HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Mendoza Lodging

Hostel | San Martin 1998, Mendoza, Argentina 5500

83.1% Overall Rating

78 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/05/2014)

Jonathan Vocke thinks…

"The hostel was located on the main avenue a bit outside of the center which meant cheaper groceries and easy access to an excellent meat store for asados. I was still an easy walk of about 20 minutes…"

Read all Mendoza Lodging reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Wine Aparts
10.62 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Empedrado Hostel
10.03 USD

Hostel 90.4% 423 reviews
Punto Urbano Hostel
8.85 USD

Hostel 82.5% 9 reviews
Hostal Confluencia
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 4 reviews
Hostel Lagares
9.44 USD

Hostel 92.2% 174 reviews
Hostel Suites Mendoza
10.03 USD

Hostel 93.8% 111 reviews
Hotel Laerte
9.44 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hostel Cuyum Mapu Mendoza
10.38 USD

Hostel 80.7% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

78 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mendoza Lodging'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 85 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Vocke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 May 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was located on the main avenue a bit outside of the center which meant cheaper groceries and easy access to an excellent meat store for asados. I was still an easy walk of about 20 minutes from the very very center of Mendoza. There was also a nice cooking and eating area with a parrilla for making asados. Breakfast was good and there was enough of it, no problems with super small portions. All in all it was just pretty chill and quiet with a nice front hang out area.

Disliked: I didn't really find anything objectionable about the property.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Till Seuring

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014

Liked: Part of staff were friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Private room rather dark and right next to reception. You could hear every word that was spoken in the reception room. Parts of staff were having their own private meetings there and were talking and listening to music until after midnight which made it impossible to sleep. One staff member reacted rather annoyed when we asked him to turn down the volume of the music. Breakfast area rather untidy! Worst hostel on our trip through Argentina.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location. Very helpful and frienldly staff. There are mimarket and super market nearby. Good wifi connection.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very clean unlike other hostels I've recently stayed in. The staff were super friendly and were extremely helpful, nothing was too much.

Disliked: Nothing whatsoever.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cezary osojca

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2013 cezary would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen space available for cooking

Disliked: untidy eating area for the breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, very nice atmosphere and not far from city centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013

Liked: Cheap, not a bad location.

Disliked: The worst thing about the hostel was our room. It was smelly, very very tiny and dirty. There was no proper linnen (it just wouldn't fit), so we just slept on the dirty mattress. Also there's no proper common / living room, the breakfast room looked like a storage room for old mattresses and furniture, the breakfast itself was just some cereal and tea, the kitchen is not well-equipped, there's only one (!) shower (and two toilets) for the whole hostel, the shower is very dirty and last: the staff was unfriendly and didn't speak English. We left as soon as possible, and so did other guests.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leopoldo Marroni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Leopoldo would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly. Clean. Great Value for Money. Fantastic location for excursions around Mendoza.

Disliked: Leopoldo left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It was a pretty long walk into the centre of town, you have to pay extra for air-con, and the bathrooms weren't the cleanest.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012

Liked: friendly owners

Disliked: room was like a sauna - didnt get much sleep. quite far from centre, 40 mins walk from bus terminal, kitchen not well equiped.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Anita Fischer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012

Liked: The owner is nice. But the rest of the stuff not very useful. If you like cheap clothes shopping, it's well located for it.

Disliked: i couln't get any sleep, since the hostal is located at a very busy and noisy street, day and night! The rooms are hot during night. The common area is not cosy for hanging out, it's a part of the kitchen. The hostal has only one shower, and there is not so much water coming out ( some anticalc would help). The location is very fare off the main places. The 3 bed dorm is located right on the main street, don't book this bed, and the room is very small. i stayed there.....

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, colorful place, clean, easy to reach the city center by walking, good wi-fi connection, nice little courtyard

Disliked: Very few bathroom, not enough power sockets in the room, good breakfast but not enough to eat ;-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SERROL OSMAN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 SERROL would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was incredibly helpful and generous, rang other hostels to arrange forward bookings, provided local maps and info on where to go etc... good breakfast in the moring and free use of their internet. Would highly recommend

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gustavo the owner was awesome! Best service ever.. He was helpfull and really nice.. The place has a nice location and kitchen was good ! WIFI okey and choice of excursions good!

Disliked: Breakfast was too simple !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Bruun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2012 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: If every hostel owner was like Gustavo and his wife the world would be a better place :) Excellent service in every aspect. Helpfully guided around the city, arranging trekking tours for us and moved around to make place for us for extra nights! Clean facilitys everywear, a well equipped kitchen and a 24 hour smile from every member of the family. Good breakfast and the Wi-Fi was way better than the average hostel. I felt like at home!

Disliked: Jacob left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcella O'Shaughnessy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Marcella would recommend this property

Liked: Gustavo the owner did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. This place is centrally located and they offer wine tours , a nice breakfast is included.

Disliked: Marcella left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfortable room. Clean bathroom. Good kitchen and dining area. The staff are wonderful and will go out of their way to help you with anything. Gustavo is a legend, a really lovely man, he told me about all the tour packages on offer, but was not at all pushy in trying to get me to buy them. I really enjoyed my stay here and if I ever come back to Mendoza would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ben tovell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 ben would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, there is nothing they wouddlnt do for you! like a family! look out of you dont like eating food every time you run into them!

Disliked: .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was great! You can book tours there. The shower was hot (with little pressure, though!). The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Lockers are there but you must provide your own lock.

Disliked: I had no major problems. To enter the building, you must knock on the door (no bell) so sometimes at night, you might wait a couple minutes. This was not a big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded from a dorm to a double room for free. Good WIFI. Very clean hostel. Would stay there again if I return to Mendoza

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gustavo, the owner, was super friendly and attentive. The place is clean and quiet and the breakfast is good. All together I think it was a good value for money place to stay in Mendoza.

Disliked: It doesn't have much character but I think if there were more people there it could be a great place to hang out. Also I think they are doing it up a bit at the moment so it might be better soon.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Very good kitchen facilities and incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the honesty of the place , and Gustavo are very frendly man ,Hi made barBQ almost all time , for the clients , Nice , very good and safe.Thanks so much GUSTAVO>>>

Disliked: I do not have any comments

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Isabel Contreras

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 June 2011 Maria Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELENTE UBICACION CON ACCESO MUY FACIL A TODO. EN CUANTO A RELACION PRECIO CALIDAD ES EXCELENTE. EXCELENTE ASESORAMIENTO DE TOURS A REALIZAR. MUY BUENAS LAS INSTALACIONES. EXCELENTE LA LIMPIEZA.

Disliked: TODO ESTUVO MUY BIEN

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, the facilities were very good and Internet speeds great! Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Gustavo and his son went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, even insisting on getting up to prepare an early morning breakfast for our departure. Throughout our stay they were never short of plenty of useful tips for sightseeing, restaurants and other activities.

Disliked: no dislikes


See all Mendoza hostels