We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Empedrado Hostel

Hostel | Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

90.4% Overall Rating

399 out of 423 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"The woman on reception was very helpful and friendly, assisting us with all our enquiries. Kitchen was well-equipped, breakfast was great and there was free wine tasting every night. It is located right near a large…"

Read all Empedrado Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Punto Urbano Hostel
5.90 USD

Hostel 82.5% 9 reviews
Mendoza Lodging
6.49 USD

Hostel 83.1% 93 reviews
Hotel Laerte
9.44 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostel Suites Mendoza
10.03 USD

Hostel 93.8% 111 reviews
Wine Aparts
10.62 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Cuyum Mapu Mendoza
10.38 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews
Hostel Lagares
9.44 USD

Hostel 92.2% 174 reviews
Hostel Puertas del Sol
6.49 USD

Hostel 77.6% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

399 out of 423 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Empedrado Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 369 of 403 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Roberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great -- lots of common areas, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of lockers -- both inside the rooms and in common areas, so you can lock your stuff away before check-in and after check-out, which is very helpful.

Disliked: There are not enough bathrooms, so in the morning rush you'll quite possibly be waiting around while people shower. All of the bathrooms are combined shower/toilets, too, so even if you just need to use the toilet or even just the basin to brush your teeth, you might still be waiting for people in the showers. Still, that definitely wouldn't be enough to stop me coming back, so just be warned and come stay here anyway!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Boyle

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Empredado are super friendly, happy to help and quite knowledgeable about activities to do in the area. The hostel has a nice atmosphere though don't expect to come across too many argentines staying there. They have social activities every evening and the breakfast is excellent.

Disliked: The asado that they held while we were there was disappointing because it did not contain all the things we were promised (no bread, just meat!). The lockers in our room were a bit dodgy and the two of the showers were in bad condition. Otherwise all good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marisa Schuler

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Marisa would recommend this property

Liked: The ladies behind the desk were incredibly helpful! They also offered rates for activities at about 100 pesos less than what my friends were getting at other hostels.

Disliked: My only complaint is that the sheets were all the same -- there were no base sheets, only top ones, so that at night I would have to tuck the sheets under the mattress to hold it down, but every morning I woke up on the mattress itself, which was pretty gross.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricio Lailla

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Patricio would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, the place itself is rather big, with two terraces, several bathrooms with showers and many dinning places. It's fairly one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in South America. The atmosphere is great. It offers several in-house activities such as regional stuff lessons and also in-house regional dinners. I'll most likely stay in Empedrado should I return to Mendoza.

Disliked: It's almost at all times a bit noisy, but nothing other than that.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful, loved the empanadas cooking and mate classes. Nice outdoor area with self serve grapes. Loved the pancakes for breakfast.

Disliked: Thin walls, wifi unreliable in room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kimberley Cook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good facilities and activities such as a free washing machine, free glass of wine in the evening, and they organise BBQs, wine tasting etc which makes the hostel pretty social. The kitchen is fairly good, breakfast is great and the location is fairly central, a 10-15 minute walk to the main plaza.

Disliked: The rooms were quite old, with terrible pillows and beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Sotelo

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 January 2013 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel es excelente, cálido, tranquilo, seguro, limpio, con un staff de lo mejor. Además ofrece muchas actividades, sobre todo muy atractivas a los viajeros extranjeros como clases de mate, idioma y cocina local. La ubicación es apenas alejada del centro, lo que hace que sea a la vez muy tranquilo pero accesible a todo lo que ofrece la ciudad. El desayuno excelente, muy bien por los paqueques (crepes) con dulce de leche! Gracias a todos por la atención espero volver pronto, 100% recomendable.

Disliked: Liliana left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was the best we have had and includes fresh fruit, eggs, pastries, coffee and more. Hostel staff are very helpful and friendly. Free use of washing machine!

