HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Condor de los Andes Backpackers Hostel El Chalten Hostel

Av. Rio de las Vueltas, and Halvorsen, El Chalten, Argentina

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 78%

Location 94%

Safety 85%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Parking
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Chalten?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 78%

Location 94%

Safety 85%

Staff 86%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: Room-Cleanliness, Accessibility, assisting approach of front-desk.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great relaxed atmosphere. Very friendly. Nice warm lounge area with good views if it is too rainy to hike! Great location.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice big social areas and great location by the bus station.

Disliked: Breakfast very poor- 2 pieces of bread and jam. Staff not very friendly or helpful. Rooms cramped and poor matteresses.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great staff, comfortable, clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a very adequate property in the centre of El Chalten.

Disliked: Only 4 lockers in the 6 bed dorms, power sockets in the rooms not in pratical places (there are many in other areas of the hostel so not a big issue.Use hostel to book extra nights. They knowlingly charge a higher price when extending at the desk.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location to bus station and several restaurants nearby. Reception area has lots of info for tourist activities. Friendly staff.

Disliked: The Wi-Fi was never working.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Average place.

Disliked: Zero WiFi signal anywhere in hostel...even when you wake up at 6am when no one else is trying to get on. I don't think they should be allowed to advertise that they have WiFi or charge prices that reflect that amenity. Other hostels and businesses in town had usable signal.4 person en suite is actually not that convenient!! Have to be extra quiet in the morning if you want to do an early trek and not wake roommates.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and very helpful staff, good location close to bus station, spacious dining area and great views if mount fitzroy from lounge windows

Disliked: Bathroom in room was not particularly clean. The kitchen is too small for amount of people using it (although there are 2 stoves in there which is good). Breakfast was worst I've had in South America just two pieces of bread and jam with awful coffee. If you want cereal you have to pay extra - not great when most people are doing big hikes each day.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Very cramped and dark 6 bed dorm, especially as everyone has trekking gear. Only one power point in the room. Although slow everywhere in El Chalten the WiFi was particularly awful. Only a couple of saucepans in the kitchen. Only bread and jam for breakfast.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the location. I liked that my room was quiet and had a comfortable bed. I recommend the hostel for the quiet of the room and the location near the bus station and definitely not for the breakfast and the internet speed.

Disliked: The internet speed at the hostel IS THE WORST I have encountered on all of my travels. I checked it twice for speed at it came in at .11 mbps and I could only get this in the lobby. Be aware of this terrible speed for internet.I also disliked the hostel informing me on a printed sign to wash my dishes for the breakfast rolls they put out. I have never be informed of being told to do this. The hostel staff should clean the breakfast dishes on the products that they provide.The breakfast offerings were very poor with three slices of bread, a tab of butter and a tab of jelly. The make it yourself hot chocolate was the best item provided.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability