked: everything was ok, asado could be maybe better and with more things like just vacio.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is great

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing is cheap in Argentina but feel that value was had here

Disliked: NADA

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly staff, nice commonrooms and activities like a free winetasting in the evenings! Really nice for backpackers

Disliked: The showers are at different places in ths hostel, so in the morning you might have to look in a few places before finding one that isn't occupied.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great BBQ, nice pool to cool down in. Nice spacious dorms and lively without being too much of a party hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful check in, including grapes from the vines that grow in the hostel. Hostel has a homely feel and they make a huge effort to put on evening entertainment such as BBQs, wine tasting, empanada making etc. Good range of tours offered too. They are some great extras too like free laundry and free international calls for 15 mins each day. They have kept 3 computers with internet access as well as wifi which can be useful. Pool was small but a welcome respite from the heat and cleaned and water replenished regularly...

Disliked: Nothing, really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of our favourite hostels in Argentina. Great services, lots of things going on and great for socialising but in a chilled out way. The girl on reception was great- really helpful and gave us a quick tour of the hostel when we arrived which was great. Brilliant ensuite room - basic but had space and all we needed. Nice street and a lovely walk along to the more central area. Good location with a big supermarket a block away. Various sitting areas in the hostel and feels spacious. Several computers for use too. Very safe as Reception have to let people in.

Disliked: Wifi only really worked in one spot in our room so often had to go down to a common area to work better.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Empradrao is an awesome Hostel. Great facilities, the pool is so necessary in summer and is cleaned daily which is great. Staff were so helpful and made all the day tours so easy. Free international phjone calls and free glass of wine was a bonus! We also did the free empanada making class which was great. A short walk into town but the streets are lovely and it is a pleasant walk which we enjoyed. It is also 1 block for a very big, fresh supermarket which has everything!!

Disliked: Nothing. It was everything we hoped for. Some travellers who like being right in the middle of town might not like the 5 block walk but you should try it anyway!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, great breakfast. Loved the free glass of wine and phone call home, lockers and friendly introductory tour of hostel fascilities on arrival. It´s the little things that make the difference and Empedrado do it all well.

Disliked: No dislikes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The free wine glass every day -The free 15-minute international phone call every day (couldn't believe that I could call my family in switzerland for free!!) -The breakfast was reaaaally good and there was a lot of different things -the bbq organised by the hostel a few times a week: great food and wine for only a few pesos and you get to meet new people

Disliked: -The careless girls in our rooms that started packing (loudly and with full lights on) at around 11.30 when we wanted to sleep (we had to wake up very early the next day)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was an easy walk to the center and in a quiet neighbourhood. There was one activity every night and most were free and fun. All of the staff that spoke English were nice and happy to help. The bathrooms were clean and had hot water all the time, which is important to me. I would definitely recommend this hostel to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan gordon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: * place very clean. every couple of hours the hostel clean the kitchen , shower and the garden. * good breakfast . Everyday they add a new thing on the breakfast .. * the best kitchen I Ever sew in the trip . * Any question you have an answer . * Washing machine free. * Spanish lesson, cooking lesson , one glass of wine per day.(when I stay in the hostel ) * Big supermarket 5 minute walk . Very quiet ..

Disliked: It was perfect .. Don't want to live

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast and charming hostel, staff were helpful and very generous with wine and other free things (empanada cooking class, wine tasting, etc)

Disliked: A little far from the centre but still walking distance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

21 December 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a little gem. It´s clean, the staff are really friendly and helpful, they organise great social events in the hostel like asados and pizza nights, they´ll book all sorts of tours for you and the majority of people staying in the hostel - a wide range of age groups - we´re laid back, considerate and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Greatest facilities ever. Good staff and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: The room could be cleaner and have a more careful decoration. Everytime you use the shower, you´re gonna completely wet the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosa Ungpakorn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great - central Mendoza, next to a big supermarket and bus stops to Maipu only a short walk away. The staff were lovely and friendly and very helpful. Everywhere was really clean and the kitchen had lots of equipment in it. Outside space was nice (the pool was tiny but hammock next to it was comfy). Free washing machine was a nice touch, as was free glass of wine every night.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Loads on offer. good kitchen facilities, close to supermarket. Staff helpful with information. Free glass of wine every night! always clean, really enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BRUNO ISMAIL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2011 BRUNO would recommend this property

Liked: I liked pretty much EVERYTHING about this property. Value for money, cleanliness and environment are just outstanding. Also, the staff represented by Anna, Patricio and Heber is the best I've ever got (and I've been to more than 100 hostels in the world). Really friendly, competent and "out of the box" people! Thanks Hostel Empedrado for my best stay in Latin America!

Disliked: It can not be my home forever....

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jamie townend

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011

Liked: Excellent, friendly hostel. Sociable but not a party hostel.

Disliked: jamie left no negative feedback.


See all Mendoza hostels