We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Empedrado Hostel

Hostel | Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

90.4% Overall Rating

399 out of 423 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"The woman on reception was very helpful and friendly, assisting us with all our enquiries. Kitchen was well-equipped, breakfast was great and there was free wine tasting every night. It is located right near a large…"

Read all Empedrado Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Punto Urbano Hostel
8.29 USD

Hostel 82.5% 9 reviews
Mendoza Lodging
8.29 USD

Hostel 83.1% 93 reviews
Hotel Laerte
9.47 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostel Suites Mendoza
10.07 USD

Hostel 93.8% 111 reviews
Wine Aparts
10.66 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Cuyum Mapu Mendoza
10.42 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews
Hostel Lagares
9.47 USD

Hostel 92.2% 174 reviews
Hostel Puertas del Sol
6.51 USD

Hostel 77.6% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

399 out of 423 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Empedrado Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 369 of 403 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we've stayed at in six months of travel. Great staff, great place to meet people, tons of free and fun activities on offer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

terry flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 terry would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent organisation of tours and activities at hostel. great atompphere in hostel and very friendly and helpful staff. Free activities in evenings included: wine tasting, cooking class, spanish lessons. excellent BBQ and Pizza nights. Free glass of wine every night also went down well!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prerna Bhardwaj

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2012 Prerna would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at Empedrado exceeded my expectations. The staff there are truly exceptional and they are what makes this hostel unique. They are accommodating, knowledgeable, friendly and kind. They helped sign me up for various activities, my favorite of which was horseback riding in the mountains at sunset with Los Pingos (definitely sign up for this!). They also arrange activities at the hostel, including an asado (Argentine BBQ), which was another highlight of my trip. Gustavo, the grill master, made an unbelievable feast which I won't soon forget! In terms of more technical details- the rooms are comfortable, clean, and secure and include individual lockers; the kitchen is well kept and large so cooking (which I don't normally do at hostels) is fun; and there are plenty of places (indoor and outdoor) to relax. I would stay here again without hesitation and enthusiastically recommend Empedrado to travelers who are looking to meet some great people, drink some delicious Malbec, and enjoy Mendoza both in and outside of the hostel. Thanks Empedrado friends for a great stay!!! xoxo

Disliked: Nothing! It's really that amazing!!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Kitchen cooking wear was limited. One of the shower drain is very slow. I had a room to myself, it was located outside away from other rooms, and far to get to the bathroom. My room was super basic, small and it was a bunk bed. Worst pillow ever. The sunset horse riding was touristy, song sing along was bit cheesy, they were late picking us up and we missed the sunset.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ali Hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: Not quite sure how this hostel has "best hostel in south america" reviews. It's an ok hostel, nothing more, beds and linen are really basic, bathrooms are clean and "ok". Lounge area is most uncomfortable. Fine for a few nights, they honour the "book for 4 and pay for 3 nights" which is good. Did the sunset horse riding tour and was great, had an awesome time. Helpful staff, not far from main plaza etc. Cleaning lady coming in at 9am, moving beds around and cleaning the floors with petrol and huffing and puffing was most annoying, this is wine region, cleaning dorms at 9am not appropriate.

Disliked: Ali left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful patio, lots of common space, friendly staff

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, good location in quiet residential neighborhood, free washer

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms on upper floors

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in, in 4 months of travelling around South America. The staff are simply astonishing in their helpfulness, I can't compliment them enough, going well beyond the call of duty and doing everything with huge smiles on their faces. The rooms are comfy enough, the atmosphere is great and the common areas lend themselves brilliantly to socialising with other travellers, an awesome place to stay and we ended up staying much longer than planned!

Disliked: This is nitpicking to the highest degree but the living room chairs/sofas could do with being replaced with some things a bit more comfortable, but I'm really clutching at straws here!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel activities! Free Spanish class, BBQ dinners and free wine each night. We stayed in a private room and shared bathroom. The room was very spacious, had a tv, and additional bunk bed. The bathroom was also large and almost always available as there are so many. I liked the atmosphere and staff were so helpful and thoughtful. Best breakfast I've had at a hostel so far. They also had lockers to put our things in after check out. We had a stay 4 nights pay 3 special which was great!

