HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Empedrado Mendoza Hostel

Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 89%

Location 78%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 89%

Location 78%

Safety 94%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

Showing 31-25 of 25 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've actually booked a week at this property and am still here, into my third day. I have been very well cared for, from the loss of my backpack (taken care of) to the free laundry facility on site(thank you) to the most attentive staff. The place is spotless, open and wonderful. Lots of room, options to sleep, big kitchen, close to downtown and every activity you can imagine.

Disliked: We could use a few more bathrooms in the morning- too many people, too few banos.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Really good value for money-200 pesos for a private double room WITH GREAT breakfast - what more do you want. Pancakes with dulce de leche, eggs, cereal, pastries, hot chocolate, coffee and tea for breakfast... Yumm!It was really clean and the staff was amazingly helpful and nice.

Disliked: It is quite noisy and you could hear everything through the thin walls. Our room was next to the kitchen/courtyard and that was really quite loud in the evening/at night. Bring some earplugs! Still a very recommendable hostel!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice staff; they were very helpfull especially when we couldn't leave due to bus strikes. Clean, big common spaces and a well equipped kitchen. Staff is also very knowledgable on activities to do. Also nice (free) activities by the hostel everyday, like wine tastings and empanada class. Location is fine, just 7 blocks from the main square.

Disliked: The bed sheets are only simple sheets which (even though you tuck them in before giong to sleep) are definitely off your matress when waking up, not very clean. During bathroom rush hour in the morning you sometimes have to wait a while before a shower is available.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is great -- lots of common areas, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of lockers -- both inside the rooms and in common areas, so you can lock your stuff away before check-in and after check-out, which is very helpful.

Disliked: There are not enough bathrooms, so in the morning rush you'll quite possibly be waiting around while people shower. All of the bathrooms are combined shower/toilets, too, so even if you just need to use the toilet or even just the basin to brush your teeth, you might still be waiting for people in the showers. Still, that definitely wouldn't be enough to stop me coming back, so just be warned and come stay here anyway!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff at Empredado are super friendly, happy to help and quite knowledgeable about activities to do in the area. The hostel has a nice atmosphere though don't expect to come across too many argentines staying there. They have social activities every evening and the breakfast is excellent.

Disliked: The asado that they held while we were there was disappointing because it did not contain all the things we were promised (no bread, just meat!). The lockers in our room were a bit dodgy and the two of the showers were in bad condition. Otherwise all good!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The ladies behind the desk were incredibly helpful! They also offered rates for activities at about 100 pesos less than what my friends were getting at other hostels.

Disliked: My only complaint is that the sheets were all the same -- there were no base sheets, only top ones, so that at night I would have to tuck the sheets under the mattress to hold it down, but every morning I woke up on the mattress itself, which was pretty gross.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hola Marisa,
Thank you for your comment.
Usually every person gets 2 sheets, we do not know why you end up with only one.
Sorry for inconvenience and we hope that you will have great holidays.
Regards,
Hostel Empedrado

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great place, the place itself is rather big, with two terraces, several bathrooms with showers and many dinning places. It's fairly one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in South America. The atmosphere is great. It offers several in-house activities such as regional stuff lessons and also in-house regional dinners. I'll most likely stay in Empedrado should I return to Mendoza.

Disliked: It's almost at all times a bit noisy, but nothing other than that.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful staff, I left my cellphone behind and they found it and arranged for it to be sent to NZ for me which was amazing. Very social and they can book lots of activities for you.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was very helpful, loved the empanadas cooking and mate classes. Nice outdoor area with self serve grapes. Loved the pancakes for breakfast.

Disliked: Thin walls, wifi unreliable in room

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good facilities and activities such as a free washing machine, free glass of wine in the evening, and they organise BBQs, wine tasting etc which makes the hostel pretty social. The kitchen is fairly good, breakfast is great and the location is fairly central, a 10-15 minute walk to the main plaza.

Disliked: The rooms were quite old, with terrible pillows and beds.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability