We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Playa Grande Suites

Hostel | Alem nº 3495 esq Primera Junta, Mar del Plata, Argentina 7600

75.4% Overall Rating

7 out of 10 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/02/2012)

"The staff were amazing and super helpful, definitely made my stay in MDP that much better. The location was super close to the beach, and in the nicer area of mar del plata right next to really good restaurants and…"

Read all Hostel Playa Grande Suites reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mar del Plata?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mar del Plata

Playa Grande Hostel
7.72 USD

Hostel 82.3% 30 reviews
Hostel del Mar
5.94 USD

Hostel 89.8% 16 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Mar del Plata
13.02 USD

Hostel 87.0% 9 reviews
Totem Hostel
8.91 USD

Hostel 88.8% 46 reviews
Rebbel Hostel
17.82 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
El Refugio
13.07 USD

Hostel 71.0% 7 reviews
Galeón Mar del Plata
11.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.3% 4 reviews
Big Ben Art-Hostel
14.25 USD

Hostel 77.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

7 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Playa Grande Suites'

Atmosphere
62.0%
Location
86.0%
Facilities
70.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
82.0%
Value
66.0%
Safety
78.0%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 8 reviews
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación es muy buena.

Disliked: Cuando llegamos, no querían aceptar nuestro email de confirmación de la reserva de Hostelbookers. Y después nos querían cobrar 40 pesos más de lo pactado.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff, quiet location

Disliked: very far from new bus terminal (1 hour + walk), more hotel than hostel, not very social.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and super helpful, definitely made my stay in MDP that much better. The location was super close to the beach, and in the nicer area of mar del plata right next to really good restaurants and shops. Rooms were spacious although very basic, but very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are very clean, Kitchen is large and well equipped, the Staff is nice and helpful, the older guy who is usually there in the mornings speaks english and german as well. Location is fantastic , you can almost see the beach from the hostel, its just a 3 min walk away, perfect for surfers. Lots of bars and cafes around. We were there off season so it was pleasantly quiet and not crowded. Would recommend it!

Disliked: The breakfast is a bit sparse, but still ok.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

04 December 2010

Liked: The only positive thing about this property was that it is two blocks away from the beach.

Disliked: We woke up every morning at 9 to pounding below us because they were renovating a room near reception. Instead of putting us on another floor and in another room away from all the noise (the hostel was practically empty) they put us in a room right above it. The first night we were there we wanted a couple beers in the "bar" they boast about and when we wanted a second one we had to wait 45 minutes and keep going back to remind him. The next night we wanted to find something to do and not be stuck in the hostel. when we asked the one receptionist who spoke english he just said "the beach". It was 10pm, we weren't going to the beach. When we went in the common room to watch some tv, the receptionists friends came into the hostel, and took over the room that guests are supposed to use. They actually brought in speakers for their laptop music and turned down the tv. This was not for an event for the hostel that night, either, at least n ot that they advertised for. It was the worst hostel experience i've had and this is after being in South America for 2 weeks and staying only in hostels. Terrible

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barry Hickling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2010 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus station, clean and safe.

Disliked: Barry left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Theresa Dougherty

13 November 2009 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! Met some awesome people. Kitchen, rooms, bar, bathrooms all very clean and comfortable. Staff were really nice and welcoming. Had a great asado one night. You can see the ocean from the front doors. I would recommend this to anyone!

Disliked: Theresa left no negative feedback.