Disliked: There was one busy morning where the hot water ran out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel we've stayed in during our 1 year of travels! The staff were always very friendly and helpful, the rooms are nice, the communal areas are really comfortable. The nightly activities they organise are good fun and the best part was the daily glass of wine!

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Heaford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff member on nights was fantastic, she was friendly and really willing to help. She explained everything patiently and also made jokes to make us feel welcome. The tour when we got there was a great touch too. The hostel Was clean and was being painted but that wasn't a problem. The facilities and activities on offer were the best I have had in the last two months travelling.

Disliked: Bathrooms for the private rooms are small and drainage isn't great, shared bathrooms are great though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very frinedly and helpful. They organize any kind of excursion for you and offer a special wine tour to Lujan which is fantastic. The hostel itself has a lot of activies to offer as Empanadas cooking class, wine tasting or B.B.Q. and it makes it easy to get to know other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Prodanovich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, lots of organized activities to help people meet each other, and they are constantly giving you free wine.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie moore

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 julie would recommend this property

Liked: we were older travellers and loved staying here caring friendly homely huge value for your dollar fantastic

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Scribner

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything. The staff was amazing. Typically there's one decent, helpful staff member....here they were all exceptional, including kitchen workers, etc... Good location; heaters in rooms; good breakfast. Best hostel I stayed in during my month in South America.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Garcia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: the house is the best, great space for socializing and relaxation. At night they make wonderful activities such as bbq, wine tasting, pizza party, cooking classes etc..

Disliked: everything was great, the truth I have nothing to complain

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brooke Logterman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: The people that work there are incredible. They are very friendly, knowledgable and helpful. They are also always positive and willing to answer your questions. The tours they have available are excellent! I recommend the horseback riding at sunset. I know it sounds cheesy but it was really a cool and fun experience. The bike tours through wine-country are a bit confusing but worth it once you get oriented. If you go on the bike tour through Lujan de Cuyo you have to go to the charming restaurant next door to the bike rental place. The owner is so sweet and the place is super quaint, not to mention whatever food he has is pretty good =) As for the property, there is towel service, you have freedom to come and go as you please, there are many computers for internet and there is plenty of hot water. The kitchen space is nice and open and clean. There is a large movie collection for you to watch movies and there are a lot of activities in the hostel. Best part - they give you a little bottle of Malbec upon leaving as a thank you. I think that was the nicest touch!

Disliked: My room was a bit plain. It could have used a picture on the wall or something! Some of the other rooms looked much cuter.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012

Liked: They have a nice roof deck. They offer activity every night (e.g. cooking, wine testing etc.) and a free glass of wine - not really attractive for people who don't drink. Is that the reason why they get the good ratings?

Disliked: Too big and unfamiliar place (I prefer family run hostels owned by locals). Bathrooms are not in a nice state. Not good value for the money.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Lawton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, lot of activities

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Foskett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Free glass of wine each night. Breakfast is amazing

Disliked: The half day wine tour took us to 2 wineries and a Olive oilery. But the Winerys we visited had been frequented all day long by coach after coachload of people. I´d rather have visited smaller vineyards that really need the custom. A little far away from the bus station too

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Free wine. Lockers.

Disliked: A bit far out from the center.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

richard lodge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 richard would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel with good private rooms. Great breakfast. Free Laundry. Hot showers. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: The location is a bit of a walk from sights in the city, but not too far. The shower although hot was like a little trickle of water. It was however a great run hostel and I would recommend this to people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly n helpful staff

Disliked: bed is too soft n hard to sleep with soft bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: English speaking staff and fully-equipped kitchen, plus have a good Wine/ASADO/YERBA MATE dinner lesson.

Disliked: no

The property's response is...


See all Mendoza hostels