Disliked: One of the shower drains was blocked with hair and you end up standing in a big puddle. Soap dispensers dont work in any bathrooms- so i assume everyone has dirty hands. Only 1 sharp knife in the whole hostel. Air conditioning is NOT in all rooms. Ask before you check in. The parilla (bbq) was overpriced- the meat was not good quality, better to go to a restaurant for the price.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we really enjoyed the free classes: empanada class, spanish lesson and wine tasting! by the way, every day you get one glass of wine for free :-)

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast (fresh fruit, eggs, crepes), nice neighborhood, many common areas, a small pool, a large rooftop terrace, lots of activities, friendly staff, computers, wifi, free laundry.

Disliked: Bathroom not as clean as other Argentinian hostels, internet was unreliable. Wish there was AC.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kevin derrick

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2013 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, very friendly.

Disliked: kevin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathryn Willox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great hostel, lots of good activities and friendly staff. Particularly liked the free glass of wine of course!

Disliked: Extremely hot in the room at night but actually quite pleasant during the day. I know that doesn't make sense. There was a fan in the room but it was far too noisy to use. Also bring lots of bug spray - the mosquitoes in Mendoza attacked me. Although that has nothing to do with the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

frida Karlsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 frida would recommend this property

Liked: My room had aircondition and that´s very good. We had a lot of lookers around the hostel. Even after check-out u could borrow a looker until ur bus. The staff is exellent and helpfull in any why. They speak inglish so it´s easy to comunicate. They have a nice terrass and a nice garden and a small pool. They have two kitchens and a living room.

Disliked: The only thing I can think about is that my floor didn´t have a bathroom. So when u needed go up at night u had to claim some stairs but it´s duable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martín Jiménez Arango

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 December 2012 Martín would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, especially Eber.

Disliked: Everything was good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY friendly staff,great barbecues,tiptop social life,free internet,cheap international phone calls,excellent breakfast.One of the best hostels I´ve stayed at!

Disliked: Nothing really.Perhaps it´s a bit of a walk from the city centre,but who cares when it´s such a great place?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, The dorm I stayed in was spacious and had its own lockers. It's a great place to meet people!

Disliked: The bathroom upstairs could be cleaned more often. The bathrooms downstairs were fine though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great reception! So friendly and kind. Anna and Mago were the best! Wish we could stay longer. Love the free wine too.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the fact that every night there was an activity put on(wine tasting, empanada class, BBQ) and half were free. They were a great way to meet people. Free glass of wine each night and they also provided a good breakfast with crepes. In the past we stayed at another hostel in Mendoza and we had a great experience. It was full so we had to find somewhere else and are pleased that we did!

Disliked: The pillows in our room were far too high or lumpy. The blankets so seemed dusty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewys Beames

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Lewys would recommend this property

Liked: So many free activities. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeanine Kalkhoven

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Jeanine would recommend this property

Liked: No comments

Disliked: It was super hot in my room, and unfortunately there was no AC.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel that I have stayed in to date in south America. It is a great, central location with a wonderful atmosphere. The staff are amazing and supper helpful and there are awesome activities within and outside in the hostel posted on a board each morning. The BBQ is a must to participate. The hostel is big and inviting with a pool and hammock area, and with lots of rooms there were tons of people at the hostel to hang out with a plan activities with.

Disliked: The breakfast is good comparatively to other hostels but mostly bread and sweet pastries based with hard boiled eggs. No fruit which was disappointing. The bathrooms are 75% of the time clean but a couple of the showers don't drain properly because of hair build up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel McKenna

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing and very eager to help when needed. This by far has been the best hostel we have stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super helpful, creating a friendly atmosphere in which to meet other travellers. This hostel has got everything you need for a comfortable stay. The breakfast is fabulous and free use of the washing machine is a definite luxury. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpfull

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Durnford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

11 November 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: So much to do! I extended my stay two nights here. Great kitchen, great staff, rooms are clean and comfy. Lots of room to hang out. Loved it.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.


See all Mendoza hostels