HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Empedrado Hostel

Hostel | Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

91.8% Overall Rating

387 out of 411 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Peter Hammond thinks…

"staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very good considering the price for accommodation. There were several chill out areas, and they had activities on offer everyday if you wanted.…"

Read all Empedrado Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Hostal Confluencia
18.49 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 4 reviews
Punto Urbano Hostel
12.49 USD

Hostel 83.8% 6 reviews
Mendoza Lodging
8.74 USD

Hostel 85.1% 91 reviews
Hotel Laerte
9.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostel Suites Mendoza
8.12 USD

Hostel 90.7% 89 reviews
Old House Mendoza Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 87.1% 8 reviews
Wine Aparts
11.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Cuyum Mapu Mendoza
16.24 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

387 out of 411 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Empedrado Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 358 of 391 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathryn Willox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great hostel, lots of good activities and friendly staff. Particularly liked the free glass of wine of course!

Disliked: Extremely hot in the room at night but actually quite pleasant during the day. I know that doesn't make sense. There was a fan in the room but it was far too noisy to use. Also bring lots of bug spray - the mosquitoes in Mendoza attacked me. Although that has nothing to do with the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

frida Karlsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 frida would recommend this property

Liked: My room had aircondition and that´s very good. We had a lot of lookers around the hostel. Even after check-out u could borrow a looker until ur bus. The staff is exellent and helpfull in any why. They speak inglish so it´s easy to comunicate. They have a nice terrass and a nice garden and a small pool. They have two kitchens and a living room.

Disliked: The only thing I can think about is that my floor didn´t have a bathroom. So when u needed go up at night u had to claim some stairs but it´s duable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martín Jiménez Arango

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 December 2012 Martín would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, especially Eber.

Disliked: Everything was good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY friendly staff,great barbecues,tiptop social life,free internet,cheap international phone calls,excellent breakfast.One of the best hostels I´ve stayed at!

Disliked: Nothing really.Perhaps it´s a bit of a walk from the city centre,but who cares when it´s such a great place?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, The dorm I stayed in was spacious and had its own lockers. It's a great place to meet people!

Disliked: The bathroom upstairs could be cleaned more often. The bathrooms downstairs were fine though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great reception! So friendly and kind. Anna and Mago were the best! Wish we could stay longer. Love the free wine too.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the fact that every night there was an activity put on(wine tasting, empanada class, BBQ) and half were free. They were a great way to meet people. Free glass of wine each night and they also provided a good breakfast with crepes. In the past we stayed at another hostel in Mendoza and we had a great experience. It was full so we had to find somewhere else and are pleased that we did!

Disliked: The pillows in our room were far too high or lumpy. The blankets so seemed dusty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewys Beames

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Lewys would recommend this property

Liked: So many free activities. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeanine Kalkhoven

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2012 Jeanine would recommend this property

Liked: No comments

Disliked: It was super hot in my room, and unfortunately there was no AC.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel that I have stayed in to date in south America. It is a great, central location with a wonderful atmosphere. The staff are amazing and supper helpful and there are awesome activities within and outside in the hostel posted on a board each morning. The BBQ is a must to participate. The hostel is big and inviting with a pool and hammock area, and with lots of rooms there were tons of people at the hostel to hang out with a plan activities with.

Disliked: The breakfast is good comparatively to other hostels but mostly bread and sweet pastries based with hard boiled eggs. No fruit which was disappointing. The bathrooms are 75% of the time clean but a couple of the showers don't drain properly because of hair build up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel McKenna

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing and very eager to help when needed. This by far has been the best hostel we have stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super helpful, creating a friendly atmosphere in which to meet other travellers. This hostel has got everything you need for a comfortable stay. The breakfast is fabulous and free use of the washing machine is a definite luxury. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpfull

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Durnford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

11 November 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: So much to do! I extended my stay two nights here. Great kitchen, great staff, rooms are clean and comfy. Lots of room to hang out. Loved it.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we've stayed at in six months of travel. Great staff, great place to meet people, tons of free and fun activities on offer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

terry flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 terry would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent organisation of tours and activities at hostel. great atompphere in hostel and very friendly and helpful staff. Free activities in evenings included: wine tasting, cooking class, spanish lessons. excellent BBQ and Pizza nights. Free glass of wine every night also went down well!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Prerna Bhardwaj

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2012 Prerna would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at Empedrado exceeded my expectations. The staff there are truly exceptional and they are what makes this hostel unique. They are accommodating, knowledgeable, friendly and kind. They helped sign me up for various activities, my favorite of which was horseback riding in the mountains at sunset with Los Pingos (definitely sign up for this!). They also arrange activities at the hostel, including an asado (Argentine BBQ), which was another highlight of my trip. Gustavo, the grill master, made an unbelievable feast which I won't soon forget! In terms of more technical details- the rooms are comfortable, clean, and secure and include individual lockers; the kitchen is well kept and large so cooking (which I don't normally do at hostels) is fun; and there are plenty of places (indoor and outdoor) to relax. I would stay here again without hesitation and enthusiastically recommend Empedrado to travelers who are looking to meet some great people, drink some delicious Malbec, and enjoy Mendoza both in and outside of the hostel. Thanks Empedrado friends for a great stay!!! xoxo

Disliked: Nothing! It's really that amazing!!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Kitchen cooking wear was limited. One of the shower drain is very slow. I had a room to myself, it was located outside away from other rooms, and far to get to the bathroom. My room was super basic, small and it was a bunk bed. Worst pillow ever. The sunset horse riding was touristy, song sing along was bit cheesy, they were late picking us up and we missed the sunset.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ali Hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2012 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: Not quite sure how this hostel has "best hostel in south america" reviews. It's an ok hostel, nothing more, beds and linen are really basic, bathrooms are clean and "ok". Lounge area is most uncomfortable. Fine for a few nights, they honour the "book for 4 and pay for 3 nights" which is good. Did the sunset horse riding tour and was great, had an awesome time. Helpful staff, not far from main plaza etc. Cleaning lady coming in at 9am, moving beds around and cleaning the floors with petrol and huffing and puffing was most annoying, this is wine region, cleaning dorms at 9am not appropriate.

Disliked: Ali left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful patio, lots of common space, friendly staff

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, good location in quiet residential neighborhood, free washer

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms on upper floors

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed in, in 4 months of travelling around South America. The staff are simply astonishing in their helpfulness, I can't compliment them enough, going well beyond the call of duty and doing everything with huge smiles on their faces. The rooms are comfy enough, the atmosphere is great and the common areas lend themselves brilliantly to socialising with other travellers, an awesome place to stay and we ended up staying much longer than planned!

Disliked: This is nitpicking to the highest degree but the living room chairs/sofas could do with being replaced with some things a bit more comfortable, but I'm really clutching at straws here!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel activities! Free Spanish class, BBQ dinners and free wine each night. We stayed in a private room and shared bathroom. The room was very spacious, had a tv, and additional bunk bed. The bathroom was also large and almost always available as there are so many. I liked the atmosphere and staff were so helpful and thoughtful. Best breakfast I've had at a hostel so far. They also had lockers to put our things in after check out. We had a stay 4 nights pay 3 special which was great!

Disliked: There was one busy morning where the hot water ran out.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel we've stayed in during our 1 year of travels! The staff were always very friendly and helpful, the rooms are nice, the communal areas are really comfortable. The nightly activities they organise are good fun and the best part was the daily glass of wine!

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say.


See all Mendoza hostels