HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Esquel hostels

Reviews of Planeta Hostel

Hostel | Avenida Alvear 1021, Esquel, Argentina .

83.5% Overall Rating

56 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

James Ballardie thinks…

"We read really mixed reviews on here about Planeta - we found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, they even moved us to a better room which was more convenient for us. Kitchen is well equipped.…"

Read all Planeta Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Esquel?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

56 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planeta Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Ballardie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: We read really mixed reviews on here about Planeta - we found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, they even moved us to a better room which was more convenient for us. Kitchen is well equipped. Has a nice vibe and good location.

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN BASIC, BUT HAS EVERYTHING YOU NEED

Disliked: SMALL LOCATION NOT GREAT, ITS NEXT TO A NIGHTCLUB

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Hostel is run down, no ambiance, dirty kitchen, outside area/patio (groundfloor + roof terras) unattractive, staff at reception ( temporary assigned travellers) do not show any interest in their work

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff, good location

Disliked: cold rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Turner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, nice staff, very helpful we enjoyed our short stay here!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012

Liked: The kitchen.

Disliked: The staff seemed distracted and busy with other things. The party in the courtyard was loud and the nightclub across the road on Saturday night was loud until 5.30am. The cigarette smoke from the courtyard came into the room and so did the smoke from the BBQ. The other guests kept to themselves. The shared bathroom was tiny and did not have a foot towel to keep the floor dry.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012

Liked: Better than average breakfast, very good kitchen and decent showers.

Disliked: On my last day they told us to leave unless we wanted to pay a half day rate as we had planned on sticking around for the day until our bus that night. Having to walk around in the rain all day after paying $70/night was not good and it was a first for me after 7 months in S.A. For this reason alone I wouldnt recommend the hostel...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best kitchen I have seen in a hostel, very well equiped. Hostel is safe and secure and very clean. Good breakfast, staff helpful and friendly enough.

Disliked: My dorm faced the street which was a little noisy as there is a nightclub directly opposite, nothing major just use ear plugs if your a light sleeper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Panagiotis Pomonis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012 Panagiotis would recommend this property

Liked: Large Kitchen, Large Lockers

Disliked: Panagiotis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Shrimpton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a fantastic hostel. The kitchen is probably the best we´ve had in South America and the place was spotlessly clean. Unfortunately it was still low seaon when we were there so the place was quiet but despite this the owner was on the ball and couldn´t do enough for us.

Disliked: The computer was pretty old so backing up photos was an issue but the internet was quick so it wasn´t all bad. The only other point was the shower cubicle we were using was a bit of a squeeze.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

caroline Godart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: They answered me directly on my mail box.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Mota

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is perfect. You have wi-fi, computer with internet, kichen, lockers... It´s great.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Am excellent, well run hostel that was clean, homey, had a huge, fully equipped kitchen, a great area for watching TV or DVD´s on a flat screen TV, 3 bathrooms, one with jacuzzi tub! The owners were very friendly and I felt very comfortable in thir hostel. The location is great - 2 blocks from the supermarket and right in the center of town, but relatively quiet, so sleeping was always sound!

Disliked: Leaving!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Campbell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011

Liked: They had a computer.

Disliked: The hostel was a bit like a nursery. The staff was infact a mother watching her children there including a close to new born infact. We had to keep very quiet and once I accidentily woke the child which seemed to really anger the lady.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: Good hostal! If it only wasn´t at the End of town (footwalk: busterminal 15min, supermarket 20min)...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is good, the beds are excellent and have very nice sheets and its a friendly personal welcome

Disliked: it only has one/two bathrooms which is tight

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Auke Jakob Wolters

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Auke Jakob would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, friendly owners! Feels like a home.

Disliked: Auke Jakob left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are just awesome, they are great people who will do whatever they can to help, met some great people there, now living semi-permanantly right next door, they help set it up for us. Highly recommended

Disliked: The location is great to get up to La Hoya, however it is a refreshing walk into the centre of town from the Hostel, still not terrible

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though it`s a little further from town and the supermarket, this hostel is one of the best I have stayed at so far. Friendly owners, very homely feel..you don`t want to leave. Plus their pets are so cute!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tanja Jäggi

17 February 2010 Tanja would recommend this property

Liked: Die Aufteilung der Räumlichkeiten

Disliked: Tanja left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really comfortable and the staff is great. They are very friendly. You feel like home...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Leslie

02 February 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, the best thing is the hosts Gustavo and Macarena - they were friendly and welcoming, and always seemed interested in what wehad been up to that day. When we left our camera behind they carefully packaged it up and sent it to our next destination for us. The hostel is super clean and funky - the table in our room was made of a bike wheel! Excellent breakfast too.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great help from the staff, our bed was really comfortable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked the private double room and kitchen facilities. Everything was well stocked and staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Esquel hostels