We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rancho Grande

Hostel | Av. San Martín 724, El Chalten, Argentina .

69.3% Overall Rating

111 out of 156 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/10/2014)

"Seems to be one of the bigger hostels in El Chalten as the bus from and to El Calafate dropped us off and picked us up straight from the hostel. Restaurant in the hostel serves cheap food and the rooms were clean."

Read all Rancho Grande reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Chalten?

Contact us directly

See other properties in El Chalten

PIONEROS DEL VALLE HOSTEL
17.70 USD

Hostel 75.1% 53 reviews
Infinito Sur
36.58 USD

Hostel 94.8% 6 reviews
Hostería Thiamalu
22.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 87.0% 28 reviews
Condor de los Andes
14.16 USD

Hostel 82.2% 41 reviews
In.land.sis Guesthouse
8.50 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 63 reviews
Albergue Aylen-Aike
17.70 USD

Hostel 89.8% 147 reviews
Estancia La Quinta
960.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
ESTANCIA LA ESTELA
38.82 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.3%

Overall Rating

111 out of 156 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rancho Grande'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
66.4%
Value
60.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 107 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seems to be one of the bigger hostels in El Chalten as the bus from and to El Calafate dropped us off and picked us up straight from the hostel. Restaurant in the hostel serves cheap food and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: When we arrived the hostel had lost our booking and we had to wait 20 minutes for them to find it. Staff were not helpful at all and had no maps or information about hikes in the area. Wifi didn't work once while we were there.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014

Liked: bus stop in front

Disliked: cleanliness some fly in the kitchen

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very close to trails. Onsite resturant does good food at a reasonable price.p

Disliked: Location. It is 10 minutes walk from bus station

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Travis Kishel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014

Liked: Its location is at the start of the day hikes to Cerro Torre and Mont Fitzroy.

Disliked: 1). unfriendly staff 2) no quiet hours. Every night there were 2 Israeli guys playing guitar and harmonica. staff did not intervene. 3) breakfast is NOT included, and is expensive

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we got to Rancho Grande they had mistakenly booked us into a room that was being renovated - so, at no extra charge, they put us up in the much nicer hotel next door! But that is not to say Rancho Grande isn't itself very nice by hostel standards - we still hung out there for company and to use the kitchen or talk to the staff about walks and excursions.

Disliked: Nothing. Tip for others - if arriving by coach from Calafate, don't get off the bus at the bus station as it will probably carry on to Rancho Grande, which serves us as the town's other bus stop, and drop you at your door! It's a fair old walk between the two, but RG is at the right end of town for starting the Torre and Fitzroy walks.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Troy WHITMARSH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013

Liked: It is large so there were rooms available at short notice.

Disliked: The kitchen is tiny compared to the large number of people staying here and has no utensils or anything. Its also disgusting. Don't plan on cooking here. Wifi is unusable in the evenings as too many people are trying to access it. No breakfast included. I think they would prefer you to buy breakfast and meals in the hostel restaurant.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012

Liked: The older guy at the bar is pretty much the only person that cares and is helpful.

Disliked: The reception is a total mess. Seems they overbook their rooms. Others had similar problems. I had to change my room after the first day. They tried to charge more than they listed on hostelbookers.com. I had to explain 3 times to 3 persons that I will only pay the prize that was indicated on hostelbookers.com. In the end they even stopped the bus out of el chalten and called me again to ask if i paid. The staff is not friendly and not interested. Besides this this hotel is packed with party people that party all night. Dont expected much sleep. If you want to do some great hiking and relax with friends in the evening, do not go here. There are plenty of options with better value for money.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Tycho van Essen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2012

Liked: It is very big and there is a lot going on, so if you are traveling by yourself its perfect.

Disliked: Kitchen is way too small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012

Liked: The location was good for everything but a grocery store. The building was cool.

Disliked: Great for partiers. Loud and busy, people up all hours. . The Internet only allowed 5 connections at a time in a place that holds 50 people. The kitchen is only big enough and barely equipped for 4 people and doesn't have one decent frying pan, yet again 50 people trying to use it. We dubbed this place Rancho Grande Little Isreal, if one Isreali was staying there 50 others (who weren't staying there) were hanging out in the dining room with them, gathered around three tables using every single chair in the room, leaving others nothing to sit on, no consideration for other people.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bed. Good atmosphere. Large social areas. Lockers in dorms. Close to start of Fitzroy trail.

