We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of America del Sur Hostel – El Calafate

Hostel | Puerto Deseado 153, (a mts. de La Bamba), El Calafate, Argentina Z9405CNE

88.6% Overall Rating

541 out of 568 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/01/2015)

Alicia Park thinks…

"Nice clean dorm rooms, all with ensuite toilet and shower. Breakfast and good hangout area, with hilltop view of the sunset across faraway fitzroy mountain. I stayed in America del Sur chain in BA…"

Read all America del Sur Hostel – El Calafate reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.02

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

NB: Cancellations MUST be by email, otherwise, will not be accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Calafate?

Contact us directly

See other properties in El Calafate

Nakel Yenu Posada Patagonica
21.77 USD

Hostel 88.8% 164 reviews
Marcopolo Inn
34.37 USD

Hostel 70.7% 108 reviews
Hostel del Glaciar Libertador
20.00 USD

Hostel 86.7% 128 reviews
El Puente
57.29 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hosteria Austral
28.53 USD

Hostel 79.6% 24 reviews
Hospedaje Lautaro
20.05 USD

Hostel 94.6% 216 reviews
Hostel del Glaciar Pioneros
16.00 USD

Hostel 78.7% 66 reviews
South B&B El Calafate
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 95.7% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

541 out of 568 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'America del Sur Hostel – El Calafate'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 423 of 470 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

David Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Big and comfortable.

Disliked: Location not great, up a hill. Bit expensive. Poor WiFi always dropping connection.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alicia Park

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 January 2015 Alicia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean dorm rooms, all with ensuite toilet and shower. Breakfast and good hangout area, with hilltop view of the sunset across faraway fitzroy mountain. I stayed in America del Sur chain in BA too, but I prefer the atmosphere here.

Disliked: Not much. A bit of upheal from town center and then some gravel, so would recommend taxi on the way from bus station.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Renee Martin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2015 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Great view of lake from cafeteria where breakfast is served.

Disliked: A bit of a hike from the center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large hostel with good facilities, friendly staff and a great breakfast. The staff helped us organise our tour to Perito Moreno and also provided great information about hiking in El Chalten. Rooms were spacious, clean and warm.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel stuff I've ever seen, very helpful, energetic and kind! We got a lot of help and good advices with organizing our trips. We wish we could stay there longer because atmosphere in this hostel is amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were in private room which meant a whole house to ourselves with one other guy! Very comfortable and awesome! Great free breakfast also!

Disliked: Poor wifi connection

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matt Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff who go above and beyond to help with excursions and other travel arrangements. Hot showers. Great breakfast. Comfortable 4 bed dorm with secure lockers. Nice communal areas with lots of power points.

Disliked: Quite a walk from the town but the views from atop the hill make up for it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arturo Rodrigues

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2014 Arturo would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, good breakfast for the price and good rooms. Nice atmosphere as it is quite cozy.

Disliked: The location could be better, though is not that far from the city center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel I have stayed in so far. Clean, good breakfast, great location. The best thing was the staff who were extremely helpful with absolutly everything and to top it off, were very attractive :)

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Sujevic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private triple room which was clean & spacious. Staff were very friendly & helpful Good breakfast Nice socialising area with a great view

Disliked: The bathroom in the "house" (where we stayed on the last night) smelt funny from the water Our private triple room was extremely stuffy from the floor heating... We had to sleep with the window open which was fine A great hostel otherwise!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Travis Kishel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: facility is set up well, normal 4 bed dorm rooms, can arrange travel/excursions for you,

Disliked: the front desk staff hitting on all of the women and getting them drunk. If I were I woman I would look out for this property when the guys are working the front desk

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHAEL BARNSLEY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: It may have taken me a few weeks to catch up and leave a review for this hostel, but i absolutely had to leave a review. The staff were simply the best i have come across in all my travels around the world!!! Very welcoming when you arrive, take you to one side to discuss activities and help with anything you need, bus tickets etc at no extra cost. Rooms are clean and tidy and were quiet at night while the lounge area is good for meeting other travellers. Oh, and i firgot to mention the sensational view of the laguna!

Disliked: Not really a dislike, but be aware you do need to walk up a hill to get to hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely helpful! When I left my glasses in my room when I left they were able to arrange to have them at the airport at one of the shuttle providers offices so when I returned to Calafate airport I was able to pick them up! Not you're typical hostel staff!

Disliked: Kitchen is a bit small for such a large hostel and they no longer do BBQ dinners.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful views, friendly staff

Disliked: needs a little bit of an update. Doors on bathroom and toilet are not very good. Shower would not drain so would leak into the bedroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin coffey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2013 martin would recommend this property

Liked: enthusiatic and friendly staff and a great chef. Clean and well presented and plenty going on.

Disliked: nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eoin Casey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013 Eoin would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, staff really helpful and great trips booked through them. Good breakfast

Disliked: Too many flies in this town!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabella von Aspern

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2013 Isabella would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abhishek Sinha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Abhishek would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very nicely located and has a very nice view (not from the Dorms)... But yes overall location is nice.. close to main street and its location is good.

Disliked: Overall the property was good I ill give 3.5/5... But They can better the breakfast... rest everything is cool and comfy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostal is a really nice place to stay, in fact the best hostel I've stayed in for the last seven weeks! And this is mainly beause of the nicest people working there! Breakfast is as good as it can be in Southamerica, rooms are clean, common space is cozy, staff is incredible!

Disliked: The only thing that one could mention is that there could be more stuff for common use in the kitchen like pepper, vingar, oil, ...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Giulio Barani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013

Liked: It was very unfamiliar and you had a bad in the rooms

Disliked: the cleaness was very bad. The showers were dirthy and the kitchen and the eating room were full of flies. and the kitchen was dirty.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A little out of town but still an easy 10 minute walk to main services. Big hostel but still enough chill out spaces and close to one of the best bbq restaurants in town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pablo Javier Rey Sobral

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Pablo Javier would recommend this property

Liked: Ok

Disliked: Pablo Javier left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcel Kummer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, nice hostel, good services

Disliked: rooms are a little bit small, but ok. kitchen could be more proper.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

marcela munoz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 November 2013

Liked: Awful place. Never be back...

Disliked: This place is a mess. The kitchen was dirty and bad smelling. The fridge had a terrible smell inside and the place needs deep clean urgently. Other matter is about I forgot my trekking shoes and never ever return. I tried to recover them but I was impossible. The staff was unnhelpful and I called several times but they never helpt. I so dissapointed. Never ever be back.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, the staff is really friendly. It was the best hostel in Argentina.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.