We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel del Glaciar Libertador

Hostel | Av. Libertador 587, El Calafate, Argentina Z9405

88.2% Overall Rating

114 out of 123 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/09/2014)

"Charming wooden building, nice ensuite bathrooms, comfy beds, nicely stocked kitchen, awesome location and amazingly friendly and helpful staff! Great laundry service and great use of usd rate which saved us heaps when…"

Read all Hostel del Glaciar Libertador reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Calafate?

Contact us directly

See other properties in El Calafate

El Puente
41.30 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Marcopolo Suites
7.32 USD

Hostel 87.3% 14 reviews
Hostel del Glaciar Pioneros
5,000.00 USD

Hostel 74.4% 52 reviews
Nakel Yenu Posada Patagonica
16.52 USD

Hostel 90.6% 160 reviews
America del Sur Hostel – El Calafate
5.90 USD

Hostel 91.2% 562 reviews
Hosteria Austral
25.29 USD

Hostel 79.6% 24 reviews
Marcopolo Inn
15.34 USD

Hostel 77.9% 103 reviews
South B&B El Calafate
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 95.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

114 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel del Glaciar Libertador'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 90 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming wooden building, nice ensuite bathrooms, comfy beds, nicely stocked kitchen, awesome location and amazingly friendly and helpful staff! Great laundry service and great use of usd rate which saved us heaps when booking tours! Great wifi!

Disliked: Couldn't book big ice tour here.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2014

Liked: Xx

Disliked: Not a hostel for backpackers. Noisy, lots of small children. Tiny Kirchen. Pricy tourdesk.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Yearwood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: It is a new modern property. The standard of the rooms, particularly the bathrooms is excellent

Disliked: Due to theft and damage there is no cutlery in the kitchen. If you cater for yourself you have to pay a deposit and get cutlery from reception

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Johanna Beer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 January 2014 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: really clean, staff was supernice and its clos to the city center

Disliked: Johanna left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The living area is nice, good WiFi access. Staff were really nice and helpful. The room we had (shared dorm) was small, but well organised and clean.

Disliked: The kitchen is big but on our two day stay some of the gas hobs weren't working and due to the number of people staying in the hostel the kitchen wasn't really big enough, especially with only one fridge. The breakfast is pretty miserable (bread and apricot jam, and yea and coffee making facilities), but they have an upgrade you can buy which looks nicer.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nichola Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Nichola would recommend this property

Liked: The building is really pretty and has a nice design. The hostel is able to organise trips and buses for you. The staff, at times, can be helpful.

Disliked: I read previous reviews and thought "who cares about breakfast?" but when you're paying £10 a night for a dorm and you're getting up at 6.30am to visit a glacier, nasty coffee and stale bread do not cut it. The breakfast (or lack of) really lets this place down. The wifi was also rubbish and rarely worked.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & comfortable

Disliked: Worst breakfast I have had so far - stale bread & powdered milk for those in dorms, which is extremely poor when paying £10+

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

janice mask

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 janice would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very comfortable, clean and roomy

Disliked: janice left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Four Bed rooms have own and clean bathroom, sink is in the room, toilet and shower are separate.

Disliked: The breakfast could be a little bit more done °with love°.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent option.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arthur Schuster

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay. Nice clean, ensuite rooms. Looks like it used to be a hotel, converted to a hostel. Good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Kortas

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Bruce at front desk was extremely helpful

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Bruce on front desk was extremely helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful; rooms are not big but comfortable (we had a private double room with bathroom ensuite). WiFi is available even in the rooms that are not near the lobby. Breakfast is good for Argentine standards.

Disliked: The kitchen is a bit far from the lobby and the community room, which is a bit small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Alan Cowell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011

Liked: Rooms are ok.

Disliked: Kitchen is a disaster Utensils are all broken and pots are burned or broken. One fridge for a hostel this size is ridiculous. We had no room to store out food and had to store it in the room. Had to pay a 20 peso deposit to get knives and forks. No oven for cooking. Breakfast was very bad. Stale bread and powdered milk is poor even for Argentinas low standards. WiFi was not working and staff didn't seem to care. Mattresses are in need of replacement. My advice...go somewhere else.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpfull, the tour we did to the glacier was great that they organised for us!

Disliked: the bottom bunk beds very low but they were so compfy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tracey Chan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2011 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cute ensuite rooms

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, very friendly staff, the layout was good with private showers and toilets in the rooms. Nice building and layout of hostel. They let us keep our bags and hang around while we were waiting for the bus

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joe Glover

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: good location and helpful staff

Disliked: its a hassle having to leave a deposit for cultery

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Hop Yek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, could not want more

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere for all types of traveller (private and dorm rooms), very clean, great staff, internet

Disliked: A slight walk from town, but ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackie Fisher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanlines of the hostel compared to others in Argentina, we had a private room which was great. The whole lay out was excellent, the location great and I would recommend to people.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mads Christoffersen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2011 Mads would recommend this property

Liked: Very well organized. English-spoken, helpful staff. Good wi-fi. Good alternative tour to the glaciar. We had to catch a bus in the middle of night and they let us hang out at the hostel all day and night (and we could use the facilities) without charging us.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't very interesting, but...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tessa Kleuskens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff. Good location. Breakfast was o.k.

Disliked: It was very very warm inside our room. We could not regulate the temperature ourself. Even an open window did not bring any relief.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommend for a stay. Great advice on tours. Great location.

Disliked: nothing.