HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Rancho Grande Hostel El Chalten Hostel

Av. San Martin 724, El Chalten, Argentina

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 73%

Location 75%

Safety 74%

Staff 67%

Value 65%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Parking
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Chalten?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 73%

Location 75%

Safety 74%

Staff 67%

Value 65%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: The staff is helpful and nice. The Chalten bus to El calafate is parking in front of the hotel so you do not have to go to the bus terminal.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: .

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Probably the biggest hostel in town so people gather here from other lodgings too.24hr restaurant with breakfast, packed lunch that can be ordered on room charge?Chalten travel bus stopping right in front of the hostel, so you don't have to walk across the entire town to the bus stationGood hot water for shower

Disliked: Kitchen space very very small and not equipped at all. Don't even think about storing your food in fridge, only 2 mini bar fridges thats stuffed with food from everyone (think there's about 100 people staying?)Locztion very far from the town Center. At the other end of town from bus stationNo Internet (unless it's after 1am or before 8am)

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Seems to be one of the bigger hostels in El Chalten as the bus from and to El Calafate dropped us off and picked us up straight from the hostel. Restaurant in the hostel serves cheap food and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: When we arrived the hostel had lost our booking and we had to wait 20 minutes for them to find it. Staff were not helpful at all and had no maps or information about hikes in the area. Wifi didn't work once while we were there.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: bus stop in front

Disliked: cleanliness some fly in the kitchen

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is very close to trails. Onsite resturant does good food at a reasonable price.p

Disliked: Location. It is 10 minutes walk from bus station

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its location is at the start of the day hikes to Cerro Torre and Mont Fitzroy.

Disliked: 1). unfriendly staff2) no quiet hours. Every night there were 2 Israeli guys playing guitar and harmonica. staff did not intervene. 3) breakfast is NOT included, and is expensive

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is large so there were rooms available at short notice.

Disliked: The kitchen is tiny compared to the large number of people staying here and has no utensils or anything. Its also disgusting. Don't plan on cooking here. Wifi is unusable in the evenings as too many people are trying to access it. No breakfast included. I think they would prefer you to buy breakfast and meals in the hostel restaurant.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is very big and there is a lot going on, so if you are traveling by yourself its perfect.

Disliked: Kitchen is way too small.

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The older guy at the bar is pretty much the only person that cares and is helpful.

Disliked: The reception is a total mess. Seems they overbook their rooms. Others had similar problems. I had to change my room after the first day. They tried to charge more than they listed on hostelbookers.com. I had to explain 3 times to 3 persons that I will only pay the prize that was indicated on hostelbookers.com. In the end they even stopped the bus out of el chalten and called me again to ask if i paid. The staff is not friendly and not interested. Besides this this hotel is packed with party people that party all night. Dont expected much sleep. If you want to do some great hiking and relax with friends in the evening, do not go here. There are plenty of options with better value for money.

Check Availability