HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Empedrado Hostel

Hostel | Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

91.9% Overall Rating

390 out of 414 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Rachel Lehane thinks…

"Everything, it was the best choice of hostel. would definitely recommend it to a friend or return to this hostel if i was to visit Mendoza again. Better than any hotel, breakfast was lovely, staff…"

Read all Empedrado Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Punto Urbano Hostel
6.25 USD

Hostel 83.8% 6 reviews
Mendoza Lodging
9.37 USD

Hostel 85.1% 91 reviews
Hotel Laerte
9.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostel Suites Mendoza
10.62 USD

Hostel 90.6% 90 reviews
Old House Mendoza Hostel
11.24 USD

Hostel 84.4% 9 reviews
Wine Aparts
11.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Cuyum Mapu Mendoza
16.24 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews
Hostel Lagares
9.99 USD

Hostel 91.5% 173 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

390 out of 414 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Empedrado Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 361 of 394 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel activities! Free Spanish class, BBQ dinners and free wine each night. We stayed in a private room and shared bathroom. The room was very spacious, had a tv, and additional bunk bed. The bathroom was also large and almost always available as there are so many. I liked the atmosphere and staff were so helpful and thoughtful. Best breakfast I've had at a hostel so far. They also had lockers to put our things in after check out. We had a stay 4 nights pay 3 special which was great!

Disliked: There was one busy morning where the hot water ran out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel we've stayed in during our 1 year of travels! The staff were always very friendly and helpful, the rooms are nice, the communal areas are really comfortable. The nightly activities they organise are good fun and the best part was the daily glass of wine!

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Heaford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff member on nights was fantastic, she was friendly and really willing to help. She explained everything patiently and also made jokes to make us feel welcome. The tour when we got there was a great touch too. The hostel Was clean and was being painted but that wasn't a problem. The facilities and activities on offer were the best I have had in the last two months travelling.

Disliked: Bathrooms for the private rooms are small and drainage isn't great, shared bathrooms are great though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very frinedly and helpful. They organize any kind of excursion for you and offer a special wine tour to Lujan which is fantastic. The hostel itself has a lot of activies to offer as Empanadas cooking class, wine tasting or B.B.Q. and it makes it easy to get to know other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Prodanovich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, lots of organized activities to help people meet each other, and they are constantly giving you free wine.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie moore

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 julie would recommend this property

Liked: we were older travellers and loved staying here caring friendly homely huge value for your dollar fantastic

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Scribner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything. The staff was amazing. Typically there's one decent, helpful staff member....here they were all exceptional, including kitchen workers, etc... Good location; heaters in rooms; good breakfast. Best hostel I stayed in during my month in South America.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Garcia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: the house is the best, great space for socializing and relaxation. At night they make wonderful activities such as bbq, wine tasting, pizza party, cooking classes etc..

Disliked: everything was great, the truth I have nothing to complain

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brooke Logterman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: The people that work there are incredible. They are very friendly, knowledgable and helpful. They are also always positive and willing to answer your questions. The tours they have available are excellent! I recommend the horseback riding at sunset. I know it sounds cheesy but it was really a cool and fun experience. The bike tours through wine-country are a bit confusing but worth it once you get oriented. If you go on the bike tour through Lujan de Cuyo you have to go to the charming restaurant next door to the bike rental place. The owner is so sweet and the place is super quaint, not to mention whatever food he has is pretty good =) As for the property, there is towel service, you have freedom to come and go as you please, there are many computers for internet and there is plenty of hot water. The kitchen space is nice and open and clean. There is a large movie collection for you to watch movies and there are a lot of activities in the hostel. Best part - they give you a little bottle of Malbec upon leaving as a thank you. I think that was the nicest touch!

Disliked: My room was a bit plain. It could have used a picture on the wall or something! Some of the other rooms looked much cuter.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012

Liked: They have a nice roof deck. They offer activity every night (e.g. cooking, wine testing etc.) and a free glass of wine - not really attractive for people who don't drink. Is that the reason why they get the good ratings?

Disliked: Too big and unfamiliar place (I prefer family run hostels owned by locals). Bathrooms are not in a nice state. Not good value for the money.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Lawton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, lot of activities

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Foskett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Free glass of wine each night. Breakfast is amazing

Disliked: The half day wine tour took us to 2 wineries and a Olive oilery. But the Winerys we visited had been frequented all day long by coach after coachload of people. I´d rather have visited smaller vineyards that really need the custom. A little far away from the bus station too

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Free wine. Lockers.

Disliked: A bit far out from the center.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

richard lodge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 richard would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel with good private rooms. Great breakfast. Free Laundry. Hot showers. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: The location is a bit of a walk from sights in the city, but not too far. The shower although hot was like a little trickle of water. It was however a great run hostel and I would recommend this to people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly n helpful staff

Disliked: bed is too soft n hard to sleep with soft bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: English speaking staff and fully-equipped kitchen, plus have a good Wine/ASADO/YERBA MATE dinner lesson.

Disliked: no

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, free glass of wine each night, free activities at night were great, good common areas. Discount for andesmar bus was a bonus. Breakfast was great. Near big supermarket

Disliked: General location was ok but 15 minute walk to bus that goes to wineries

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay here, great bunch of people. Plenty of activities to choose from, staff helpful. Close to supermarket and a short walk from the city centre.

Disliked: The bathrooms were tiny and could use a bit of a refurb.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josh Mullenger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the showers were good but they got a little block after a bit but besides that they were really good.

Disliked: Not much really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alicja Serafin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Alicja would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is the best free breakfast I've ever had!

Disliked: Alicja left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, welcoming and friendly. Facilites were awesome. The best hostel I've stayed in, in south America.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very helpful in planing excursions. Anna at the front desk was tremendously knowledgeable and helpful. The evening events available in the hostel were also informative and fun.

Disliked: There are not enough bathrooms/showers to handle all of the people in the mornings.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esther Mobley

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

24 April 2012 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Empedrado is incredibly friendly and helpful. They let me use their phone when mine wasn't working; they were quickly calling places to arrange my excursions for me. There was nothing you couldn't ask them. The facilities are great and clean. the kitchen is big. It was a very fun place to be -- easy to meet people and very social but not overwhelmingly loud.

Disliked: The location could have been better. It's in a perfectly safe neighborhood, and it's still only about 10 blocks from the Plaza Independencia, but it would have been better if it had been closer to Calle Aristedes or some other place with a lot of bars. But nothing in Mendoza is very far, and I was very happy at the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Mendoza! The staff is superfriendly and helpful, and they have lots of activities and trips they can help you arrange (horseback riding, skydiving, spa, hiking etc). Breakfast was good, and they have a great kitchen where you can cook. Easy to meet other travelers, as they have activities&dinners at the hostel for everyone who is staying there. The free glass of wine every night is of course also a great plus..! In general, the place is great and everything and everyone makes you feel at home right away.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, the place is great!


See all Mendoza hostels