HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Condor de los Andes

Hostel | Av. Río de las Vueltas y Halvo, El Chalten, Argentina -

82.2% Overall Rating

34 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

"Good location to bus station and several restaurants nearby. Reception area has lots of info for tourist activities. Friendly staff."

Read all Condor de los Andes reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Chalten?

Contact us directly

See other properties in El Chalten

In.land.sis Guesthouse
8.79 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 63 reviews
Hostería Thiamalu
22.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.0% 28 reviews
Rancho Grande
12.21 USD

Hostel 69.3% 155 reviews
Infinito Sur
23.19 USD

Hostel 94.8% 6 reviews
PIONEROS DEL VALLE HOSTEL
12.21 USD

Hostel 75.1% 53 reviews
Albergue Aylen-Aike
8.54 USD

Hostel 89.8% 147 reviews
Estancia La Quinta
960.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
ESTANCIA LA ESTELA
40.16 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

34 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Condor de los Andes'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
76.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trent Brandie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very adequate property in the centre of El Chalten.

Disliked: Only 4 lockers in the 6 bed dorms, power sockets in the rooms not in pratical places (there are many in other areas of the hostel so not a big issue. Use hostel to book extra nights. They knowlingly charge a higher price when extending at the desk.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matt Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Very cramped and dark 6 bed dorm, especially as everyone has trekking gear. Only one power point in the room. Although slow everywhere in El Chalten the WiFi was particularly awful. Only a couple of saucepans in the kitchen. Only bread and jam for breakfast.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014

Liked: Nice big social areas and great location by the bus station.

Disliked: Breakfast very poor- 2 pieces of bread and jam. Staff not very friendly or helpful. Rooms cramped and poor matteresses.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miranda Axworthy

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2014 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, comfortable, clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 April 2014

Liked: Good location to bus station and several restaurants nearby. Reception area has lots of info for tourist activities. Friendly staff.

Disliked: The Wi-Fi was never working.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Average place.

Disliked: Zero WiFi signal anywhere in hostel...even when you wake up at 6am when no one else is trying to get on. I don't think they should be allowed to advertise that they have WiFi or charge prices that reflect that amenity. Other hostels and businesses in town had usable signal. 4 person en suite is actually not that convenient!! Have to be extra quiet in the morning if you want to do an early trek and not wake roommates.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tom Grosvenor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and very helpful staff, good location close to bus station, spacious dining area and great views if mount fitzroy from lounge windows

Disliked: Bathroom in room was not particularly clean. The kitchen is too small for amount of people using it (although there are 2 stoves in there which is good). Breakfast was worst I've had in South America just two pieces of bread and jam with awful coffee. If you want cereal you have to pay extra - not great when most people are doing big hikes each day.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. I liked that my room was quiet and had a comfortable bed. I recommend the hostel for the quiet of the room and the location near the bus station and definitely not for the breakfast and the internet speed.

Disliked: The internet speed at the hostel IS THE WORST I have encountered on all of my travels. I checked it twice for speed at it came in at .11 mbps and I could only get this in the lobby. Be aware of this terrible speed for internet. I also disliked the hostel informing me on a printed sign to wash my dishes for the breakfast rolls they put out. I have never be informed of being told to do this. The hostel staff should clean the breakfast dishes on the products that they provide. The breakfast offerings were very poor with three slices of bread, a tab of butter and a tab of jelly. The make it yourself hot chocolate was the best item provided.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and close to bus station, very helpful staff

Disliked: Dorms are a little cramped

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Arthur Wijckmans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is ok to stay for a short time.

Disliked: They made a mistake with the booking. We had booked a 4 bed dorm But they put us in a 6 bed dorm. Luckly for us there were only 2 persons in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Titus

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely furnished rooms, warm, use of kitchen, clean. Friendly staff

Disliked: Initially we were checked into a double room which smelt of bad plumbing and/or damp, the room itself was nicely furnished etc. This was resolved quickly once we asked to change rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Each dorm has its own bathroom. Clean. Lockers in the room. Large common area divided in eating and lounge area. Central located.

Disliked: The kitchen was very small and underequiped. The shower varied a lot in heat and water pressure. Not all staff was very friendly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place, with friendly staff and good location.

Disliked: The bathroom in the room, very small and with bad smel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013

Liked: Rooms, lobby and place to eat are quite spacious. Shuttle tickets can be bought at the reception.

Disliked: Shower was not working all the time. When it was working, it was suddenly going from hot to cold then hot, cold, etc.. It seems it is not a new problem there.. Kitchen is small. Staff is ok but not very friendly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, the friendly staff, the location

Disliked: small rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good size kitchen. Large common area. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Located right beside bus station with easy access to trails.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Megane Dubos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2012 Megane would recommend this property

Liked: We liked El chalten a lot, this hostel is good.

Disliked: the breakfast is not included

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012

Liked: Double room was good, no view though.

Disliked: This is not a very cosy hostel, there is no atmosphere at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dennis Dua

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Location, professionalism, and friendly staff at hand to assist.

Disliked: Breakfast not included. Had problems with the hot water for showers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2012

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, they really try to help you and make your trip enjoyable. Close to the bus station and supermarket. Big kitchen and eating area.

Disliked: The 6 bed dorm was to small for 6 people, moreover they only had lockers for 4 people in there. The worst was the shower though. After an exhausting trekking day you really long for a good hot shower which was hardly possible - none of the 3 nights because the water was changing continously between too hot and too cold.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2012

Liked: Clean, staff quite helpful, warm rooms and hot showers

Disliked: Lacked atmosphere, not the friendliest hostel I've been in so wouldn't recommend it to a solo traveller.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area. Very friendly and helpful staff. Big lockers in the dorms.

Disliked: Shower with low water pressure and instable temperature. Very poor mattresses. For the size of the hostel very small kitchen, not too well equipped. Like in all places in El Chaltén poor internet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great staff, fantastic view, spotlessly clean!!Loved our stay here!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good common area, kitchen ok, clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Roquia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2011 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. The location is ideal, 2 blocks from bus station

Disliked: Carlos left no negative feedback.