We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Hostel Puertas del Sol

Hostel | Espejo 751, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

77.6% Overall Rating

33 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/12/2013)

Benjamin Lawless-Jennings thinks…

"When we arrived early in the morning from an overnight bus they let us sleep in another room until our rooms were ready. Good location."

Read all Hostel Puertas del Sol reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Hostel International Campo Base
8.26 USD

Hostel 87.7% 83 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
22.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Laerte
9.44 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Banana Hostel
8.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Simplemente Mendoza
12.74 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Suites Mendoza
10.03 USD

Hostel 93.8% 111 reviews
Break Point Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 69.5% 19 reviews
Damajuana Hostel
11.80 USD

Hostel 75.8% 83 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

33 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Puertas del Sol'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Benjamin Lawless-Jennings

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived early in the morning from an overnight bus they let us sleep in another room until our rooms were ready. Good location.

Disliked: The whole place was a bit rundown and not very clean. Bathrooms were substandard. Bedrooms were very stuffy, not well ventilated and hot. In one room the fan didn't work and the other had no windows or air con vent. The breakfast wasn't much to write home about.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Dale Nolan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Dale would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and were keen to help, although few spoke much English. THe breakfasts were ok and there was laundry facilities.

Disliked: The shared bathrooms were poor, especially the one downstairs which was cramped and really dirty. The kitchen was in need of updating and again was very unclean with few essentials. There was work being down during our stay which was very noisey and the music played by staff seemed to get louder the later it got, especially for the dorm below reception.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013

Liked: It is close to plaza independente in what appears to be a decent enough neighbourhood.

Disliked: The bathrooms are dirty. It is necessary to walk through the shower to get through to one of the toilets. There is a strong smell of mildew on the basement level. Wifi is very patchy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Breakfast, Security, Friendly Staff

Disliked: Had a small mix up with our booking and we ended up paying slightly more

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the shared facilities are very nice.

Disliked: Our room was very cold and they didn't have any heaters available. The breakfast was very poor except for one day when we went to the coffee shop at the corner where we had a very good breakfast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a good location - just a couple of blocks from the main square, and our double room was pretty spacious. Staff were helpful and friendly if you had questions. The kitchen was large and fairly well stocked, but really old and tired. Quite nice terrace and dining areas. Breakfast of hot drinks and pastries was included, which is good - a couple of days we had orange juice. Security seemed good as you had to ring the door bell for admittance. Overall a decent place for the money.

Disliked: Shower in our room was awful - but the shared shower was better. Internet in the room was slow - better in the common areas though. A little far from the bars etc, but if you're over that side of town you're not that close to the centre of Mendoza. Aside from the shower there were no real disappointments - for Mendoza it's good value.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly owner, very helpful. We got a free bottle of Malbec for staying 3 nights which was great. Nice atmosphere. Location was good, very central and near a huge supermarket. Breakfast was decent.

Disliked: Kitchen could do with a few more pans.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ximena boyer

With a large group / tour

Visiting friends or family

18 February 2012 Ximena would recommend this property

Liked: You cannot go wrong with this place, clean and nice

Disliked: Ximena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Morgan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is in a very SAFE and classy location, just steps from "Independencia" square and main attractions. Roomy bedrooms and very nice employees. They have many excursions to offer and it is not a rip off.

Disliked: Cindy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Klontz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Hostel. I liked the location and the room/shared bathroom were very clean and comfortable

Disliked: really nothing wrong with this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emmanuel Rapizo Magalhães Caldas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Emmanuel would recommend this property

Liked: O local é muito agradável e com funcionários muito competentes e solícitos. Foram extremamente gentis e nos informaram sobre tudo que precisamos para conhecer Mendoza. Guardaremos ótimas lembranças da nossa passagem por Mendoza, pela amizades que fizemos no Hostel Puertas de Sol e das maravilhosas vistas do Aconcagua e dos Vinhedos de Maipu. Recomendo fortemente a estadia nesse hostel.

Disliked: Não há nada de ruim no hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: noise!! group of people drinking, chatting and Playing Pin-Pong game till 2 am!! and someone was singing his heart out!! No water supply!! internet only at the lobby

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011

Liked: The location and the price

Disliked: We where in the bacement which was dark and dingy. I didnt want to sleep on the matress as i felt it was dirty

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011

Liked: For price and location is great. The room not so pleasent. A good patio where to stay

Disliked: The hostel need some repeirs if you touch something is it possible that remain in your hand. For only one night if you don't find a better place is ok

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011

Liked: location is ok.

Disliked: the breakfast is nearly non existent, the bathrooms are extremely dirty and the toilets don't flush.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Odelli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 January 2011 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel bursting with character. Good facilities and cool places to chill out. The owner was lovely, always there with advice and deals for activities.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly...very well located, would happily stay there again, and recommend to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

15 March 2010

Liked: nothing, i had to look for other hostel...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 February 2010

Liked: The location was very nice and the private room was ok despite of its size.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 January 2010

Liked: I really liked the dog who lives there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, and while the staff did not speak great english, they were very helpful and willing to help.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

16 January 2010

Liked: Not clean at all, and the breakfast is very poor.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: if you look for a perfect organized place, don't go, because it's often a little mess =) BUT if you look for an atmosphere like your home, the sympathy and helpfulness of Herman, the funny owner and his cute dog, and a confortable hotel with great and funny asado, don't miss Puertas del Sol! I loved my 3 days there and I almost felt like home during this Christmas far from my family !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Mendoza hostels