HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mendoza hostels

Reviews of Hostel Lao

Hostel | Rioja 771, Mendoza, Argentina .

94.5% Overall Rating

116 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/06/2014)

"Even though I was ill during my stay the staff made my stay very comfortable. The guy who runs it has a typical english personality which had been sorely missed. They also laid on some nice small gatherings. Breakfast…"

Read all Hostel Lao reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mendoza?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mendoza

Alojarse Em Mendoza
15.27 USD

Guesthouse 92.2% 27 reviews
Hostel Mora
9.16 USD

Hostel 91.7% 186 reviews
Modigliani Suites
57.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Savigliano Hostel
10.38 USD

Hostel 81.6% 7 reviews
Mendoza Backpackers Hostel
12.22 USD

Hostel 74.2% 47 reviews
Estacion Mendoza
9.77 USD

Hostel 76.1% 44 reviews
Hostel Simplemente Mendoza
9.16 USD

Hostel 68.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Campo Base Penitentes
32.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.5%

Overall Rating

116 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Lao'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 103 of 107 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though I was ill during my stay the staff made my stay very comfortable. The guy who runs it has a typical english personality which had been sorely missed. They also laid on some nice small gatherings. Breakfast was a plus point. Easy walking distance from bus station. This place will always be the place I fell in love for the first time, but to no avail :(

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Everything and everyone is awesome.

Disliked: No complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: We've stayed at hostel lao on two different occasions and both times everything was great. Its a smaller hostel so you really get to know the staff and other guests. Staff is great - very personable and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Property is really close to bus station. It has a really laid back atmosphere and the asado was top notch. Definitely reccomend this hostel!

Disliked: Nada. Everything was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place! Don't understand any of these reviews trying to mark the place down so they get a lower percentage?! - it's completely justified. A lovely homely hostel where it's really easy to meet everyone and therefore very social - every night ended up with us all sharing wine in the lounge. Delicious breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff, comfy beds + the BEST DOG EVER! I miss her so much

Disliked: It made me regret leaving!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: SUCH a lovely hostel! The owner and people that work there are wonderful, friendly and helpful, they even put a barbecue on for us! Lots of opportunities to meet other people. I would definitely go back.

Disliked: The ONLY thing is that there are only 2 bathrooms (with the toilets in there). Not such a problem right now when it's not high season though

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely friendly atmosphere. Chilled out. Staff very heplful.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cecily Hearn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Cecily would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very clean and pretty with gorgeous flowers everywhere.

Disliked: Cecily left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Hellgoth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2012 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in mendoza, really nice staff and lovely owners. You always feel like home. Thank you for this wonderfull stay.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophia Bennett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: I loved Hostel Lao. One of the best hostels I've stayed in. The hostel is owned by a lovely couple an has a real homely feel about it rather than a hostel. It's quite small and the way the common areas are set out its incredibly social and in 3 days I think I met everyone in the hostel. The brekkie is really nice with croissants and organic homemade jams and organic fruit. The staff are so friendly and when I was there another guy asked the owner if there was an asado (barbecue) happening, there wasn't but he organise one as there was enough of us interested and it was incredible. Free wine is a really nice touch too. I was so sad to leave here!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Oehlrich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, nice social area, comfortable beds, free wine friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauro Santucci

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2012 Mauro would recommend this property

Liked: La cosa che più mi ha stupito, ..la capacità di rendermi tutto molto semplice!! Un pó come essere a casa! Consiglio vivamente il tour a cavallo. Grazie di cuore.

Disliked: Mauro left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ERIC STOCKI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 ERIC would recommend this property

Liked: rhe housekeeipng staff were friendly and worked hard to keep the place clean

Disliked: The manager should not have veen drinking significant amounts of alcohol while working. He was acting more like a guest and not an employee.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorraine Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, easy to meet people Owners very friendly and helpfull Garden and small pool Hammocks! Always something going on!

Disliked: Nothing, would highly recommend this hostel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Siobhan Dunningham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at this hostel was such a great experience, this is mainly down to the welcoming hospitality of Celeste and Mike. They encourage people to socialise which was lovely as a solo female traveler. I would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Mendoza (how could you resist free wine?!), but book early because they get filled up. Also recommend the wine tour, ask either Mike or Celeste for more information!

Disliked: Bit gutted I missed the filling of the pool by one week!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lao is a good hostel but NOT a great hostel. I have stayed at around 200 hostels and Lao would rate as average to good.

Disliked: The bathroom is broken, the internet is very very slow (and only one computer!!) and there is no cereal with breakfast. The staff are really good but an honest review is that Lao is overrated (that is why I rated it so low, so people read this review). There are hostels in Mendoza which are really cool, 20% cheaper and have all you can eat breakfasts ... so do the research. Also they should put up a sign near the pool that is covered for winter as a poor Irish girl did not know it was a pool and broke her wrist walking on the over and falling into the pool.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: living room and people

Disliked: ...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and homey hostel with helpful and friendly staff and owners.

Disliked: WIshed there was one more bathroom upstairs as 2 for 3 rooms is not that much.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Clean, fun, with a great owner and staff. Had an awesome family-style asado dinner my first night here. Great food and met everyone else in the hostel! Free wine at night too.

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike about it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 May 2011

Liked: Spotless. Great folks working there. Lovely group dining area. Communal evening wine..perfect!

Disliked: Downstairs 4 bed dorm gets a lot of road noise

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Suzanne Jacobs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2011 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: I really felt at home! Nice living room, garden and kitchen.

Disliked: Only one computer for internet. That is not really a bad thing, but it was an old and slow one.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Staples

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 May 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff - keen to share their advice. Great open spaces with loads of sun, indoors and outdoors.

Disliked: Would be great if there were more bathroom facilities - but considering it´s a hostel maybe my expectations are beyond what they should be.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natividade Pereira

Alone

Business / conference

13 April 2011 Natividade would recommend this property

Liked: It's really a great hostel, very clean and the staff is very helpful. Free breakfast. Also great location, near the center and the bus station.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike about the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People very friendly, sociable relaxed place, not noisy enjoyable stay

Disliked: Only negative not enough bathrooms queues in morning and during day

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Robins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nicest hostels we stayed at throughout our 6 months in SA. Great place to chill out, lots of hammocks etc. Easy to book excursions through. BBQ is a little pricey but great way to meet other people.

Disliked: Rooms are a little cramped.


See all Mendoza hostels