Disliked: Charges to use the shared computers. No breakfast included. One of the most expensive hostels ive stayed in (Purely because El Chalten is overpriced).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything, where do I start? Incredibly rude staff, unclean, blocked toilets, broken toilets, no locks on the toilet doors, VERY noisy, breakfast butter was mouldy, and the luggage store room left wide open all day.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012

Liked: Clean 4 beds rooms with lockers

Disliked: 85 peso for accomodation without breakfast is too much. No atmosphere at all. Big and noisy. You can't enjoy yourself anywhere. Common room are always full and noisy. Not enought place in common room for all. you cant hear your own thougts. Staff cares more about restaurant (over priced!!!) than for guests. money money that what is important for them. Kitchen is terrible!! There are 3 fridges and non of them is working. I said about that to staff-no change. Problems with wifi and you have to pay for using computers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large lobby and internet ( WiFi ) availability

Disliked: kitchenroom too small, not enough space in fridges, Large teenager groups invade this place, their behaviour can be embarrassing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, helpful staff, spotless, clean bathrooms, very good atmosphere, only a few meters from the starting point for trekking, which indeed counts on your way back from a long trekking day!!!

Disliked: 4 bed dorm was actually 6 beds, little bit crowded for the size of the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2011

Liked: La simpatía de los funcionarios en general. La amabilidad de Elsa y Monica.

Disliked: La mala educacion de los huespedes y la falta de gerencia del hotel en poderles limites. Ninos usaban el lobby del hotel como playground todos los dias de mi estadia. La tele no funcionaba, la cama de soltero era hiper estrecha y otros pequenos problemas.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Warm. Good wifi connection mostly. GREAT showers!

Disliked: Pretty much the only place open at this stage of the year so they have the monopoly, especially evident when breakfast isn't included as standard ( like all other hostels i've stay in in Argentina). Kitchen facilities are very basic (pretty much like camping) and you have to go to reception everytime you need a can opener/bottle opener/lighter or more than the 6 provided plates (it's a huge place!). Genearally felt very safe in El Chalten but when some friends came back after dinner in a folk place at about 1130pm they were locked out. No one was around and they eventually found their way in through an unlocked side door. They then went for a shower (sober i will add) and the fawcet broke starting a torrent of hot water they couldn't stop. They couldn't find anyone in or near the hostel to help, even when the water was flooding the corridors, and ended up running to the police station, where the night officer kindly came and fixed it at 2am!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paulina Pilch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, nothing special but nothing to complain

Disliked: Too smal kitchen for such a big hostel, from 7 to 11 pm there is no way to prepare the food and we were there off the season.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2011

Liked: Not much I'm afraid

Disliked: Dark, bit dingy, bathrooms unpleasant, nowhere comfortable to chill. breakfast not included, a cup of tea alone was 8 pesos- uk prices!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

andreas wittwer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011

Liked: the restaurant

Disliked: the kitchen is fairly small and certainly not overequiped

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff,

Disliked: very tiny kitchen, fridges weren´t really cool, overcrowded and dirty, staff was helpfull but not really friendly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun place to meet people

Disliked: unpersonal, not very helpfull staff

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Annalisa Mercurio

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011

Liked: The hostel is nice all in wood and the location is good but all place in El Chalten have a good location.

Disliked: The hostel is too big for the organization. The Kichen is small and not furnished in a properly way for example not pot and so on. If you want to relax is not a good hostel at all but if you want only a dormitory it could be nice

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2011

Liked: Large common area. Really powerful hot shower. Busy and lively place.

Disliked: The fridges were disgusting: there was meat blood and dried yogurt in the bottom of them for the whole time we were there. The kitchen needed a good clean generally. The wifi didn't work at all.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2011

Liked: Common area

Disliked: The kitchen had hardly any equipment and was so filthy, with flies buzzing everywhere, that we couldn`t even bring ourselves to cook there. There was rotten food left lying next to the cooker. The heaters in the room were too high and could not be turned down, so we had to open the windows which is NOT environmentally friendly to say the least. The toilets were dirty too. There was simply too many people staying for the ameneties provided. Very dissapointed - stay elsewhere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2011

Liked: Extremely friendly, nice and helpful staff!

Disliked: Kitchen and dorm rooms were rather small, the matresses were extremely saggy